We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
view from deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Holetown, Saint James Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jon_hale
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed 9 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

I have never written a proactive positive review before, but have felt compelled to do so after a wonderful fortnight holiday. It is worth staying for the setting alone - the view from the veranda is stunning. You will want a hire car as it’s a good five mins drive from Holetown / the nearest beach – and well worth exploring the beaches down towards Spitestown (spelling??).

While there are other cottages within the grounds we felt like we had the place to ourselves – and the owners provided all we needed while giving us our privacy.

Our daughter is almost two and loved the trip as much as we did – she is still excited about the monkeys that paid us a visit. The pool is a good size and a stone’s throw from the cottage while being a safe distance for an over adventurous toddler. We very much hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the setting
Liked least: having to come home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Reviewed 13 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andrew M
Chateauneuf de Grasse, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful holiday home”
Reviewed 12 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Gingerbread cottage is a cute chatel house ideal for two or four people. Situated in the hills above Hole town which is 5 mins away by car. The rental included a car. We stayed for one month in the delightful surroundings. Dick and Carol and Lottie were friendly, helpful and discrete and proved to be very interesting and sociable. The cottage was lovely and enabled us to live out doors on the veranda overlooking the countryside with views of the sea and Royal Westmoorland golf complex. The pool is large and the area around it has a kitchen and BBQ, chairs, tables and loungers. We hope we can return again in the not too distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation and accommodation
Liked least: The wifi was limited inside the cottage and needs to be upgraded
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamerManc...
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Second time, still great.”
Reviewed 14 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We recently returned from our second stay at Gingerbread Cottage. It may not be the most glamourous compared to other rentals, (no air con, marble floors, plasma TV, maid service etc) but it is very comfortable for a family holiday.
The Cottage is very pretty and cute with great views down the valley across Royal Westmoorland down to the sea. There is a great pool, shared with 2 other rentals, but during our stay we had the pool to ourselves most of the time.
It is located opposite Suger Hill, and is a short drive into Holetown, so great for exploring and getting to the beaches.
The owners Carol & Dick are really welcoming and helpful, and also provided a hire car during our stay.
Thoroughly recomend it for a small family looking for a relaxing holiday away from the crowds and the larger developments.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Reviewed 25 October 2010 for a stay in July 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing