We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
45
11
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
45
11
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews huge kitchen entertainment area swimming pool carly house
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

From the moment you arrive this relaxed country villa oozes opulence.

William is the best host. Lending a helpful hand where needed and making sure everyone is comfortable.

So much space to enjoy different activities, be with friends or find a tranquil space to spend with your own thought.

We loved it so much that we’re going back in the new year to celebrate our marriage with a very close group of friends.

If the remote location is a concern, don’t fret, it’s only a 20min drive from a multitude of cafes, restaurants and all the wonderful wineries in the area.

Do yourself a favour, find 10+ friends and book a relaxing weekend at this amazing venue!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Juandre d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuinevereGuestFarm, Manager at Guinevere Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Hi Juandre,
Thank you for the lovely review. We appreciate the kind words and are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back next year for your special day
All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We stayed at Guinevere farm as a group of 14 adults from 13 - 15 September.

The venue is absolutely lovely, it is very private with fantastic views. Everything was in great condition, and we felt that it catered very adequately for big groups (in terms of seating, chill areas, kitchen equipment). Marko was fantastic and really made our stay even more comfortable.

One thing to note, the last 7km is a gravel road. The last 1-2km is a proper farm gravel road, best will be to not drive your sports car for the weekend:)

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jaime-lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuinevereGuestFarm, Manager at Guinevere Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you so much for your comments.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Had a great time with a bunch of mates for my birthday weekend.
The house suited us perfectly. We had everything we needed. Booking went smoothly and Marko was very helpful during our stay. We had all the privacy we needed and could keep the music going all hours which was great.
The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable. the best part was the upstairs lounge area with pool table where we braaied, watched tv, played pool and hung out. Would definitely recommend to my friends for large group gatherings.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _nicknelburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

We recently ran a Yoga and Healthy Eating Retreat at this venue. My event organiser had previously been to the venue on another retreat more than a year ago and also during the winter months. Unfortunately nothing had changed in terms of how freezing cold the rooms are and yet little has been done to make the guests stay pleasant in terms of heating. There are small panel heaters in the room but we advised all our guests to bring their own heaters which they did. Unfortunately we then had major electricity issues with the plugs short circuiting regularly and this happened with only two plugs being used so the heaters were also pointless. Our national electricity provider (as bad as they are) were blamed by the Managing Director (MD) in her response to us when it was only the plugs not the entire electrical board that wasn't working. In fact the first night we had no hot water and the MD once again blamed the guests ("of your own doing. Someone in your party had left the hot water running in the sink at the upstairs bar for most of the night, which drained the one hot water geyser."). Our guests hadn't even used this room as we had only just arrived so we weren't talking about the next day, we were talking about the night we arrived. This is indeed a lie as one of the staff that work there told us there was an issue with one of the two geysers. Apart from the cold water, no electricity and general bad maintenance at the venue we had a more disturbing experience which was so badly managed that I feel it necessary to advise the public at large.

During our last evening there was a break-in and someone had come through the one back door that had unfortunately had been left open by a staff member who openly admitted it and possibly an innocent mistake. We were grateful that we had a little Yorkie dog with us and if it wasn’t for her waking us up by barking and me having to shout out "who is there" and possibly scare them, as this intruder/s passed by our door, things could really have turned out badly. It was only when the intruder(s) opened the glass door that leads to the our bedroom suite and yoga studio that we woke up, thank goodness they hadn't gone upstairs first where all the guests were. This was indeed a rather frightening experience as we were the only two sleeping downstairs and these could have been armed intruders and now after shouting out we were concerned about our guests upstairs (one whose door didn't lock anyway as we found out afterwards).

We called the staff member who stays on the premises to see if it was him walking around at 1am in the morning only to be told no it wasn't and he immediately came through with his colleague and found that someone had indeed entered the premises through the back door. This venue is in a very remote area of South Africa and with a very high crime rate griping South Africa currently and specifically on remote farms one would think that security would be a major concern. Obviously one cannot take every possible precaution especially if you haven't had any problems before however once something like this happens and you are informed you would expect the manager to be a little more empathetic to the guests ordeal and open to suggestions however it was once again blamed on us ("there is a certain responsibility that lies with the groups that enjoy the freedom that comes with Guinevere. We live in South Africa - and it is mind boggling that any responsible event manager would retire for the night without locking all the outside doors."). Even though the staff member told us he forgot to lock the door which we accepted we get told by the MD that it is our responsibility to lock the outside doors. There are lots of very old doors and so easy to break in whether locked or not but to blame the guests is another cop out.

The police arrived about 15 minutes later and with guns out we searched the premises and thank goodness found nobody in the house. They then left and the staff member slept in the kitchen/lounge area where the open door was and I checked on him regularly as I felt for him. This all happened around 1am and as a result we had a very sleepless night jumping up with every noise and arming ourselves with a kitchen knife. All the guests were also woken by the police presence so it truly was a terrible evening on our last night of a what was supposed to be a relaxing Yoga Retreat.

Obviously no-one was expecting this however one would expect a professional emphatic response from management however all we were told was that it was the guests fault and ours and we were responsible for the cold water, the electricity cutting out and what is 'mind blowing' is that we were responsible for someone breaking into the premises too, obviously we were shocked enough by the experience and then to be told that it was our responsibility was unbelievable. Then to top it all, we informed other parties that also hold retreats there of our experience and that they must get the venue to increase their security and that they are aware of this, only to be told "You have caused us further damage by not addressing your issues with us first, and admitting your own shortcomings, before contacting our loyal clients." We are not quiet sure of our 'shortcomings' and also not sure why the MD wouldn't want us to tell others clearly trying to hide things.

If this was handled professionally the whole experience would have been different and this would never have transpired, however the response from management has been shocking and has left a very bad taste in our mouths and those of our guests so I will leave it up to you to make up your own mind but please do check with the venue as to what NEW security measures they now have in place for their guests before you visit this venue. Travel safe.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

We were greeted by William, what a wonderful guy, so friendly and professional.

We were shown around and even learned a bit about the farms history. We could not believe all the things they do themselves on the farm, their own cheese, eggs, soap and even William's own wine! We had the privilege to experience Will's wine by the lovely indoor fireplace- absolute bliss.

It was cold and raining the weekend, which was perfect for the amazing setting.

We were even treated to an "earth to table" experience by Will's other half when they surprised us with a dinner- amazing!!!

The room was perfect, so beautifully designed and decorated! We loved the view from our balcony!

Breakfast the following morning was another incredible "earth to table" experience, absolutely amazing!

Wish we could've stayed longer...

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lindy_Jacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews