We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2017

The Best Vacation Ever. Thank you for making our stay memorable. The reception at the gate of Mr Wilson was exceptional. He has the warmest demeanor ever, he is the first friendly face we came across with of Oceana. The other are Leigh with her thorough briefing of the place and attention to detail. Zuki & Bongi with their contiguous smiles while serving guests and ever ready and willing to assist in taking pics when requested( I know this is not in their job spec). Natasha who served with smile as well. To Mr "B" Bonakele who thouroughly explained the array of animals. To Vukani and hus friend for assisting with luggage with relative ease. To the man who know how to create magic on a plate, "Peter", best chef ever. The food was devine. Each staff member played a significant role and it was noticeable that each one loved their work. Keep up the outstanding service and excellent team spirit.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sibongilenjovul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hi sibongilenjovul

Thanks so much for the kind words and praise for the team. I'll make sure this is passed on to everyone. All the best and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Chris & the Oceana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2017

Oceana Beach was our last stay in SA, right after our Safari experience. We had a lovely experience there, nice personal, beautiful wild animals and overall an amazing location!
The restaurant offers a very good menu changing every day!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FlorentMic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hi FlorentMic

I'm really glad we managed to finish off your trip to SA in style. I hope we'll see you again on your next trip over.

Kind Regards
Chris & the Oceana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

What a wonderful weekend in this luxurious lodge. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. This was the perfect setting for our Anniversary and Baby moon. From the game drive to the Spa everything was perfect. Lets not forget the menu that is to die for!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 576januh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hi 576januh

Thanks so much the kind words. It was a pleasure hosting you for the weekend and I hope we get to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Chris & the Oceana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We decided to stay a couple of nights to sum up the lodge with one word : Eden. The lodge is fantastic and top notch. We stayed in an Ocean view suite and the view was remarkable and very private. The meals are all fine dining and couldn’t not have asked for better, the menus also varied each night. The beach is untouched and private. The staff are friendly and accommodating. We used the spa for a treatment and really enjoyed. All the beverage prices are reasonable. The meals for kids are also varied and they accommodate the kids quite well. We’ll definitely be back.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank MiggiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Hi MiggiG

It was a pleasure to look after you and the family and thanks so much for the kind words. We'll have everything ready for when you come back next time!

Kind Regards
Chris & the Oceana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

I, unfortunately, only staid at Oceana for one night but will definitely have to go back. The setting is spectacular, the rooms spacious and luxurious and the service absolutely impeccable - from welcoming, to granting special requests to the custom bath that is drawn as part of turn down service. All staff are very friendly and helpful. Could not recommend it more.

Room Tip: The lodge suites have a nice view already, but if you want unobstructedocean view and the reserve, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flo_engi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Hi flo_engi

Thanks so much for the kind words. Hopefully you'll get to come spend more than a night with us next time. All the best and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Chris & the Oceana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alfred
10,1 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
390 reviews
9,5 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
335 reviews
9,1 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16,3 km away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
38,8 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
9,7 km away
Mansfield Reserve
Mansfield Reserve
#1 of 18 in Port Alfred
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve

Address: R72 Main Road | Riet River, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Price Range: R6 361 - R23 325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceana Beach & Wildlife Reserve is the product of a man who was brave enough to live his dream, and he extends an invitation to those who need a place to dream, be pampered, rejuvenate, relax, discover and be delighted by.After traveling the world, I discovered the place closest to my heart, Oceana. The first time I beheld the collection of natural wonders, something extraordinary happened, as I embraced the expanse of its exotic beauty, it embraced me. Rip Miller - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceana Beach And Wildlife Reserve Hotel Port Alfred

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing