We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
lisahoughtonjhb
Johannesburg, South Africa

Beautiful

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Aug 2021
What a luxurious spoil! Will definitely be returning. Food was out of this world and their attention to detail was wonderful. Every single staff member was friendly and welcoming. Such a special place to celebrate our 10 yr anniversary. Thank you Oceana and it's magnificent views
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris Roberts, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review
Responded 08 Sept 2021
Hi Lisahoughtonjhb,

We are so happy we were able to help you celebrate such an incredible occasion! Thank you for the lovely review, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Chris & the Oceana Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
10.1 km from Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
River Facing suite
9.5 km from Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool area
9.3 km from Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
8.6 km from Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Free parking
Beachfront
9.1 km from Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Free parking
Beachfront
Pool deck views .
9.8 km from Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
8.6 km from Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
9.9 km from Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen En Suite
10.7 km from Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Port Alfred
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
585 results
Traveller rating
514
48
11
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
514
48
11
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives private beach bubble bath private house indian ocean four poster bed game reserve best of both worlds out of this world attention to detail games room star experience very special place stunning views delicious food service was excellent lodge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 585 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2021 via mobile

Beautiful place, unfortunately at times it felt somewhat understaffed for a 5 star establishment, but staff are friendly and do their best to create a memorable and relaxing experience.

The views from the Ocean Suites are beautiful.

To get my rating up to five stars, the establishment would need to do a little bit more. One expects a bit 'extra' from a five star establishment, and although everything is perfectly satisfactory, it's certainly not over the top.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Pieter890
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris Roberts, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2021

Hi Pieter890,

Thank you for the feedback, we are always open to suggestions and are constantly working to improve.

Kind regards,
Chris & the Oceana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2021

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We needed a break-away from all the demands of being parents, leading a business and from every day life. This was just the place to do it! We have travelled a bit and stayed at a few highly rated venues and found that this is the perfect spot to "escape" from the world. One thing I would recommend is that guest stay in the "sea view" rooms and not the lodge rooms because of the traffic upstairs. I would recommend for children to stay in the lodge rooms and not couples that want to have total peace and quite. All in all definitely worth it, just choose carefully the room for the "sort of trip" you looking for.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FrankFourie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris Roberts, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2021

Hi Frank,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Oceana! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us!

Kind regards,
Chris & the Oceana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2021

a beautiful lodge, friendly staff, a good reminder of the exceptional people we have in South Africa. truly a worthwhile experience. the accomodation is great, the view and setting amazing - the food delicious.
so if its a romantic getaway, or just a well deserved break from a busy life - we highly recommend the Oceana beach and wildlife reserve.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kenneth726
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris Roberts, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2021

Hi Kenneth726,

Thank you so much for the lovely review! We are incredibly happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Chris & the Oceana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2021

What a wonderful place! If you’re considering a visit, don’t hesitate, just book! We spent two nights here and didn’t want to leave. The service was impeccable. Everyone was so kind and went above and beyond our expectations. The room was amazing with even more spectacular views. The beach was basically our own expansive private beach. Food was delicious. I really can’t say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay and can’t wait to return!

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sheldonkock
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris Roberts, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2021

Hi Sheldonkock,

We are so happy we were able to exceed your expectations! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Chris & the Oceana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2021

A luxurious stay in the bush and the beach. A must experience on the bucket list.
We had heard all about Oceana and nothing that we were told could prepare us for the superb service, delicious food, luxurious accommodation and peace.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank br0nal2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris Roberts, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2021

Hi Bronal2018,

Thank you so the lovely review! We are extremely happy we could exceed your expectations and spoil you.

Kind regards,
Chris & the Oceana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews