We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Fabulous"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2015

The feeling of warm welcome cannot be ignored, the attention by the staff leaves alot to be admired, We stayed in Ocean Suite no 2, wonderful views both to animals and the ocean. The room's class and attention to details is absolutely heavenly. Wonderful meals, Spa treatments, game drives. I was travelling with my son (8yrs old) and the manager Benisha made sure he stayed thrilled and entertained, she even brought out he puppy so my son can break his phobia for dogs, At the end my son who has always been afraid was hugging and kissing one. The stuff go above and beyond the call of duty.

Room Tip: Ocean rooms are great!, luxurious and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2015

Hi Susan

We're really glad that your experience at Oceana was a positive one and look forward to welcoming you back again. Say hi to Leon from us!

Kind Regards
The Oceana Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 125 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2015

This place is absolute heaven! It is more than 5 star. The room/house is absolutely stunning and spacious. You have everything that you require at your finger tips, the décor is amazing. The staff are very friendly and helpful. From wherever you are at the lodge, the views are incredible! Sea meets nature reserve- complete different contrast..
The game viewing is a bit disappointing as you don't seem to go far on the game drive and their are not many animals to see. However the views with Giraffe and sea in the back ground are amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Adelaide H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2015

Hi Adelaide

We're really glad that your experience at Oceana was a positive one and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
The Oceana Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2015

We stayed in Ocean Suite no 2. What a view! An amazing experience to stay there for three nights. The staff: Shamilla, the chef, made amazing food for us, Warrick and Natasja made us comfortable, Polly, Bongiwe and Ncebakazi served us with such a wonderful manors. We highly recommend others to stay there. You will not regret that!!

Room Tip: Ocean suite no 2. Amazing view and well equipped. Wonderful beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tord/Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2015

Hi Tord & Anna

We're really glad that your experience at Oceana was a positive one and look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and had a safe trip home.

Kind Regards
The Oceana Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2015 via mobile

Great wildlife and fantastic service. The rooms leave nothing to be desired. We saw giraffe, rhinos and zebra and various antelope. The game drive itself was very exciting. You can also walk along the beach. The views from all the rooms are splendid. The food was absolutely to die for. Good wine list. Very nice pool. The only downside is that it is not cold friendly.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank Helene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2015

Hi Helene

We're really glad that your experience at Oceana was a positive one and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
The Oceana Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2015

Great place to be at, if you are after luxurious accommodation.Staff is very friendly and attentive. Cocktails are served on arrival and after each game drive. The meals are divine, made from fresh ingredients on the premises. Game rangers are very patient and informative. Beaches are pristine and beautiful. You can walk on the beach for hours and admire the wonders of nature. Bungalows are luxurious with hand-made wooden furniture, colonial style. Bathroom facilities are spacious and luxurious and your bath tube/Jacuzzi is placed on the patio, overlooking the ocean. Great place for sophisticated travelers.Great value for money, too.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean facing,you can't get wrong one. All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2015

Hi Dave

We're really glad that your experience at Oceana was a positive one and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
The Oceana Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alfred
10,1 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
417 reviews
9,5 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
350 reviews
9,1 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38,8 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
16,3 km away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
8,6 km away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#5 of 27 in Port Alfred
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve

Address: R72 Main Road | Riet River, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Price Range: R6 824 - R20 398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceana Beach & Wildlife Reserve is the product of a man who was brave enough to live his dream, and he extends an invitation to those who need a place to dream, be pampered, rejuvenate, relax, discover and be delighted by.After traveling the world, I discovered the place closest to my heart, Oceana. The first time I beheld the collection of natural wonders, something extraordinary happened, as I embraced the expanse of its exotic beauty, it embraced me. Rip Miller - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceana Beach And Wildlife Reserve Hotel Port Alfred

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing