We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Petite Maison

La Petite Maison
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Petite Maison
Ready to enjoy an al fresco meal The living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
La Petite Maison
Ready to enjoy an al fresco meal
The living area
Pool Loungers and seating
Toddlers' swing set
View up to the cottage
Entrance and sheltered bench
Solar blanket and solar shower
Security gate and enclosure
To your marks GO
Clear blue sky above the cottage
Bedroom view
Kitchen facilities
Shady days
The Perigordian Chartreuse
Woodland setting to the rear of the gite
Spring is on the way
Marguerittes in the Garden
A carpet of orchids in the grass
The gathering of migratory cranes above the garden
Wing commander to squadron leaders
Pool
Open grounds
Oak copse in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Maurens, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Tina C
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for a fortnight with my husband - Rob and Liz were great hosts, really welcoming. Rob had given great directions to find the house, they were spot on. The house was well kitted out with everything you could possibly need for a great holiday. The pool was beautiful - I loved the little 'robot' hoover - it kept the pool spotless, would say it is the best pool we have encountered on our many adventures to France over the past 20+ years. The garden is beautiful too, a great place to eat al fresco, part of the garden is intentionally 'left wild' to encourage butterflies and birds. All in all, a wonderful place to relax and recharge your batteries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the beautiful garden.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind review.
We are very pleased that you had a relaxing holiday and that you enjoyed the pool and garden.
We get great pleasure from our pool and are always delighted when people get as much enjoyment from it as we do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ducis1981
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect, pretty & peaceful”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This cute little gem is perfect for a relaxing peaceful get away. The cottage has everything you could possibly need and Rob and Liz were so lovely and welcoming, we really felt they went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect. The location was so lovely, we were able to sit outside every evening under a blanket of stars and not hear a sound! In fact it was so perfect my boyfriend decided to pop the question.
A big thank you to Rob and Liz for our bottle of Champagne!!!
Gemma & Fred

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
As you know, we were absolutely delighted to hear your wonderful news; as far as we are aware it was a "first" for la petite maison. We hope you have a long and happy life together with great memories of your stay here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuscanRun...
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb cottage, fantastic hosts”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Booking La Petite Maison was exceptionally easy due to the helpfulness of Rob and Liz, our hosts for our two weeks stay. Rob and Liz were particularly helpful and went the extra mile in assisting us with managing our young son's serious food allergies, providing details of their local English-speaking GP, and helping us when we arrived with the location of the local emergency services. Directions to the property were excellent, helping us to navigate the final few miles through the stunning countryside in which the cottage is located. That said, the cottage is in no way isolated. There is a boulangerie located locally in Maurens, and a hypermarche that stocks everything you could possibly need during your stay about 15 minutes drive away. The overall condition of the cottage is excellent, and certainly more than big enough for a family of four. The quality of the furnishing is excellent, with plenty of storage space and absolutely everything provided. Beds in the main bedroom are comfortable, as is the futon in the living area on which our son slept soundly. The kitchen is very well kitted out, and includes a modern electric cooker and oven. We did however make more use of the barbecue. Again, everything was provided including tools and charcoal. When we arrived the bathroom, like the rest of the cottage, was spotlessly clean. The grounds of La Petite Maison are beautiful. There is a large well-maintained swimming pool with sun loungers, a children's play area, and the well-maintained grounds are extensive with stunning views. Locally, Bergerac is only 20 minutes away, with its old town and excellent restaurants. Vineyards and local chateaux are even closer. Fifteen minutes away is a sandy beach at Pombonne Lake which our son loved. The beach has a nice cafe, and a lifeguard station. Overall a fantastic experience made even better by exceptionally helpful but unobtrusive hosts; we are already looking at dates to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Idyllic setting, fantastic hosts
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
Thank you for your exceptionally kind review, it is greatly appreciated.

We always try to ensure our guests have everything they need to make the most of their stay, without interfering with their enjoyment of the cottage and the facilities.
We were delighted that you had such a good holiday at la petite maison and are very pleased to see that you have already booked two weeks for next year; we will look forward to welcoming you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2barry
United Kingdom
1 review
“Miles from anywhere, very quite location except for the dogs heard in the distance.”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Comfortable chairs to sit on, inside the accomadation, as at present there is not. Very difficult to prepare an evening meal with the amount of work space available. No facilities near by, for example, bakers, butchers. To visit a restaurant you need to drive and with the strict drink drive rules is it worth it?
On the plus side the pool was excellent, and the security deposit is very quickly returned.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
Naturally we are very disappointed with your review and that you did not find la petite maison to your liking.

We feel that the description of the property, its location and the photographs on the Holiday Lettings website give a fair reflection of what is offered.

We were particularly sorry to see that you felt our service was not what you expected. We try to strike the balance between being available and not being intrusive and once we have established that there are no problems after our guests have settled in and that there is nothing that they need, we respect their privacy.

When our guests arrive we make a point of telling them to make themselves completely at home and that we are always available if needed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wandering...
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Petite but perfect”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We found La Petite Maison to be pristine and very well kitted out. We had everything we needed for a restful stay. There was plenty of room for 2 of us and the beautiful weather enabled us to make full use of the superb pool and garden. Liz and Rob were most helpful and hospitable and their attention to detail was much appreciated. We stayed for 4 nights but would have been happy to spend longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool,lovely cottage and location.
Liked least: Trying to find the place but it was certainly worth it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
Thank you for your kind review.W were pleased you enjoyed your brief holiday with us. We try to ensure all our guests have everything they need for a relaxing stay. Even though our weather is usually very pleasant, we wish we could guarantee the particularly excellent conditions you had.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing