We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rocked all the boxes and more.”
other travellers have booked this property
The Chai's spacious living room opens onto the terrace. It includes dining area and kitchen.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Chai's spacious living room opens onto the terrace. It includes dining area and kitchen.
The Chai in May. 'Chai' means a wine barn, and that is exactly what this building used to be. Rural but only 5 minutes by car from the edge of Bergerac. Here is the view from the terrace.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The Chai's spacious living room opens onto the terrace. It includes dining area and kitchen.
The Chai in May. 'Chai' means a wine barn, and that is exactly what this building used to be.
Rural but only 5 minutes by car from the edge of Bergerac. Here is the view from the terrace.
Looking back up the main room from the sofas round the fireplace.
The well equipped kitchen end of the big living room. This week's guests are serious cooks.
Shower room with twin washbasins, double size shower and WC. Towels provided.
Double bedroom with comfortable 150 cm wide double bed. Bedlinen and towels provided.
Twin bedded room with 90 cm wide beds.
The apple walk down to the stream, with the goat paddocks to the right.
View from one of the seats by the stream, lulled by the little waterfall.
Or you could follow the Wild Walk - with orchids and other wild flowers amongst newly planted trees.
Parking in a dedicated car park as you enter the site, so the rest of the grounds are car free.
Bikes delivered, canoeing and horse riding nearby, and a treetop adventure park.
Colourful and well stocked markets
The beautiful Dordogne valley viewed from Domme.
This is typical of the beautiful villages and small towns you'll find on your explorations.
This is also chateau country par excellence!
The old port in Bergerac hosts many summer evening activities. You will be spoilt for choice!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Maurens, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
2015PKH
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rocked all the boxes and more.”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful experience at the Clos Verger. The accommodation was perfect and our hostess Jane could not have been more friendly and helpful. The setting was beautiful too. I would definitely recommend it and hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having a home away from home
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2015
It was great to have you both here and you are welcome back any time. Enjoy the rest of your holiday adventures!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlpy
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, very relaxing vacation at the Chai”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at the Chai for four nights in August, intending to spend time in and around Bergerac. Our nine-year-old daughter was with us. The Chai is very comforably equipped and furnished, and Jane and Martin were welcoming hosts. They provided a basket of snacks and a bottle of wine on our arrival, which was much appreciated. We stayed around the house perhaps more than we had intended because it was so comfortable, but getting to Bergerac when we wanted to was easy. We went into town for half a day to take a ride on a Gabarre, a traditional style boat, and have dinner. We went in another day for the weekly market, which was fabulous. There was lots of information at the Chai about things to visit and to do, and we made good use of it.

We would definitely stay at the Chai again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2014
That's great, we'd love you to come and see us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed P
1 review
“Great accommodation in convenient yet quiet situation.”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We received a warm welcome from Jane and Martin. Spacious accommodation which is very well equipped, clean and with nice furnishings. Situated in a quiet spot, yet only 5 mins drive to Bergerac, and well positioned for accessing surrounding attractions and towns. Good quality and value for money. Would definitely go back in future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality accommodation & convenient, quiet location
Liked least: Long drive to Calais!!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2014
We're very pleased that you all enjoyed your stay here and look forward to welcoming you all here again another year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraT31...
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a week's holiday at this property. The property is very clean and well equipped. It had absolutely everything we could possibly need. Our hosts Jane and Martin were on hand if required but never intrusive. Many thanks to them for their hospitality. The welcome pack was much appreciated and even included a bottle of local wine.

The property is well situated for the local town and within easy driving distance of local vineyards and tourist attractions. We have no hesitation in recommending it to others and would stay here again. We had a wonderfully relaxing holiday - batteries well and truly recharged.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and tranquility
Liked least: No gripes or complaints at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2014
Lovely to have met you both, and so glad you enjoyed your stay. We'd love to welcome you here again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dtan226
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“perfect in every way”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

What a fabulous holiday we have just had ! We stayed in the Chai and it was absolutely lovely. We received a very warm welcome from Jane and Martin and they invited us to have lunch with them as soon as we arrived. The Chai is spotlessly clean and provides everything and more for a great holiday. We wanted for nothing, but I am sure if we had needed anything Jane & Martin would have sorted it out for us. They really are a lovely couple and you feel right at home. The location of the property is beautiful - quiet and picturesque, but in 10 minutes you are in the gorgeous town of Bergerac. This was our first trip to France and we were enchanted by the little villages and beautiful Medieval towns, some close by and some a little further afield. If we return to this part of France again, there is only one place we would stay and that is with Jane & Martin. We would like to say a huge thankyou to them both for making our stay PERFECT !!!!.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2014
Lovely review - thank you very much. We very much enjoyed hosting you both and are so glad you enjoyed the holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing