We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful week in Tuscany.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Castel San Niccolo, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Jerry_Nov...
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
“Wonderful week in Tuscany.”
Reviewed 2 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011

DeiMori La Massa was even better than advertised. The setting was picture-perfect. Rooms were large, bright and comfortably furnished; kitchen and bathrooms were modern; all were clean and neat. The patio, porch, and poolside had ample tables, chairs, lounges, and umbrellas for comfortable outdoor leisure. No disappointments. None.

Best of all were the charming hosts, Peter Gosmore and Danny DeiMori, who treated us as pampered guests. Wine and cheese were waiting for us when we arrived. Peter took us on impromptu tours of interesting nearby sights and destinations that we would not otherwise have discovered and made reservations for us in outstanding local restaurants. Danny's mother showed us how to make pasta and gnocci and demonstrated by making us a delicious lunch.

We have wonderful memories and were truly sorry when it was time to leave.

Date of stay: May 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SistersId...
Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A Hidden Secret”
Reviewed 25 June 2010 for a stay in June 2010

Our dream of staying in a Tuscan villa was met last week when we arrived at Dei Mori, La Massa. The pouring rain did not dampen our spirits, because of the wonderful welcome we received from the owners, Peter and Danny.
This villa, tucked deep into the hills of the Casentino Valley is not a typical tourist destination. It is much more unique and more beautiful than any place we have been in Tuscany.
It is a short drive to Arezzo, Cortona, Poppi, Siena, and other hill towns.
Also, know that if you never leave the villa or surrounding towns, you will be overwhelmed by the beauty of the swimming pool, the smell of star jasmine and lavender, lightening bugs at night, and hearing birds singing in the morning.
There is also wonderful hiking and natural beauty in every direction.
The owners, Peter and Danny are wonderful hosts, treating you like family. They will help you plan your visit, yet not be intrusive.
This was our second visit to La Massa, and we were pleased to see the addition of their gym and "state of the art" sauna, which we used every day.
We would highly recommend Dei Mori La Massa, and you will also see that it is definitely a hidden secret.

Date of stay: June 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kayandm
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great People, Great Times”
Reviewed 14 May 2010 for a stay in May 2010

Stayed at La Massa May '10. From the minute we arrived we knew this place was special. We were greeted with a beautiful Italian lunch on the terrace and a bottle of wine with Dani, one of the owners in a really relaxed, informal way and given some advice on the area. In the beautiful villa (which looks a lot nicer in real life than the internet pics show), we also had a freshly baked loaf and a cake waiting for us! The views from the villa were amazing with all the trees in the valley and as it is quite high, the mists in the valley in the morning are quite spectacular. It was still a bit chilly at night when we were there, so the log fire in the villa was lovely too to sit and have a glass of Chianti beside (or two!)
The pool and hot tub are lovely and the views from the pool are amazing.
Dani and Peter are really friendly, but never intrusive, so you feel like you are staying with friends from day 1. Unlike some places we have stayed, they don't try to avoid you or make you feel like your invading their place, but you feel they really love having guests stay and it's good to know they are on hand if you need them, especially as the place is quite remote. They offer brilliant "local" knowledge on the whole region including best restaurants, day trips, places and things to see and will even help with booking if needed. We were even lucky enough to have a meal made for us one night, which was fantastic.
This is the perfect place for couples or friends. Probably not the best for toddlers as it is on 3 levels so the steps and edges would be a worry, but babies or older children would be fine. The lizards and gekkos are cute too - especially as they run away from you.
We visited some great places, the castles at Poppi and San Niccolo have nice walks, the views from Mount Verna Monastery are amazing, Arezzo is a lovely place for lunch in the old square, Florence obviously, Stia is really pretty to name but a few.
We are already booked for next year and feel like we are going back to visit friends,not just a villa.

Date of stay: May 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyandGa...
Chobham, Surrey
1 review
“Andy and Garrys reviews”
Reviewed 19 July 2008 for a stay in July 2008

The only way I can describe the experience of staying at La Massa with Peter and Danny as our superb hosts is this...I felt it was absolute Heaven! For personal reasons we had not been on holiday for 14 years and the day we travelled I almost got cold feet. I am so glad I didnt. Peter was wonderful at welcoming us and immediately making us feel at home. The surrounding views and La Massa situ were absolutely perfect. Everything was so easy. Peter and Danny make perfect hosts and their tourist advice can not be too highly reecommended, better than the guide books. It is such a wonderful place to stay that you dont really want to go sight seeing.
We only had a very short time there and we will be returning, without a doubt, for much longer, next year.

Date of stay: July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loulou_76...
UK
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 11 April 2008 for a stay in September 2007

My husband and I stayed at La Massa for a week in September. The surroundings are beautiful and the accommodation was fantastic. Peter and Dani made us feel very welcome and we hope to be able to go back for another week very soon.

We're fairly picky about where we stay (!) and bearing that in mind we fully recommend staying here. We came away relaxed and happy.

Date of stay: September 2007
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Visit was for: Quality time with family
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.