We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of A Villa de Mer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
A Villa de Mer
Ranked #3 of 27 Port Alfred B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2015

I absolutely love Villa de Mer. It really feels like a home away from home for me. Excellent and friendly staff who definitely go the extra mile. Their person touch makes me feel so welcome and relaxed. It extremely clean and spacious with all the emenities one could possibly need. Lovely splash pool / braai area. There are several lounge areas where one could watch tv or read. Breakfast is always great. Free wifi. Highly recommended and definitely the only place for me to stay when visiting Port Alfred

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Skuce1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2015

Accommodation was OK with a rather small communal pool in the centre (only deep for half a metre in the middle). Breakfast was pretentious with a fruit starter of half a strawberry, a slice of paw-paw that resembled a sliver of carrot and various tiny bits pieces assembled on a square plate. All rather silly but otherwise friendly and helpful. The Links restaurant up the road is thoroughly recommended if you like finger bowls.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2015

Compared to many other guest houses who only have a small splash pool, the pool at A Villa de Mer is a good size to swim a couple of lengths. One has to bear in mind that younger children also use the pool and, we therefore have to be mindful of the depth of the pool. Regarding the remark of our guest that he was walking in half of the pool, most of our guests swim and play volley ball. Breakfast consists of a platter of fruit, yogurt, cereal, cooked breakfast, muffins, fresh rolls, beverages and juices. We are very surprised by the remark that the dinner at the restaurant that we recommended, did not meet with the requirements of the guest. For the past 17 years, Villa de Mer has recommended this restaurant to their guests and not once have we received a complaint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2015

I was a solo traveller visiting my son in Port Alfred. I had not been to the area before.
The guest house was perfect in every way. Fantastically clean, very quiet and with good wifi ( re fitted the day I arrived ). Breakfast was great with a good choice and Memory ( the owner ) was very helpful and informative.
The location of the house is on the road overlooking Kelly's Beach and a 100yard walk puts you on the beach itself which was stunning.
Why look elsewhere for somewhere to stay?

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank markhY1034WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2015

We enjoyed our stay at Villa de Mer. This guest house is very upmarket with stylish finishes and decorations. We arrived early and the charming manageress invited us in. Within a short while we booked in and had more time to explore the town. All the staff were friendly and the service was professional.

Room Tip: Luxury room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Herman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2015

I absolutely enjoyed my stay at this very stylish yet homely house. The owner and the staff were very friendly and accommodative. I hope to return in Summer for a relaxing beach life experience. The food was delicious, I think it's one of the best guest houses in the Eastern Cape region.

Room Tip: Book a room on higher floor, quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lalla_Hlela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
0,8 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 5 in Port Alfred
429 reviews
1,9 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 5 in Port Alfred
361 reviews
9,7 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1,3 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 5 in Port Alfred
343 reviews
1,6 km away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#2 of 27 in Port Alfred
181 reviews
3 km away
Fort D'Acre Reserve
Fort D'Acre Reserve
#4 of 27 in Port Alfred
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Villa de Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Villa de Mer

Address: 22 West Beach Drive, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alfred
Price Range: R 790 - R 1 278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — A Villa de Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Villa de Mer Guest House is situated on the beachfront in Port Alfred, South Africa and is in a class of its own. Established in 1996, this modern Mediterranean style Guest House has been awarded four stars by the Tourism Grading Council and, rated according to the high parameters set by the AA of South Africa, as Superior grading.A Villa de Mer is a stylish, spacious and upmarket Guest House and a haven to relax. Located opposite the beach, with panoramic views of the Indian ocean, this guest house comprises of six en-suite bedrooms, with 19 channels DSTV and, offers luxurious accommodation at affordable prices. The wide corridors, large upper lounge that leads onto a balcony with stunning sea views and pristine white beaches, library and reading room downstairs overlooking the sheltered swimming pool, A Villa de Mer creates an atmosphere of tranquility and peace. The spacious TV lounge offers a 19 channel DSTV Bouquet and DVD Player. FREE WI-FI. You can relax and enjoy sundowners on the balcony whilst taking in the beautiful views over the Indian ocean. Fall asleep to the smell and sound of waves breaking on the beach. Cross the quiet road and walk the endless white beaches.We offer comfortable home-from-home accommodation. Enjoy the spacious and unpretentious setting of A Villa de Mer. Whether on business or holiday, A Villa de Mer offers its own brand of local hospitality and is a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle of everyday living. It is the ideal place to simply relax or to use as a base from which to explore the many sights of Port Alfred. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your A Villa de Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing