We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mangoes , 94 Hibiscus Ave , Holetown , Barbados”
other travellers have booked this property
Aerial view of Mangoes.
(Hubby and I had to climb on neighbour's roof to get this shot!)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aerial view of Mangoes.
(Hubby and I had to climb on neighbour's roof to get this shot!)
Fabulous beach just across the road from Mangoes. A 2 minute walk will bring you here. Relax in sun or shade in our large, beautiful garden.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Aerial view of Mangoes.
(Hubby and I had to climb on neighbour's roof to get this shot!)
Fabulous beach just across the road from Mangoes. A 2 minute walk will bring you here.
Relax in sun or shade in our large, beautiful garden.
Spend time at the pool - situated beach side it's also only 2 minutes walk away.
Entry is free.
Generous verandah - dine, relax, entertain - comfy seating for 11 people here.
Living room, sets of french doors lead to veranda and 'al fresco' dining room
Mangoes, formal dining room,  wrought iron arches allow a pleasant breeze
Smart kitchen, well equipped with appliances, crockery, cutlery, pots, pans etc.
Master bedroom - this bed is 2 mtrs wide (78 inches).
Master bedroom dressing table & wardrobes. There's a big safe inside the wardrobe.
Master bathroom. Now en-suite to the Master bedroom.
Queen/Twin - a large, comfy bed
Queen bedroom, dressing table, wardrobes and entrance to new en suite bathroom
En suite bathroom to the Queen/Twin bedroom.
Here we have the Queen/Twin room dressed for occupation by only one person
Triple bedroom, dressed as double plus single. Private bathroom.
The triple bedded room - for up to 3 persons. Dressed as three single beds.
The veranda overlooks our big, lush, tropical gardens.
Dining table + 6 chairs, suite seats 4, mamasan lounge chair.
Standard lamp + ceiling fans.
Gazebo and barbecue.
The back gate leads on to the green - just across the road is the sea - 2 mins!
At night the garden is magical. With pretty fairy lights and the joyous calls of the tree frogs.
Beautiful sunset, one of many, from Beach House
Beach House (the beach club) is a great place to have your 'sundowner' cocktail & absorb the beauty.
Chattel shops, delightful goods of high quality, 2 minutes walk from Mangoes
Beautiful 'Bottom Bay' - everybody's dream Caribbean beach - except this is the Atlantic coast!
North Point - wild Atlantic cliffs
Bathsheba, also the wild Atlantic. Surfing championships held here.
More of Bathsheba - see how the rocks are undercut by the sea.
North Point - exhilarating to say the least!
Find your way from North Point - helpful direction sign-post
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Holetown, Saint James Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
555defaul...
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mangoes , 94 Hibiscus Ave , Holetown , Barbados”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Mangoes is a detached villa in Sunset Crest . It's got three double bedrooms ( all with a/c ) and two bathrooms , a large living space comprising sitting room , dining room and a large varandah ( all with fans ). There is also a large ( rather old fashioned ) wash room .
I gather from Ian&Cath that there will be changes made this year which will include a new wash / utility room and an ensuite bathroom . Brilliant !!
Overall the accommodation is great ; comfortable beds and loads of wardrobe space . The kitchen is well equipped and the showers are excellent !!
The living area is spacious and there's a great decked verandah which is covered . We spent most of our time there . A big plus is that Mangoes is very close the Chattel Village and Masseys Supermarket in Holetown and no more than a two minutes walk across the green to The Beach House with its pool and sun beds and , of course , the beach .
Wonderful !
We've booked again for next year !!
Howard & Sarah Jones
16/01 - 06/03/2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
Hi there you two,
Wow! A swift review - you can't even be on the plane yet so all is fresh in your minds! Very efficient!

Glad you enjoyed your stay at Mangoes and thanks for
a) re-booking ..... and ....
b) this very good review. The descriptions and explanations of location etc are very useful to future travelers.

Yes, plans to renew the washroom extension are on the cards. I have been making drawings to an approximate scale and we'll be meeting builders during our visit in June. I hope all goes smoothly despite Barbados' known reputation for being laid back and sleepy......great for relaxing holidays but can become a little "manyana-ish" when it comes to getting things done!
I'll keep you posted about how it's going.

Thanks again, safe and comfy flight home.
Cheerio, Cath.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvielan...
2 reviews
“Fabulous Mangoes”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed here for 16 nights over Christmas and new year and had a wonderful holiday. Mangoes was absolutely perfect for us being in a great location and having all the facilities we could need.

Lucille was lovely and looked after us really well.

We didn't eat in much but when we did we made good use of the lovely dining area.

The villa is securely gated though the area feels quite safe anyway and was no problem to get to all the bars and restaurants in Holetown.

I hope we can return in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2017
I couldn’t ask for a better review, thanks very much indeed!
Yes, Sunset Crest is a safe area; hubby Ian and I are only 5'2" each and we walk out at night without any problem.
In part, the wrought iron gates are provided, in addition to wooden doors, to allow breeze to flow through, even whilst guests are out and the house safely locked but it’s also a comfort to those who are slightly nervous when abroad or during the hours of darkness.
A confession from me …. we hardly ever eat in! There are so many lovely restaurants only a stroll away and when beach-side dining is so affordable, why wouldn’t I want the Caribbean lapping at my toes ….. EVERY night?
We would love you to return, it’s been a pleasure to have you at our home.
Cheerio, Cath.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
34Happygo...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mangoes stay”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed at Mangoes 8 - 22 August and had an absolutely brilliant holiday. Lucille gave us a very warm welcome and she made us feel at home. The Villa was a lovely home from home there were only 2 of us but all the rooms were a god size with plenty of wardrobe space. The bathrooms were spacious and well presented. There was everything you would need to make your stay great. We spent all our spare time on the wonderful porch in the evening listening to music or the whistling frogs!

The villa so near to the beach and is really central to some brilliant eateries such as Tides, The Beach House, Zaccios, F!intz and Cafe Carizma in Chattel Village. Couldn't Fault the food in any of them. We did cook breakfast most mornings and dinner on 2 occasions. The supermarket's are near by and it was very easy to get buses or taxis.

We would definately recommend Mangoes to friends, it was a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Grounds were also private for sunbathing. Some friends called over and got so relaxed we had to force ourselves to go to the beach.

Wish it was our home, we really didn't want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The verandahNoth
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Hi there,
You make me feel so lucky, owning Mangoes! I'm glad you had such an enjoyable and relaxing stay ..... you can always come again! You'd be very welcome.

Anyway, thanks for all the nice comments and confirmation of our lovely home, facilities inside and in the area, brilliant location etc.
Please do recommend us, maybe you could bring friends along with you next time?

Take care both, it has been a pleasure......
Cheerio, Cath.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D B
Smethwick
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and all you need for your stay”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed here recently with friends. Excellent set up and instructions about all you could possible need from the owners, from shopping areas, bank information, places to see and local hotspots.

House was well provisioned for all of us with plenty of space. Really easy access to beaches and swimming pool club on sea front plus numerous restaurants up and down the high St. Location gave easy access to main highway leading back to town and St Lawrence gap for those of us who wanted to go into town for the nightlife.

Very pleased with stay, which was a relatively comfortable experience with cleaner coming in twice a week to clean and make up beds.

If I had a gripe it would be given the number in our party, we could have done with air conditioning in the living / lounge area which is where we tended to socialise and could get quite hot at times, but this is by no means a deal breaker.

My congrats to the owners who have a great property which is very well maintained.

DB

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2016
Hi DB,
Thanks for this very complimentary and accurate review. Glad to hear you enjoyed Mangoes.
I think I am correct in saying that few Bajan properties have air con except for in bedrooms as the emphasis here is on outdoor living. Of course guests use the living room as the TV is there but I would expect most will do as we do; leave the French doors open to get the breeze flowing through, put the ceiling fans on, inside and out, and meander between the living room and the generous veranda where there are seats for up to 11 people.
Thanks again, let me know if you want to repeat the experience ..... you'll be very welcome.
Cheerio Cath.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrkmr
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely villa in an excellent location”
Reviewed 20 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This spacious villa has everything that you need for a relaxing holiday in Barbados. The main attraction for us was the location, which is right across the street from the Beachhouse shared pool and the sea beyond it. 2 minutes stroll to the supermarket and also to all the restaurants and bars in Holetown. When we arrived I wasn't certain if it was going to look like the pictures, but be assured that the photos don't actually do it justice. The 3 bedrooms are all spacious, 2 with super king size beds and one with 3 singles. All have aircon, double glazing and fly screens to the windows. 2 shower rooms are great with lots of places to hang and store your toiletries. Large verandah at the front has comfy chairs and low table at one end and dining table to seat 6 at the other, with 2 sunlounger on the grass outside. Perfect place to watch the sunrise and sunbathe and relax early in the mornings. Large lounge has TV with English, Bajan and US channels, and there is a lovely dining room off there with open sides, protected by fly screen and wrought iron railings. The kitchen has every item you could possibly need, and quite a few extra things too. There were 4 adults in our party but there was enough crockery and cutlery for at least a family of 12. The laundry room is brilliant if you need to wash out your beach towels (although Lucille the housekeeper is more than glad to do that for you. She comes in twice a week). In the back garden is a pergola which is great for eating lunch in the cool shade, and also a built in barbeque which was great. And the wifi worked great which meant that we could contact family and friends during our stay. All in all it exceeded our expectations in every way and we can't wait to come back. Cath - you have created an absolute gem. Many thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location & the space.
Liked least: Padlock on the back gate was very fiddly in the dark.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
Wow! What a wonderful review! So detailed for guest use and so complimentary for hubby and I. Reading this makes every past effort worthwhile!
Thanks again for sharing your enjoyment with us, I get areal buzz from your enthusiasm as it's just how I feel about Mangoes myself.
I hope you'll be able to repeat at some time in the future - we'd be very happy to welcome you back again and again.!

Cheerio, Cath.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1 334
/
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing