We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog Friendly”
Review of Horse & Groom

Horse & Groom
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Writtle
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ice box cafe
Had a really nice breakfast on Tuesday morning
Lovely and hot and the bonus was they are dog friendly Weatherspoons might be a tad cheaper but not so nice and not welcoming to dogs They are allowed outside Ok in the good weather but no good in the rain Offhand staff too

Thank yvonne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
playle2011, Manager at Horse & Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Yvonne,

Thankyou for your review we hope to see you again soon!

Many thanks

Alice Campion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were greeted quickly and told how to order food. Vegetarian options were great, the battered halloumi was perfect, not too sickly but nice and filling. Food came out and quickly and was fresh and hot. Fresh lemonade was perfect on a hot summers day. We sat in the garden and listened to a good playlist of music that was up to date and good for summer.

Thank MarshallR1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
playle2011, Manager at Horse & Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

MarshallR1992

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your lunch in our lovely garden! Thankyou for leaving us a review and we look forward to seing you again soon!!

Many thanks

Alice Campion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I took my mother out for a Sunday Lunch and we had never been to this pub before. We were very pleasantly surprised by the surroundings and the pub is very clean and welcoming. We had a very good waitress (Deanna) who knew the menu and was cheerful, pleasant, friendly and efficient. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was cooked well, with fresh ingredients and tasted great. We both enjoyed the visit and would certainly come again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank chriscarroll2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
playle2011, Manager at Horse & Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Chriscarroll2018

Thankyou for your lovely review I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable Sunday lunch and Deanna looked after you all well!

We hope to see you again soon!

Many thanks

Alice Campion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had Sea Bass and Scallops on a Pea Risotto. It was fabulous. Followed by a mini pudding and coffee which was also lovely. They also do a nice Pimms. Service excellent. What's not to like?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Chef & Brewer
Thank jbf593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
playle2011, Manager at Horse & Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Jbf593,

I am glad you enjoyed your latest visit and glad to hear that the food was fab!

We hope to see you again soon!

Alice Campion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Great service the staff were happy to see you and when out there way to fit you in there restaurant thank you to deanna for our service

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
playle2011, Manager at Horse & Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Roger,

We always do our best to make space for people even without booking and I’m glad we could do this for you on such a busy day!

Great to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seing you again!

Thankyou
Alice Campion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horse & Groom also viewed

 
Boreham, Essex
 

Been to Horse & Groom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing