We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place, warmly recommended”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Bique

La Bique
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Bique
Pool and terraces for long lazy days lounging in the sun The swimming pool is fenced for parents' peace of mind
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
La Bique
Pool and terraces for long lazy days lounging in the sun
The swimming pool is fenced for parents' peace of mind
The outdoor dining area
Our light and airy living room
The BBQ area outside the kitchen
Petanque in the shade of a willow tree
Our tobacco drying barn with the games room and bicycles
The terrrace -  favourite spot for evening apero
A riot of colour and scent from spring through to late Autumn
Hundreds of books and lots of quiet spots to read
Our very well equipped kitchen
The dining room
All of our doubles are cast iron with new orthopedic mattresses
Crisp white linen, towels and pool towels provided
Simple, tasteful and classic is the rule at La Bique
The garden bedroom which opens onto its own private terrace
The garden bedrooom terrace
One of the two twin bedrooms
La Bique - the nanny goat - and the view to the rear of the house
Clairac village from the River Lot
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Clairac, Lot-et-Garonne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrQueenie
Wales
1 review
“Fantastic place, warmly recommended”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Seven adults and seven children descended on La Bique. The property was fantastic catering for all our needs. The children had to be prised from the pool. Jean Claude and Monique are a delightful French family next door who cooked fantastic food for us, I would recommend the paella.
Andrew the owner was great to deal with, and organised the return of an iPad left behind.
Warmly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of the property and pool
Liked least: Distance from UK in a car
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacquelin...
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This accommodation is beautifully arranged to suit a large group of all ages.”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had a lovely time at La Bique. The layout of the property was absolutely perfect for our party, as we were able to separate groups into different parts of the house. Beds were comfortable and plenty of towels provided. We loved the pool and, thanks to the excellent weather up until the last Friday, were able to take full advantage of it. My 2 ½ year old granddaughter spent most of her holiday in the pool and her swimming developed considerably as a result. We did take a lot of pool toys with us, which were a huge success with her, but we all got full value from the pool. We were particularly pleased with the kitchen equipment – we have never stayed in a property as well equipped, with every imaginable container, cooking vessel, dish, crockery and utensil. We planned to go out to eat a few times….we did lunch out a few times, but in the evenings the barbecue won and we found some wonderful fish, moules, prawns etc at a number of different local markets (local market info provided in the house). We did consider asking the neighbours to cook for us. They were such lovely people and gave us a very warm welcome – their menu looked yummy. We did buy some veg and fruit from their stall at the front of their property. However, some of our party were on a bit of a budget and we decided against inviting them to cook…..but we ate very well on local produce. Found some good local wines and although generally red wine drinkers we found a gorgeous local rose which when chilled proved very popular.
The bicycles - lots of them - were very popular. At least two of our group cycled every morning into Clairac - about 2 kilometers along the river - for bread and croissant and a couple went on much longer cycle trips along the river. The child seat on one of the bicycles was a bonus. We had some great fun in the Games room and with Boules. We did visit some of the local villages recommended in the brochures and visitors’ book at La Bique, but they all seemed very quiet which we thought might be because of the French holiday. The local canoeing didn’t quite offer the exciting canoeing we have experienced previously on the Dordogne or Charante, so we didn’t bother with it. However, some of our party set off north east where they had a great day out on the Dordogne and thought it well worth the hour or so travelling. Canoe Butterfly - Le Pont du pech (English speaking - cafe and toilet facilities on site). They booked by phone before going.
For us, it was a pool, sunshine and eating/drinking al fresco holiday so tourist things were not an issue for us. Had they been, then I think the area is a bit short of things to go and see. We did go to the Caves – which were small but impressive, but we are a bit spoilt with huge caves in Somerset on the Mendips, so it wasn’t a new experience. The area reminded us of Lincolnshire really, with the flat plains full of fruit and veg.
All in all, we had a splendid holiday and loved every minute of it. We arrived in different ways, but our group of myself (Granny), Grandpa, son, daughter in law and two grandchildren (one only two weeks old on arrival!) flew to Bordeaux on the Friday. We spent the first night at Chateau de Sanse at Sainte-Radegonde (Beautiful hotel, lovely pool, lovely accommodation - food okay but not outstanding) and visited Saint Emilion (gorgeous place) for lunch the next day before travelling down to Clairac. Similarly, on Saturday we spent the night in a hotel in Bordeaux so that we could spend some time exploring the city. That was fascinating and we were pleased we had taken the extra day to visit before returning. The flights were cheaper arranging the travel this way for those arriving by air.
One other important thing is that the owner couldn't be more helpful. He replied quickly and warmly to every question we had before the visit.
It is such a perfect place for a family gathering of different ages but the weather was an important element too for us.
It has a visiting cat which we called Doughnut. She was very sweet and popular with the family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the accommodation and the equipment, the pool, the barbecue, the sunshine
Liked least: The immediate area was a bit disappointing in terms of places to visit, but much was closed presumably due to the French holiday.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee D
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“TRULY AN AMAZING PROPERTY. EVERYTHING YOU COULD WISH FOR!”
Reviewed 19 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We all thoroughly enjoyed our week stay at this beautiful property. All rooms were to a very high standard and the bedlinen and towels were hotel quality. As a large group (6 adults and 5 children) we were worried that the property would not be big enough for everyone to have their own space-this was not the case, the children took over the TV room leaving the enormous living area to the adults. The pool area was much larger than it looked in the photos and there were plenty of sun loungers for all. A few of us managed a bike ride and also a bit of fishing although we mainly stayed around the pool enjoying the beautiful weather. The information pack was informative and we tried a few restaurants from recommendations in the pack and from previous guest.
I would recommend this property to others and hopefully will revisit it in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and property
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian S
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“La Bique was amazing, we had a wonderful time.”
Reviewed 27 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

From the pool to the pétanque pitch and the bikes, the kitchen to the spacious living room and private setting, the house had everything we needed, wanted and more.

We had such a lovely time, the only disappointing thing was that we had to leave on the Thursday as everyone wanted to stay for the rest of the week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So many things ... the pétanque pitch provided hours of entertainment, especially under lights!
Liked least: The small town of Clairac didn't offer much
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA SALVETAT SAINT-GILLES
Reviewed 3 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplace
Liked least: Bathrooms
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;