We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous and romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2016

This is the most beautiful place. My husband and I recently spent our 14th year anniversary there and were completely amazed. From the drive in with the giraffe next to the road, to the gorgeous fruit and wine basket, to the staff, food and comfortable bed. It was all fantastic and I would highly recommend it. It is pricey for South Africans but well worth it for a spoil I think. The massage, which we had as a couple, was also excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarekirby0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

My husband and I have 2 loves, bush and the ocean! Imagine our delight to find both at the Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve!

Your first impression of a place starts with the first face you see and at the gate of Oceana that face is Wilson. I have never seen a person with so much love and pride as this man has for this place where he serve as gatekeeper. I still find myself seeing that amazing smiling face before me. Well done Wilson for making us feel so welcome from the start!
As we drove past the gate 5 giraffes and a few Njalas was saying hallo.

When we arrive at the lodge ,Natasha and 2 porters was there to welcome us.
We stayed in one of the 4 ocean view suites, and I must say, it can't get better than this!!! A beautiful, stunning suite overlooking the bush and the ocean!! listen to this ladies, 2 bathrooms!!! One with a big jacuzzi bath and the other with a shower. The bed is a super king size,with a TV rising from a cabinet at the footend of the bed. Also a seating area consisting of a couch and 2 chairs aswell as a coffee station and a mini bar. Sliding doors completely slide away in cavity walls leaves you with a feeling that you are part of the bush! Absolutely amazing!!
While we where there, the animals were grazing just below our suite! It felt like we were in Jaressic Park!
As it was raining when we were there, be couldn't go on a gamedrive or have a lunch on the deck on the beach. We kept ourselves busy in the games room playing pool and shuffel board, aswell took good use of the wonderful spa run by Tamara. Thanks for 2 fantastic treatments Tamara!
There's also a gym, that you would diffinetly need if you get to tuck in Chef Peter's amazingly delucious food!! 2 course breakfast, 3 course lunch and 3 course dinner!!! Its impossible to eat it all, but you try, because its beyond yummy!!!
Well done Chef Peter!! I also need to mention Kimberley, the beautiful Dutch girl who looked after us so well and the 2 waiters Athi and Bongo, they were always smiling and at hand to cater to your every need. I hope next tine we'll be able to go out with Corlia kn a game drive!
This place is very dreamlike in its absolute fantastic setting and the staff kept the dream going!!!
Can't wait to go back and please keep up the amazing work!!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank annieplett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Excellent staff, luxurious rooms & stunning views. Bizarre to see giraffes in front of your suite and the beach & sea in the background but it was awesome. Only downside was it was too short! The suites have a huge 4 poster bed, flat screen TV that lives inside the cupboard at the end of the bed, satellite channels, bathroom with underfloor heating, big spa bath, massive shower overlooking the sea, air-conditioning, lounge area, dressing room, writing desk, deck overlooking the reserve & the sea, coffee machine, plunger, selection of teas, mini bar fridge, the list goes on. There's also a spa which is well worth the visit if you have the time

Room Tip: The rooms in the main hotel were very nice but once I saw the ocean rooms I knew that's where I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016

We stayed for two nights during our honeymoon and Oceana is absolutely magnificent. Words cannot describe this place and our stay was absolutely perfect. We highly recommend you visit Oceana for a once in a lifetime experience!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MikeLascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

What a beautiful location we picked for our honeymoon! It was perfect in every way and we got to relax and enjoy the comforts, beautiful scenery, magnificant food and drink and to top it off a heavenly spa treatment! Thank you for making our stay truly special and memorable!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lisanel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alfred
10,1 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
417 reviews
9,5 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
350 reviews
9,1 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38,8 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
16,3 km away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
8,6 km away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#5 of 27 in Port Alfred
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve

Address: R72 Main Road | Riet River, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Price Range: R6 808 - R20 312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceana Beach & Wildlife Reserve is the product of a man who was brave enough to live his dream, and he extends an invitation to those who need a place to dream, be pampered, rejuvenate, relax, discover and be delighted by.After traveling the world, I discovered the place closest to my heart, Oceana. The first time I beheld the collection of natural wonders, something extraordinary happened, as I embraced the expanse of its exotic beauty, it embraced me. Rip Miller - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceana Beach And Wildlife Reserve Hotel Port Alfred

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing