We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
5
5
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
5
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dam wedding estate vineyards rooms farm accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2018

This beautiful estate with its lush manicured lawns really sells itself.

We were blessed to be hosted by Lida & Tulbagh Tourism at Morgansvlei Country Estate for the Vintage & Vine Faire in May 2018.

From the moment we arrived on this working estate with it elaborate vineyards and orchards we felt welcome.

The beautifully decorated cottages come with all you need to make your stay a home away from home with a touch of luxury.

Waking up to the morning mist over the dam as the sun glistens on the water sets the pace for the day.

Breakfast is served in a cottage, the “Farm Breakfast Room,” overlooking the water.
Tea, coffee and juice are on a self-service basis as is your cold breakfast consisting of fresh seasonal fruit salad, yoghurt, Muesli or cornflakes and toast.

The cooked breakfast of traditional eggs, bacon, mushrooms and sausage are to order.

The staff are extremely pleasant and very accommodating and gladly fill you in of the history of Morgansvlei.

On the 2nd morning of our stay a fire was lit in the dining area which added a warm ambience to this beautiful setting.

Morgansvlei Country Estate is beautifully set out from the cottages, dining area, pool & braai area to the function room overlooking the dam. A photographer’s paradise for weddings, birthday parties and other functions as the shadows of the trees and Dutch style buildings reflect on the water.

Thank you Lida, Morgansvlei Country Estate & Tulbagh Tourism and especially Patty for a truly unforgettable introduction to what Tulbagh is all about, awesome friendliness, stunning scenery and the Cape’s unforgettable history.

Arrange your stay today. You definitely won’t be sorry!

Morgansvlei Country Lodge
Tel: 023 230 0877
Cell: 0845841820
E-mail: morgansvlei@telkomsa.net

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HilaryKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lourens Lida H, Manager at Morgansvlei Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Thank you for visiting Hilary and Andre! We enjoyed spending time with you and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

We spent the Saturday night of the Christmas in Winter weekend here with my sister and her husband.
Morgansvlei's setting, with the dam and the surrounding mountains, is very pretty.
Our rooms were spotlessly clean, spacious and well appointed.
The included breakfast was very good.
Great!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank georgestof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lourens Lida H, Manager at Morgansvlei Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Good day George, thank you for returning to Morgansvlei. We do hope that you will come and visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Beautiful intimate place, perfect for a wine festival. Not to many people, lovely wines and rescue puppies to cuddle and play with. With the picturesque mountains in the background this estate is just beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tour766531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lourens Lida H, Manager at Morgansvlei Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Good day Deidre, thank you for your visit. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We had my daughter’s wedding at the Morgansvlei in December. Morgansvlei is nestled between the mountains and very close to town (Tulbagh). We spend 3 nights and had a delicious breakfast every morning included with the accommodation. On the Sunday morning after the wedding most of the wedding guest had breakfast and said there last goodbyes on the patio of the venue! The Friday evening before the wedding we had a big family braai for both families at the swimming pool. Stunning view from the entertainment area at the pool. All our request was met by Marlene and her super friendly staff. Nothing was too much for them and they went out of the way to ensure my daughter’s wedding went of very smoothly and dealt with all the hiccups without any fuss. The rooms around the dam are spacious with its own patio and very comfortable, especially for families. All of these rooms have excellent views over the dam to the mountains! The grounds and rooms are very neat and well maintained. Lovely memories were made her and we had a fantastic wedding!

Stayed: December 2016
Thank GerritPretorius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Clean rooms and expensive bedding with quality decor. Some rooms share a patio - these rooms are perfect for a family.
Service are excellent and very friendly staff.
Very close to town.
Best breakfast ever!

Room Tip: rooms around the dam has a good view of mountains
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MarleneLotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews