We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Ground floor layout
Bedroom Layout
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Sedgefield, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul M
Braselton, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic getaway ”
Reviewed 27 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We arrived at Durham house on Thursday and the house was ready to go for our family get together. All the rooms were nice and en suite. The dining room had a huge table to fit everyone while eating and the bar area was where we could have fun playing pool. Obviously being November the weather wasn’t great but this house made the trip. Middlesbrough and Hartlepool are not far for driving and there are some good walks for the dogs and pubs for anyone that doesn’t want to use the in-house bar. In the summertime this place would be great as the seating area looked fab too! For big family/friend get together this is the place to rent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2018
Thank you for your fantastic review. It is great to hear such lovely words and that you and you family had a great time. We look forward to seeing you again (with some sunshine next time!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather R
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous for family gathering.”
Reviewed 26 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Had a fantastic weekend with 17 family members and dogs. Spacious dining room, lovely lounge and comfortable beds. The bar and pool table provided great entertainment. Fabulous location within easy distance of local shops. Had a great weekend here celebrating my brothers special birthday. We also had the Hayloft which provided us with more space. Would definitely book this again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2017
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you had a good stay, and that your brother enjoyed his birthday. The house is ideal for family events and is perfect for all ages. We look forward to seeing you again soon for the next significant birthday! Lesley and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffreysK...
Ciudadella De Menorca
2 reviews
“Definitely a house to revisit”
Reviewed 1 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This is an annual event for us. A week away with the children and grandchildren and what a place to stay !!! We've done a lot over the years and this is probably the best place we've had. Roomy, very well appointed and plenty to do. Pool, table tennis, darts and our own bar. 6 adults, 5 children and 1 dog all had a great time. With a large open space at the rear, and a secure gate, the dog had a whale of a time. Sedgfield is a good centre for trips out, so we had plenty to do. Thank you Lesley & Neil for being such good hosts.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2017
Thank you for a fabulous review. It is brilliant to know that compared to other large properties you felt it was the best. Praise indeed. We spent a long time thinking about the needs of our customers and felt confident we had ticked all the boxes, so knowing that all our hard work has paid off is great to know. We really do care that our guests come away from the holiday having thoroughly enjoyed themselves. We look forward to welcoming you to Durham House again. Lesley and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LightPack...
1 review
“Beautiful house, well equipped for our stay and great facilities 5*s”
Reviewed 19 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I booked the Old Pub for our group of engineers working close by, Lesley and Neil couldn't be more helpful with ensuring a comfy and cosy home was waiting for the team at the end of a busy day.
Great facilities and we hope to return and stay again with the next project in the area.
Thanks so much guys, Jules xx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2017
Thanks, it is a great alternative to a hotel and we are pleased it was so popular with the gentlemen who stayed there. We look forward to being of service to you again. Lesley and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacatione...
1 review
“Fantastic weekend in a wonderful house”
Reviewed 16 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We visited the Durham House in September for 4 days. We were a group of 14 runners taking part in the Serpentine Race at Sedgefield.

It was a fantastic weekend in a wonderful house. The rooms were spacious and clean, tastefully decorated, with enough room for everyone.
The highlight was without doubt the community room on the ground floor , big enough for us all to dine together, also a bar and billiard table.
Outside in the grounds there was a barbecue area and seating for all of us.
We felt at home from the first moment we were there, and have already booked again for next year. The hosts were excellent, all our wishes being fullfilled, it couldn't have been better.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2017
Thank you for your fantastic review, it is lovely having visitors all the way from Germany coming to visit Sedgefield.
We will see you all next year. Prost!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing