We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome”
other traveller has booked this property
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2 Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
56 reviews
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage Great Views of Mountains
Mont Rouge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stephan R
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Nice but not perfect, though expensive”
Reviewed 5 February 2016 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed in the honey moon cottage right next to the beautiful orchard. All in all a nice little cottage in a great, quite location. The facilities were okay, but not excellent.

Downsides were the missing AC (we had almost 40C that week) and the dubious WIFI (one has to register via Facebook - in theory: not one of our three devices were able to even connect to the access point and the owner wasn't able to help). For the price asked we would expect both an AC as well as WIFI that simply works.

With the little things it was the same. The bread that was waiting for us was several days old, no fresh but dried flowers and the jug of milk was just enough for the evening tea of the first day. That sounded more promising when we ordered those things in advance. The potential is there, but not enough value for the price asked.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location in the orchard.
Liked least: The value for the price.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Lovely, rustic, comfortable and all you need away from home!
Enjoyed our 3 night stay whilst attending a wedding at the venue on the farm.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2016
hello Karen

thank you for the nice review. We are so happy you had a great stay and that the wedding was something to talk about. always having a wedding on the 31 of the Dec. Nice way to end of a long year and start the new year.

hope you have a great 2016

and that you will come and stay with us again.

kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavue15
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“well appointed unit with stunning views of the farm”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The farm has 4 or 5 cottages to let each catering for either a couple or a group depending on the number of beds required .We stayed for two nights in the 'honeymoon" cottage located adjacent to a stream and having a superb view of the farm and nearby mountains . The barbeque deck had lots of atmosphere enhanced by the large oak trees adjacent. The unit itself had all the necessities and was very comfortable . Would we go again or recommend to friends ? Certainly . The only hiccup was the hot or cold adjustment for the shower which simply did not work but on reporting this were assured that it would receive attention.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: everything
Liked least: the shower but it is not an insurmountable problem
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2015
Hello

Thank you for the review. We really appreciate it. Thank you for letting us know about the water.


My husband/handyman/ farmer/ had that sorted out. I feel so bad that he has his hands full every where on the farm. But he always comes thou to help..

We do hope to see you here again , in summer you must stay in cottage 4 with the out side shower.

kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgesto...
Durbanville, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
558 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“The most superb view”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My wife and I spent one night in the "honeymoon" cottage. It is beautifully situated next to a bubbling brook and the view of the farmlands stretching up to the mountains was awe-inspiring. Nicely decorated, with a vase of beautiful roses in both the bedroom and bathroom, the cottage was very easy on the eye. We had a very enjoyable walk through the lovely grounds and part of this working farm.
There were a few minor blips : the TV was not working (someone had pulled out all the connections) and there was only one wine glass, but overall the place is really delightful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
hello George

Thanks for the review. So glad you could walk around and just take in the view. Was great meeting the you and your wife. The 2 of you are definitely are very young of spirit!

Sorry about the TV, you need to bring your own cables, card, remote and connections as well as Decoder for using the TV. We mention that on our website . But I will make a point of making sure people know this for the future. It is a good point and very positive. Thanks

I do hope we will see you here again. If we do not have roses we may have some fresh fruit in the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WavesEdge
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything that we had hoped for”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

What an awesome spot. We spent 3 days on the farm and never felt the need to go into town... Absolutely brilliant spot for a bit of r&r. Marisha was amazing and went out of her way to accommodate us at the last minute. The location and setting are beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed ambling around the farm through the orchards, along the dams and up and down the rivers and tributaries with our dogs (with one of the farm dogs acting as our competent daily tour guide). We will most certainly be back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for the great review.
So glad you could have had a chance to enjoy the farm and get a bit of rest in . It is that time of the year , we all need a get away.

Yes Flappie dog is a real hit with the guests . Always entertaining and making as if he is in charge., or he was just trying to inpress the girls.

It was a great pleasure to get everything sorted for you.

Hope to see you again.

kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing