We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, intimate lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My 2 daughters and I did a road trip and stayed for 1 night at Oceana. Would have loved to stay longer to actually enjoy the offered activities and services. Great service by all staff, warm reception, excellent food, stunning rooms with awesome views. Small and intimate lodge with a personal touch.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank DeninaSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Denina

Thanks for the kind words. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay. Don't forget about us next time you go on a road trip.

Kind Regards
Chris & the Oceana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2017

What a wonderful treat it was to enjoy a day at Oceana - the staff were extremely attentive, the game drive was most informative with stunning views. Our meal was delicious and it was the perfect way to end the year in the awesome relaxed setting.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Hi Mandy R

I'm really glad we could close off your year for you. All the best and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Chris & the Oceana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

The Oceana Beach and Wildlife Resort is an absolute must for anyone looking for a true spoil. We stayed there for two night and loved every single minute of it. We would highly recommend this resort and sure will visit there again sometime.

Room Tip: Choose the Ocean Suites, they are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gillian706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Hi Gillian706

Thanks very much for the kind words and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Chris & the Oceana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Spacious accommodation. Lots of attention to detail in the snacks and beverages. Loved the huge TV which comes up out of the dresser in front of the bed. Double shower and super spa bath which was run with gorgeous oils salts on the last night of our stay. Game drives very informative and enjoyable. Hope to visit again soon!!

Room Tip: all rooms are private with gorgeous views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goverclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Hi Gloverclan

I'm really glad you enjoyed your time with us and thanks for the kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, hopefully for a longer trip!

Kind Regards
Chris & the Oceana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Oceana is a destination for the discerning traveler. 8/10

Attentive staff welcome you to a beautifully designed and appointed lodge in the Eastern Cape coastal bush. 9/10

The cottages and rooms are large and superbly appointed. 10/10

The restaurant is run by a very capable chef and delivers very good fare, not always as exciting as one would expect, 7/10. Extensive wine cellar. 9/10

Being a coastal lodge you have fantastic views of the coast and access to the beach while also having the bush and a diverse range of animals to view. Game drives are a must. 9/10

They offer a spa service which is acceptable. 5/10

Room Tip: The cottages are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LawAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Hi LawAfrica

Thanks so much for the detailed review. We've just launched our new spa menu and will be doing a revamp in June so I hope next time you stay with us it will be a pleasant surprise. All the best and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Chris & the Oceana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alfred
10,1 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
417 reviews
9,5 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
350 reviews
9,1 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38,8 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
16,3 km away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
8,6 km away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#5 of 27 in Port Alfred
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve

Address: R72 Main Road | Riet River, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Price Range: R6 808 - R20 312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceana Beach & Wildlife Reserve is the product of a man who was brave enough to live his dream, and he extends an invitation to those who need a place to dream, be pampered, rejuvenate, relax, discover and be delighted by.After traveling the world, I discovered the place closest to my heart, Oceana. The first time I beheld the collection of natural wonders, something extraordinary happened, as I embraced the expanse of its exotic beauty, it embraced me. Rip Miller - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceana Beach And Wildlife Reserve Hotel Port Alfred

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing