We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
African Tulip Guesthouse(Tulbagh)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa(Tulbagh)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Raptor Rise(Tulbagh)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manley Wine Lodge(Tulbagh)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montpellier De Tulbagh(Tulbagh)(Great Value!)
US$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel(Tulbagh)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edge of Town(Tulbagh)
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveller rating
221
86
24
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
86
24
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine tastingthe general managerwhite rosesfamily cottagefine diningsuperior roomseparate toiletceiling fanan art gallerycomfortable roomsstaff are very friendly and helpfulcourse dinnerunderfloor heatingwine estatewell worth a visitrooms are bignext morning
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 346 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

As locals, Rijks is one of our regular fine dining outings. Although the wine was great, as always, the new lunch menu was disappointing. I had the lamb pie, and although it tasted ok, it looked rather drab being someone’s version of a deconstructed something or another. My husband had the gourmet burger but it the patty was raw and by the time we got a replacement we had to leave. Hopefully our takeaway will be ok.
I hope that the menu goes back to matching the quality of the wine soon or we will have to find an alternative fine dining option.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan_Kruger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Susan_Kruger
Thank you for your review. It is always lovely to have our regular guests visit and enjoy their time with us, however I am disappointed to hear that your burger patty was raw. Please accept my humblest apologies for this. I can assure you that I have taken measures to ensure that the person responsible for this incident will not do this again! The lamb pie is deconstructed and I am glad that you enjoyed the flavours. Lunch is bistro style dining whereas dinner is fine dining. I would love for you to come back and try our lunch menu again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We enjoyed the most amazing weekend for my mother's 80th birthday. Rijks was top class in every way, the rooms comfortable and stylish and the breakfast absolutely delicious. Thanks for making our weekend extra special!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank snoopy147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear snoopy147
Thank you for your review. It was so special for us to be a part of your mom's 80th birthday celebrations. We really enjoyed hosting you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We drove the 125km just for lunch at Rijk's restaurants as we have been here 3 times over as many years and always had a wonderful meal.

Unfortunately, this time we didn't have such a good experience. We opted for 2 main courses - Soup & Calamari. The soup was the size of a normal starter portion and when it arrived it had a layer of skin on the top indicating it must have been standing for some time- quite off-putting. The calamari was quite tasty.

However, what struck us immediately was the sizes of the portions - both in our view were no larger that the portion you get for 'starters'. The rice with my calamari could be eaten in 3 or 4 mouthfuls and the calamari not much more!! All in all very disappointed especially since the calamari was ZAR170.

We chose to have a cheese platter afterwards for ZAR70 - again, it was an amazingly small portion - 2 small pieces of blue cheese, two pieces of the tiniest slivers of a camembert-type cheese and two sad rectangular slices of something approaching a red Leicester cheese. There were precisely 6 small biscuits to accompany the cheese and a tiny pot of figs (or something similar).

This was a disappointing visit especially since the restaurant sits on the edge of a nice vineyard with lovely views across the fields. We returned to Cape Town and headed for dinner soon thereafter as we were still very hungry.

Disappointed !

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank AwayfromParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear AwayfromParadise
Thank you for your review. I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy your meal like you have in the past. All I can do is apologize for this. The cheese plate is not a platter - it is a dessert portion so it would be smaller that our previous cheese platter was. But as for the other points that you have raised, we will look into these matters and rectify issues where necessary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We had a fantastic weekend, we loved waking around the vineyards and seeing the happenings of a wine farm. Beautiful birdlife around the dam and relaxing, peaceful afternoons reading by the pool. I had a brilliant massage in the spa which was such a treat. Good food and service.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dvdhickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear dvdhickman
Thank you for your lovely review of Rijk's Country House. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Very enjoyable stay. Staff friendly, courteous and welcoming. Beautiful quiet, country setting. Environment well maintained. Small library and art exhibit an extra. Bird life at dam. Loved snow on mountains. Close proximity to wine farms.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tonyvC5897ZC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear tonyvC5897ZC
Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews