We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
150
36
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
36
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house lovely linen lock up garage beautiful bed top quality short walk breakfast was delicious stunning beach nice pool visiting port excellent accommodation braai area fantastic service out of this world magda memory sea
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2017

I highly recommend the guest house. My family had a wonderful time and a dream holiday. We took two rooms and enjoyed our stay throughout the vacation. We are looking to book again and enjoy the experience

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank leonardmM8141VQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryPortAlfred, General Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Many thanks for your kind words, Leonard. Trust `our ' son is doing well at school.
When he misses his parents too much, he can always contact his family at A VILLA DE MER.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Really, everything was excellent! We were made to feel very welcome, both by Memory, the owner, and Magda, her assistant . We only stayed one night as we were travelling, but Villa de Mer provided a perfect stop-over .

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank W809CJlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryPortAlfred, Owner at A Villa de Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Many thanks for your kind words. Hopefully, your next stay will be a bit longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Not our first time at Villa de Mer and we will return again. This is a great place to stay with the room of very high quality and a superb breakfast. There are two excellent eating places within a very short car journey, one the highlander is a pub and restaurant with good beer and food, the other an excellent restaurant on the road into town. The beach is just the other side of the sand dunes in front of the Villa and when walking on this it is like a desert island as likely you will be on your own for some or all of the time. The attention to detail is the hallmark of this accommodation. The town is less than a 5 minute drive and has a range of eateries available. The golf course is 5 minutes around the corner and while sometimes a bit breezy is a very nice course to play.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Many thanks for your kind words, Steven. It is always such a pleasure to welcome you back to your second home at A Villa de Mer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

We were welcomed and looked after really well. A great place to stay. Plenty of room in the communal areas and a deliscious breakfast. Opposite a lovely beach and near some outstanding restaurants. You can walk to the town where you will find plenty to see and do.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AnthonycB6151NQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Many thanks for your kind words, Anthony. good to hear that you are home safe and sound.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Memory was very helpful with accommodating our needs and assisted in booking activities.

we had to leave early one morning so we could make it to Addo elephant park, so they opened the breakfast room 1hour early so we could have breakfast before we left, just for us.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank adrian675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Thanks Adrian for your kind remarks. Trust it was worth you getting up early and that you saw plenty of game! Kind regards, Memory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews