We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A Villa de Mer
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halyards Hotel(Port Alfred)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Intsomi Lodge(Alexandria)
View Hotel
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Victoria Mews(Grahamstown)
View Hotel
  • Fitness centre
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve(Kwandwe Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
146
35
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
35
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housefreshly baked muffinstea coffee makinglovely linenbeautiful bedshort walkhome away from homebeautiful beachpeaceful staya great place to staybreakfast was deliciousone night staylovely poolfriendly welcomeexcellent staysand dunesvisiting port
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2015

Accommodation was OK with a rather small communal pool in the centre (only deep for half a metre in the middle). Breakfast was pretentious with a fruit starter of half a strawberry, a slice of paw-paw that resembled a sliver of carrot and various tiny bits pieces assembled on a square plate. All rather silly but otherwise friendly and helpful. The Links restaurant up the road is thoroughly recommended if you like finger bowls.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2015

Compared to many other guest houses who only have a small splash pool, the pool at A Villa de Mer is a good size to swim a couple of lengths. One has to bear in mind that younger children also use the pool and, we therefore have to be mindful of the depth of the pool. Regarding the remark of our guest that he was walking in half of the pool, most of our guests swim and play volley ball. Breakfast consists of a platter of fruit, yogurt, cereal, cooked breakfast, muffins, fresh rolls, beverages and juices. We are very surprised by the remark that the dinner at the restaurant that we recommended, did not meet with the requirements of the guest. For the past 17 years, Villa de Mer has recommended this restaurant to their guests and not once have we received a complaint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2015

I was a solo traveller visiting my son in Port Alfred. I had not been to the area before.
The guest house was perfect in every way. Fantastically clean, very quiet and with good wifi ( re fitted the day I arrived ). Breakfast was great with a good choice and Memory ( the owner ) was very helpful and informative.
The location of the house is on the road overlooking Kelly's Beach and a 100yard walk puts you on the beach itself which was stunning.
Why look elsewhere for somewhere to stay?

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank markhY1034WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2015

We enjoyed our stay at Villa de Mer. This guest house is very upmarket with stylish finishes and decorations. We arrived early and the charming manageress invited us in. Within a short while we booked in and had more time to explore the town. All the staff were friendly and the service was professional.

Room Tip: Luxury room
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Herman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2015

I absolutely enjoyed my stay at this very stylish yet homely house. The owner and the staff were very friendly and accommodative. I hope to return in Summer for a relaxing beach life experience. The food was delicious, I think it's one of the best guest houses in the Eastern Cape region.

Room Tip: Book a room on higher floor, quiet...
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lalla_Hlela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2015

Lovely guesthouse. Luxurious structure, charming manageress. Massive well equipped room. Excellent breakfasts, served in spacious dining room. Just across road from supervised safe swimming beach. Local restaurants very good.

Room Tip: Our room beside front door excellent.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank len309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews