We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chula Vista

Poolside View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Poolside View
Living Room lounge area. Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Poolside View
Living Room lounge area.
Living room
Open living area with ocean view
Indoor Dining area
Large Gourmet Kitchen with breakfast bar
Gourmet chef Kitchen
kitchen opens up to the lounge area
Guest Bathroom off the foyer
Outdoor dining area overlooking the Caribbean
Sun deck and Pool overlooking the Caribbean
Pool overlooking the Caribbean
Master Bedroom
Master bedroom
Master Bath with double vanity
Master Indoor Shower
Master Outdoor Shower
Outside Patio area by Master bedroom
Entryway
Outside Patio
2nd Bedroom
ensuite 2nd bathroom
3rd bedroom features two Guest Beds that can be configured as a king also.
3rd bedroom ensuite bathroom
Front walk up home view
Front home view
Chula Vista has mature tropical landscaping.
Aerial View of the home and its south facing view
alternative aerial view of the home perched at the top of the hill for sweeping view
While in Roatan see the Dolphins
Go for a swim in West End
Take a dive or snorkel trip
visit our friendly animal sanctuaries.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
West Bay, Roatan, Bay Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DRB345
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 24 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We spent two weeks at this beautiful home. The house is absolutely beautiful with three bedrooms, each one with its own bath, separate enough to be private for everyone. A chefs kitchen, well appointed with everything you could want. 10 minute walk to the west end beach and phenomenon diving at Bananarama. Very quiet and private but still not off in the boonies.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LawProf00...
Newnan, Georgia
1 review
“Spectacular Home in a Perfect Location”
Reviewed 12 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My husband and I stayed at Chula Vista for a long weekend to celebrate our anniversary. The location is perfect for those wanting privacy and seclusion but also very close and convenient to West Bay and all of its attractions and amenities. The hillside views over the sea toward the mainland and nice trade winds make it a comfortable place to relax, day or night. The stars are absolutely amazing here! The home itself is lovely with everything you could possibly want during your stay, including a gourmet kitchen, washer & dryer, iron & ironing board, hair dryers, etc. The master bed is one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in during our travels. The grounds are beautiful with lush tropical flora and many plants in bloom. We woke to the sound of birds in the forest and saw a number of geckos, anoles, bats, tree frogs, and agouti on the property (none were bothersome!). We could have easily spent our entire time on Roatan here at the property were it not for so many things to see on the island. We are already planning a return trip for this summer and will be bringing our two teenagers this time!

Recommendations for Dining: LaLa's is a fabulous place to eat in West Bay- we ate dinner there twice during our stay and everything was fresh and healthy, which was a nice change from heavier island fare. Her homemade desserts are also fabulous (we got them to-go and enjoyed them later at the house). Her small gallery is also nice, and we purchased a few souvenirs there. Another great place to eat is a small building (basically a shack) off the grassy parking lot in the alley/street between West End Mall and Bananarama. It isn't technically a restaurant and there is no sign. A lady cooks there, and it is where the locals eat breakfast and lunch. You can get a full plate of traditional island food there for $5-7 US (either shrimp or lobster) and can grab a local beer next door at the small shop. We shared a combo plate of lobster, shrimp, slaw, beans/rice, and an entire plate of fried plantains for $11 US, and it was absolutely delicious and more than the two of us could eat! The deli at West Bay Mall was also a good lunch spot at a reasonable price- we ate there when we first arrived on the island. Finally, Creole Rotisserie Chicken in West End is a very good place to eat if you want to drive over there or take a water taxi.

Things to Do: When you walk from West Bay Mall through the alley/street to the beach, you will see two ladies (Lidia and Sheila) who braid hair and give massages. They are wonderful people and do a great job for a reasonable price. Lidia is also married to a charter boat captain, Captain Alex, who took us out for a fabulous 5+ hour day of fishing and snorkeling at multiple locations around the end of the island all the way up to the Airport, including lunch on the boat (he will prepare your fresh catch from fishing) and beer/sodas/water/snacks, for $125 US. He would have stayed out with us longer to hit a third area of the reef, but we had to get back for our next appointment. Alex is Garifuna and had great stories to tell about the island and his life there. He will pick up at Infinity Bay Resort's dock (very convenient). I left Alex's card in the visitors' journal in the house. Highly recommend! We also snorkeled two locations offshore at West Bay Beach with Captain Ronnie for a nice few hours at a reasonable price. Ronnie picks up right on the beach at Bananarama. We now consider all of these locals our friends and look forward to spending time with them when we return this summer! Gumbalimba Park was nice if you have a few hours to spare. The entry price includes a guided tour where you will see capuchin monkeys, parrots, iguanas, and several other bird species in addition to learning about the history of the island. The tour concludes with unlimited time on your own at the beach and pool afterward, if you choose (we didn't stay for that).

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Beautiful Home on a Beautiful Island”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This vacation by far had to be one of my best. I have traveled all over the Caribbean and rented houses every time. This House was beautiful and located in the best part of the Island. The main house has an amazing Kitchen with a huge living room and Master bedroom and Bathroom. There is a mother-in-law suite above the Garage as well as another bedroom below the house with a bathroom and 2 twin beds. The view was spectacular and the staff went above and beyond on our vacation. The yard guy is very quiet and "TREE", yes that is his name , is in charge of all the maintenance on the house. He was Great. We went through Liz to book the vacation and she was very quick to respond whenever we had a question and Jaime was our concierge and handled Car rental for us and was able to get exactly what we wanted.
We were 5 min from West Bay Beach which is incredible. The house is also only 8-10 min by car to West End which is where all the partying goes on. We got to the Island at the beginning of the Slow season so we didn't have any problems with anything being crowded. The locals on this island are by far the nicest people of all the islands that i have visited and there are very few that I have not been to. I have read a few reviews from people that say to be very cautious on this island. I felt safe everywhere I went on the island. Yes if you flash a lot of money around or leave expensive items laying around they probably will end up missing, but that is no different then your home town. I was sitting at a beach bar on West Bay beach and witnessed a little local boy walk up to the bar to turn in a cell phone that was lost on the beach.
I definitely plan to return to this island and Chula Vista will be the house that I rent again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How peaceful it was when at the house
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtyard...
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Quiet”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We live a hectic life and needed to get away to a quite place to just unwind. When we booked this place, the agent said this was the spot. She was correct. It was just 2 of us so we only had the main house but it was huge! Everyday we slept late, hung out by the infinity pool overlooking the ocean. Private seclusion at its best. The house has internet but we kept the phones off for the most part. West Bay is just a walk down the hill to all sorts of bars and restaurants and their fabulous beach. Taxi's were super cheap so we took them home to avoid walking the hill. It's vacation, right? We will be back and maybe bring some friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and views
Liked least: we had to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to chill”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My wife and I plus friends liked this place so much we came back at the end of July.

I like everything about this house- it has A/C, clean water, a pool, view, solitude, etc. I also like that it is very quiet. We travel light so having a washer and dryer is a nice convenience.

It was fun to see the buzzards riding the wind off the ridges as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything. Cool, quiet, close to both West Bay and West End.
Liked least: I couldn't bring my 4k tv with me. Not that I watch tv on vacation...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing