We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stuning...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fort D'Acre Reserve
Ranked #4 of 27 Port Alfred B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

we have seen a lot so far in our short life, but this is absolutely fabulous!!!

Such a peaceful and amazing place! Private reserve, private beach, pool, great rooms with an amazing view, almost on our own, fell in love.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Florian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortdAcre, Manager at Fort D'Acre Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Dear Florian & Claudia,

Thank you for taking the time to write up such a lovely review for us. We appreciate each and every one. I am so glad to see you enjoyed your short stay with us so much.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fort D'Acre Reserve in the future.

Thank you
Warm Regards
Nicole & Werner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2016

Thanks Nicole for a lovely warm, peaceful and much needed stay at Fort D'Acre. The stay was amazing and look forward to staying again, hopefully in the winter! Please thank your staff for setting up the lovely braai for us, we really enjoyed being able to braai ourselves and catch up over a glass of wine in front of the fire. Keep well till the next time....

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Q489JFdebbiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortdAcre, Manager at Fort D'Acre Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

Hi Debbie,

Thank you for the review. We really appreciate it and great to see you both had a wonderful time with us. It was only a pleasure to set up the braai area for you , nothing beats a good fire. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fort D'Acre Reserve.

Thank you
Warm Regards
Nicole & Werner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Perfect breakaway - we only spent 1 night, but it felt like we have spend 2....luxurious!

The lodge is wonderful...the views are great .... peaceful, relaxing, quiet ...

Friendly service, it felt like home away from home.... but only better!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mariusb89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortdAcre, Manager at Fort D'Acre Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2016

Hi Marius,

Thank you for the review. It always makes us happy to see that our guests enjoyed their stay, that they felt relaxed and at home.

It was great to meet both of you and we look forward to welcoming you again at our little piece if paradise.

Thank you
Warm Regards
Nicole & Werner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

I spent two nights in this place and I was gushing to the managers of how excellent their establishment is. This private reserve is just over 20 km from the town of Port Alfred. If you want peace and quiet, this is the place for you. What impressed me the most is how you get to see the ocean from your bed, and you also get to spot some wild animals while seated in your room. The views from my room were to die for. The lodge itself is beautiful, recently renovated. My room was beautiful, with a large and comfortable bed. I had two very restful nights. The room has a bath tub and a large shower. There is a separate toilet. My room also had a mini lounge with a mini bar fridge, and a balcony - also overlooking the ocean. The court yard, with a sparking pool is also very beautiful. Then I went for a game drive, and I was blown away. I saw so many animals, it was just an incredible experience that I would recommend to every visitor to the lodge. Then food, the selection is not large, but it is tastey, high quality stuff. On both day, they baked muffins, savoury on the first day and sweet on the second day. I enjoyed their breakfast. I asked the host to prepare dinner for me on both nights. Lovely butternut soup with warm rolls and salad on the first night, and delicious pizza on the second night. both these dinners were reasonably priced, and there is nothing bettwer than enjoying home cooked meal in their cosy dinning room, next to fire place. The only challenge is that you get to share a dining table with other guests. i think this is a great idea to create that homely feel, and for the guests to get to know each other. However, I don't think the couple who was there at the same time with me were comfortable to share a table with me. Then there is the host, Nicole who was gracious and made me feel at home. There is an effort to make guests feel welcome and at home. She is truly remarkable. Other management and staff were also very efficient and good. I have stayed in so many places accross the world, but I can say that this lodge is one of my firm fovourites. I had a truly great time and I will return many times. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Abongile S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortdAcre, Manager at Fort D'Acre Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

Dear Abongile,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review, I am so glad you had a great time and were able to relax. We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Fort D'Acre.

Have a lovely holiday in Thailand.

Thank you
Warm Regards
Nicole & Werner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We stayed for only three days, but we should have stayed longer. Beautiful lodge, staff friendly and game drives a pure joy. We will definitely visit Ford D'Acre again in the near future. I can recommend this lodge for a relaxing breakaway

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 923christinei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortdAcre, Manager at Fort D'Acre Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Good morning Christine,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed the lodge and what we have to offer. It was great to meet you and your family. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fort D'Acre soon.

Thank you
Warm Regards
Nicole & Werner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
11 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
2,2 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 5 in Port Alfred
429 reviews
1,6 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 5 in Port Alfred
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2,4 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 5 in Port Alfred
343 reviews
3 km away
A Villa de Mer
A Villa de Mer
#3 of 27 in Port Alfred
191 reviews
2,5 km away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#2 of 27 in Port Alfred
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort D'Acre Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort D'Acre Reserve

Address: Fish River Mouth, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alfred
Price Range: R 1 521 - R 1 732 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort D'Acre Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort D' Acre Bed & Breakfast is an exclusive thatched safari lodge situated at the mouth of the Great Fish River, 25km. From Port Alfred. With sweeping views of bush and coastline it invites the visitor to explore the contrasting habitats. Game drives into the reserve offer opportunities to view 19 different species including Cape Buffalo and giraffe. Relax in our beautiful indigenous garden with a large pool or at our private beach lapa with exclusive access to a secluded beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fort D'Acre Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing