We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in matara”

The Dutchman's Street
Ranked #5 of 104 Restaurants in Matara
Price range: US$2 - US$6
Cuisines: Italian, Chinese, Arabic, Seafood, European, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: We offer an environment and cuisine that has never been available in the Matara city. Our unique menu comprises some well made international dishes by an experienced chef. We pioneer in serving the best coffee in town made with "Lavazza Gold" beans. You are allowed to bring anf enjoy your beer and alcohol in our premises with some of our unique side dishes. Come and indulge your self in a pensive environment and reincarnate your mood with the smooth jazz backgroud music.Situated very convinently to Mirissa, Polhena and SK Town and many other tourist attracted beaches in the viscinity.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best food in matara”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

I have eaten here 4 times now as it has variety worldly dishes and that all look fantastic. The services does get much better and the price is so cheap for the 4 star service you get. It's a must if you are looking for some good food to eat.

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Methun_SK, Manager at The Dutchman's Street, responded to this review, 10 July 2016
Thankyou verymuch for your kind comments, we are trying our level best to improve and to offer you a experience at our restaurant.
kind regards
Methun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    13
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Delicious food and super service”
Reviewed 18 April 2016

This restaurant is a must visit when in Matara. It is a cozy family restaurant and the service is friendly and efficient . The lime / mint chiller was very refreshing and the food excellent . The sea food in chili soy sauce and the shis kebab are definite recommendations and a must try .
This restaurant is a great place to relax before entering the highway .The coffee too is excellent . The service too is very good and the owners were on hand to help out and ensure all was well ! Good luck guys and keep up the good work !

  • Visited April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Methun_SK, Manager at The Dutchman's Street, responded to this review, 10 July 2016
Thankyou verymuch for your kind comments, we are trying our level best to improve and to offer you a experience at our restaurant.
kind regards
Methun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, stylish gem in Matara”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile

In a back alley near the waterfront is an unexpected stylish western restaurant with vintage decor and antique cars in the yard. A lot of love went into this family run business. The food was good though not necessarily Dutch nor was the pasta very Italian flavor but did have a touch of local spices. That being said the staff were so friendly and attentive to our family. I wish they had an alcohol license as beer would be great in this location. It's a nice place to stopover!

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank markypao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Methun_SK, General Manager at The Dutchman's Street, responded to this review, 16 April 2016
Thankyou very much for your very kind comments. Me and my family were equally happy to serve you. We are planing on getting our beer permit soon, and we have a lot more to improve and develop in our restaurant since we just opened a couple of months ago.
Thankyou again
Methun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Delicious food !!!”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

Real deal coffee !!!
Super friendly& helpful place
Clean delicious food attention to details ...
Good location near the sea

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank Ania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Methun_SK, General Manager at The Dutchman's Street, responded to this review, 16 April 2016
Thank you very much for your Review, really glad you enjoyed our coffee as our ambition is to bring you the best coffee in town. hope to see you soon at our restaurant.
Take care
Methun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food in a nice quiet place with good service!”
Reviewed 29 March 2016

It is a family-run restaurant in the fort area of Matara. The food (seafood in chili-soy sauce) was delicious and also the service was very good. The manager (one of the sons of the owners) and also the chef came to my table to ask if everything was fine. What`s really important for me: the prices are still really affordable, so I also met some locals eating there. All in all a must-go-there when you`re around Matara (also from Mirissa it`s just a 20 mins tuktuk ride ;))...

  • Visited March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank austrianadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Methun_SK, General Manager at The Dutchman's Street, responded to this review, 16 April 2016
Thank you very much for your kind comments, it was a real pleasure serving you, hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip aswell. thankyou again and take care
Methun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dutchman's Street also viewed

 
Matara, Southern Province
 
Matara, Southern Province
Matara, Southern Province
 

Been to The Dutchman's Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing