We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
226
87
24
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
87
24
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting white roses fine dining superior room an art gallery lovely grounds ceiling fan course dinner underfloor heating wine estate well worth a visit next morning rooms are spacious cape dutch style attention to detail western cape one night stay
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

I have traveled the world with my hubby and this is by far my favorite getaway with him. It’s absolutely gorgeous! Incredible service, stunning room, amazing wine, delicious food and breathtaking views! I would highly recommend Rijks ❤️

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank BiancaG2062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Dear Bianca G
Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Enjoyed 2 wonderful days in the beautiful place with the most friendly and efficient staff. We will be back. The views are spectacular and the location for exploring the area is perfect. also the wind to not to be missed.

Room Tip: Make sure there is milk in the room for coffee
Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 313charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear 313charles
Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

What a beautiful Place to spend the night. The rooms are opulent and comfy. The view from the porch is endless vineyards and SA mountains. Nights are dark with star strewn skies and the sounds are African. Lovely spot can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank majiksea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear majiksea
Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

Excellent weekend stay.
Staff very friendly and knowledgable. Always happy to assist.
Superb restaurant and enjoyed the 4 course dinner very much.
Rooms nice and spacious.
Guest House with a personal touch eg. little snack provided for trip back home.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BetterBessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear BetterBessie
Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at Rijks. The first time we stayed in a cottage, as there were 3 of us. The most recent time was at the beginning of June just as a couple, staying in one of the luxury double rooms. Both times were unforgettable. Wow!
The staff there are very attentive and make you most welcome. A huge shout out to the two gentlemen Louis and Trevor. I imagine you both are also what makes Rijks, well Rijks !! You guys know your stuff and make the stay more memorable. Louis your banter in the wine tasting is still talked about! The Pinotage is Ama-Zing and we came away with more than we should have ;-) Or not enough, I should say!! the fine dining is fabulous and the Chef knows how to present it. Each dish is a wow. Avery and Armand, you are both superb gentlemen and very welcoming.
All of the staff are warm and friendly and it is with absolute conviction - that i must say - if you visit Tulbagh, visit and stay at Rijks!

Room Tip: All rooms are divine and well located. The cottages for families are lovely and the couples rooms are awesome.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Z2861IQjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Qjulie
Thank you for your lovely and kind words. We greatly appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We all are looking forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews