We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
14
11
4
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
14
11
4
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2015

This is a very homely hotel in Altentreptow. We went there for my brother in law wedding. Its located on a plaza and they serve very nice beers. If you are going to stay in Altentreptow then this is the hotel you should pick.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank renzok777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelammarkt, Inhaber at Hotel am Markt, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter Gast, danke für die gute Bewertung unseres Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Five of us traveled to this part of former East Germany to explore our family roots. We chose Altentreptow as "genealogy exploration central" because of it's about midway location to the two areas we wanted to explore. We enjoyed the stay. Hotel Am Markt appears to be a family run inn. And I'm sure there is a story here relative to the owners and the GDR era. But our German is so collectively feeble, we failed to get that story. The rooms are clean and neat if not gorgeous. The staff/owners are extremely pleasant and helpful. Being sort of the "off" season, our host gave us the premium dinner table every night. My impression is that the owner is also the chef. He is a very good cook and we enjoyed the meals. He has a good enough command of English to assist in translating the German menu such that we were all pleased with our meal choices. The complimentary breakfasts served in a separate "breakfast" room were very good; superb breads and one of the best muesli's I've ever tasted. The town itself was interesting; a good introduction to Germany for some of my traveling companions. A little East German communist shabby and somewhat disheveled because some 40% of the population left for West Germany after the reunification, it was nevertheless fun and interesting to wander around and talk to some of the villagers and shop keepers.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WMV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelammarkt, Inhaber at Hotel am Markt, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014
Google Translation

Thanks for the good review of our hotel.
Danke für die gute Bewertung unseres Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

What a pleasant surprise this hotel was in the centre of this otherwise uninspiring town. I have looked around first but this is the best you can get in Altentreptow.

The rooms are very nice, clean and quiet. Beware that there are smoker and non-smoker rooms so state your preference when booking or checking in.

The large TV had a good selection of channels.

On the ground floor is a restaurant/bar. Service is friendly.

Wifi internet did not work in my room but was OK in the bar. When they closed the bar and I was not finished with internet the Owner gave me the key to a spare room on my floor which was closer to the WiFi transmitter so I could finish there. What a service!

The breakfast buffet was OK and had a good selection of food.

Room tip: Check for smoker or non-smoker rooms
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeimenBurum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelammarkt, Inhaber at Hotel am Markt, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014
Google Translation

Thanks for the good review of our hotel.
Danke für die gute Bewertung unseres Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Am Markt in Altentreptow for 6 nights. The rooms are large and modern with large bathrooms. The hotel is family owned and the owners seem to live on the premises. As a result, one could hardly ask for a better staff. They were extremely polite and helped with our so so German. The breakfasts were buffets with a nice selection to choose from. The room rates included breakfast and were very reasonable.

The hotel is small and was full most of the time we were there (they had a tour bus) and yet we experienced only one slight problem. On one day did they seemed to run low on hot water and one of us was forced to take a lukewarm shower.

The restaurant in the hotel is lovely and the food is wonderful. There is only one server per night and she took care of the bus load of people and us. She was quick, efficient and personable.

What more could one ask? I highly recommend the hotel and its restaurant!

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelammarkt, Inhaber at Hotel am Markt, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014
Google Translation

Thanks for the good review of our hotel.
Danke für die gute Bewertung unseres Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2020
Google Translation

Room tip: Trotz zentraler Lage sind die die Zimmer ruhig
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, Inhaber at Hotel am Markt, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2020
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews