We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another Great Stay!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Olive Tree

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Olive Tree The Olive Tree
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
The Olive Tree
The Olive Tree
The Lounge
Kitchen
Patio
View from the Patio
Twin bedroom downstairs
Twin bedroom downstairs
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Patio off the master bedroom
Downstairs twin bedroom
twin bedroom downstairs
Gundogan Bay
Gundogan Beach
Gundogan Harbour
Evening Beach front, Gundogan
Beach Front, Gundogan
Sunset over Yalikavak
Sail away, why not do a boat trip from Gundigan
Its hard work!
New Patio Area for 2012/13
Gundogan Beach
Fish Restaurant, Gundogan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gundogan, Bodrum, Mugla Province, Turkish Aegean Coast

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FATMAANKA...
Ankara, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay!”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was our third stay in Olive Tree. Jackie, the owner was super helpful and kind as usual and Dawn and Norman were as friendly and nice as usual. Olive Tree felt truly like a home, it was clean, felt very spacious for our group of 5 adults and 3 kids. The location can't be beaten, you are literally steps away from the beach and supermarkets, atms etc. Gundogan is a lovely town not as crowded or hot as Bodrum centre and there is always a gentle (sometimes not so gentle but we love it anyway) breeze.
The cow in the garden next to the house (with absolutely no smell) definitely enriches the experience and for us it also meant fresh milk everyday.
We hope to keep visiting in the next years.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the beach, nice garden
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2015
Thank you Fatma, it's was lovely to welcome you and your family back once again to the olive tree. We look forward to seeing you all again next year. Best wishes to you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmille27
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Lovely family holiday, perfect location”
Reviewed 18 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We rented 2 villas (Olive Tree and Sunny Meadows) over the Christmas period for all of our family to spend time together and we had a fantastic time, even if it was a little colder than we are used to when we usually visit Turkey!!
The villas were clean and a good size, they are very close to the beach and as it is a flat walk it was perfect for the older family members with us. It was ideally situated close to local shops and restaurants but felt like we were in a secluded area as we were surrounded by countryside. We quickly forgot about the mosque and calls to prayer, although it was mentioned in another other reviews and before we arrived we wondered if it would be as noisy as described...but it certainly didn't bother us at all.
We are really looking forward to coming back in warmer weather, it looks like a lovely seaside town and after chatting with quite a few locals it sounds very popular and gets lively in the summer. Everyone we met was very friendly and the children loved being made a fuss of!
We are planning our return as I type!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The closeness to amenities
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonkseydo...
dorset
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Our 3rd visit”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at this property for the third time this October. We were looking for a quiet warm late break and that is exactly what we got . Although not all the restaurants were open there was still plenty to choose from. The villa is just a short walk to the restaurants and a good walk along the front. There are plenty of supermarkets for supplies all within 5 minutes walk. The bus station which seems to take you almost anywhere you want go is just down the road. This visit we stayed around the villa more than previously just walking to the front for a swim. There is a sunny veranda on the first floor next to the main bedroom., we spent many hours just relaxing. Ideal for "sundowners". Even in October we were able to sit on the front veranda for our breakfast we never had to eat in. Our transfers were arranged at the time of booking . The collection at the airport went smoothly and they showed us where everything was in the villa. We found them to be both friendly and efficient.on a previous visit my husband ended up in hospital and without their help I' m not sure how we were of got on
The jewel of this property is it's location you really couldn't be closer to the beach shops and restaurants. The villa has a lovely large lounge and there is air conditioning if you need it. The main bedroom is also spacious this is at the front of the villa. We loved it all.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAN M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“When it comes to reviews, please trust the majority!”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and i stayed here for two weeks in June of this year. The villa itself becomes your beautiful home and resting point to allow you to either "chill" in an unspoilt Turkish village featuring no razzmatazz or to do as we did and utilise the fantastic local bus service to explore the delights of this varied peninsula.
We visited Yalikavak with it's truly incredible marina and dined on more than one evening on the other side of the town at the harbour with amazing sunsets as a backdrop.
Bodrum itself has to be seen to be believed when you experience the bustling activity particularly on market day.
Bitez is a fabulous cosmopolitan beach resort where we sunbathed and relaxed and the choice of restaurants and bars seemed endless.
In Turgutreis we sampled the traditional Turkish Baths for the first time and we both loved it and will do it again.
To be fair we took in more resorts than i've mentioned here but i must stress how easy and affordable it was to move around but it was always nice to get back "home" to Gundogan and finish the evening off in a beachfront cafe before retiring to our clean and comfortable villa.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never book without research”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in April 2013
3
people found this review helpful

My Wife and I booked this property for 2 weeks, but stayed only 3 nights - you can draw your own conclusions.

The property, on entry was dirty, insect ridden, untidy and uninviting. We believe the cleanliness issue (managed by Simply Villa Management) has been subsequently dealt with but we've noticed other issues that caused us to write this delayed review.

The property is advertised among other places by Holiday Lettings/Trip Advisor and contains a number of out and out lies as well as a couple of very notable omissions which we attempt to balance with some truthful, simple observations.

(1). Lakeside relaxation is mentioned as key info - the nearest lake is approx 1 hours drive away!
(2). It claims that Gundogan Beach has a "blue flag" - False, they have applied for one but until they do something about the stray dogs doing their business on the Beach, this is unlikely. Plus recent local government changes in the area make it unlikely that this application will be pursued.
(3). It states that the Olive tree is "surrounded by Mandarin, fig and Olive trees" - Not true, there is a Mandarin grove on the adjacent land to the left of the property (facing) and to the right is "scrubland" that is for most of the year overgrown and consists of piles of garden waste and in Mid-June becomes the home of a cow, which introduces the sounds and smells of the farmyard right into your Holiday Villa. NB All 3 bedrooms and the lounge overlook this scrubland and with temperatures in the mid 30's at this time of year the smells are not pleasant. We know this because we've also stayed in the villa next door to the Olive Tree which has the same problems.
(4). It states, nearest railway, Bodrum 15km - Not true, the nearest railway is in fact in Izmir a 4 hour drive North of Bodrum.
(5). Great for children of all ages - Not true, there are no facilities on site. The beach is obviously close by and there is a play area in the village - that's it.
(6). The write up doesn't mention the nearness of the Mosque (less than 100m) which is famous (see review in Rough Guide to Turkey) for the level of amplification used. If you like being woke as early as 04:45 by the call to prayer sounding as if it's in your living room this is for you.
(7). As we know Gundogan very well (we've previously lived there), we must point out that any claims regarding quiet relaxation do not hold water during the period from Mid- June to end of August as the number of visiting Turks from Istanbul and Ankara is huge and the village becomes a bit of a mad house, if you must go, avoid these times!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Nothing
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing