We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lookout Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halyards Hotel(Port Alfred)
US$66
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve(Kwandwe Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
158
27
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
27
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseseparate bedroombreakfast deliveredsmall kitchenblackout curtainskitchen areawonderful guesthouseself cateringwonderful hostsfabulous viewswarm welcomehome away from homewharf streetwent out of her wayattention to detailcape townspacious room
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2017

This has to be one of the nicest guest houses we have stayed at in South Africa and we travel a lot. The unit was large, very comfortable, tastefully furnished and well equipped. Attention to detail was great. The breakfast was superb - beautifully prepared and presented in your unit. Louise is a friendly and attentive host. I cannot recommend The Lookout highly enough.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Juper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

The room we had was more like a studio apartment with bedroom, bathroom, living room and small kitchen. It was clean, comfortable and the breakfast delicious and beautifully prepared. Warmly welcomed.

Room Tip: One with a view!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christine180250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan624, Owner at The Lookout Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Christine,
Thank you for writing such a positive review. Much appreciated.
Hope you will return oneday.
Regards to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

The owners and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast will serve directly in the apartement, it´s a wonderful and good breakfast.
There´s a big terrace with sun lies and a small pool area.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank iris_boe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan624, Owner at The Lookout Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Iris and friends,
We enjoyed your short stay with us - perhaps a little longer next time!
Thank you for the positive review . The Lookout Team appreciate your comments.
Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

We had a very friendly welcome and experienced during the whole stay friendly service
It's a nice self catering apartment with stunning view over Port Alfred and to the Ocean.
Everything is done with love and passion. The Breakfast is simply Excellent. Thanks Louisa and Team. And, after the poor experience in KZN it was a pleasure to have proper WiFi/Internet service again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

I would recommend the Lookout to anyone. It was comfortable. It was clean. It had a beautiful view. I was totally blown away by the size of my room The breakfast was fresh and tasty. I had fresh towels and was met by the owner and asked if I needed anything. I forgot a plug to charge my cell phone and the owner brought me one immediately. I could not have asked for a better place to stay. TOTALLY recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 476colleenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews