We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rijks Country House
Ranked #3 of 17 Tulbagh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

The rooms, food, service and friendliness of the staff was excellent. Use to the buzz of the city, the quietness was really good for the soul. The surroundings is awesome. Take a walk to town - great experience!

Stayed: October 2017
Thank guestgI7829BF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear guestgI7829BF
Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

As locals, Rijks is one of our regular fine dining outings. Although the wine was great, as always, the new lunch menu was disappointing. I had the lamb pie, and although it tasted ok, it looked rather drab being someone’s version of a deconstructed something or another. My husband had the gourmet burger but it the patty was raw and by the time we got a replacement we had to leave. Hopefully our takeaway will be ok.
I hope that the menu goes back to matching the quality of the wine soon or we will have to find an alternative fine dining option.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan_Kruger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Susan_Kruger
Thank you for your review. It is always lovely to have our regular guests visit and enjoy their time with us, however I am disappointed to hear that your burger patty was raw. Please accept my humblest apologies for this. I can assure you that I have taken measures to ensure that the person responsible for this incident will not do this again! The lamb pie is deconstructed and I am glad that you enjoyed the flavours. Lunch is bistro style dining whereas dinner is fine dining. I would love for you to come back and try our lunch menu again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We enjoyed the most amazing weekend for my mother's 80th birthday. Rijks was top class in every way, the rooms comfortable and stylish and the breakfast absolutely delicious. Thanks for making our weekend extra special!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank snoopy147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear snoopy147
Thank you for your review. It was so special for us to be a part of your mom's 80th birthday celebrations. We really enjoyed hosting you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We drove the 125km just for lunch at Rijk's restaurants as we have been here 3 times over as many years and always had a wonderful meal.

Unfortunately, this time we didn't have such a good experience. We opted for 2 main courses - Soup & Calamari. The soup was the size of a normal starter portion and when it arrived it had a layer of skin on the top indicating it must have been standing for some time- quite off-putting. The calamari was quite tasty.

However, what struck us immediately was the sizes of the portions - both in our view were no larger that the portion you get for 'starters'. The rice with my calamari could be eaten in 3 or 4 mouthfuls and the calamari not much more!! All in all very disappointed especially since the calamari was ZAR170.

We chose to have a cheese platter afterwards for ZAR70 - again, it was an amazingly small portion - 2 small pieces of blue cheese, two pieces of the tiniest slivers of a camembert-type cheese and two sad rectangular slices of something approaching a red Leicester cheese. There were precisely 6 small biscuits to accompany the cheese and a tiny pot of figs (or something similar).

This was a disappointing visit especially since the restaurant sits on the edge of a nice vineyard with lovely views across the fields. We returned to Cape Town and headed for dinner soon thereafter as we were still very hungry.

Disappointed !

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank AwayfromParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear AwayfromParadise
Thank you for your review. I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy your meal like you have in the past. All I can do is apologize for this. The cheese plate is not a platter - it is a dessert portion so it would be smaller that our previous cheese platter was. But as for the other points that you have raised, we will look into these matters and rectify issues where necessary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We had a fantastic weekend, we loved waking around the vineyards and seeing the happenings of a wine farm. Beautiful birdlife around the dam and relaxing, peaceful afternoons reading by the pool. I had a brilliant massage in the spa which was such a treat. Good food and service.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dvdhickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear dvdhickman
Thank you for your lovely review of Rijk's Country House. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
1.8 km away
Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel
0.2 km away
Manley Wine Lodge
Manley Wine Lodge
#5 of 17 in Tulbagh
194 reviews
1.9 km away
Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Oudekloof Wine Estate & Guest House
3.7 km away
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
2.4 km away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 17 in Tulbagh
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rijks Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rijks Country House

Address: Van der Stel Street Ext. | Winterhoek Road, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Tulbagh
Price Range: R1 544 - R1 948 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rijks Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful Tulbagh valley, this exquisite four star country house offers travellers and day visitors an exceptional experience in both service and facilities with remarkable attention to detail and a graceful elegance. Rijk's Country House is situated on the eminent Rijk’s Wine farm, home to Rijk’s Private Cellar, five minutes from the centre of Tulbagh. High trees and an abundance of Iceberg roses welcome you onto the Estate from where you can see hills of vineyards set against the Obiqua and Winterhoek Mountains. Restored Cape Dutch style buildings are the frame-work within which you will experience classic furnishings and a warm and relaxed ambiance. Should you wish to sample or purchase wines from the Estate, enjoy the Polo wine bar and tasting room where visitors can sit around a large restored wooden table, or outside on the terrace with its incredible views of the valley. Otherwise, relax in the charming lounge where you will find a library of reading materials and a cosy fireplace. International and traditional cuisine coupled with impeccable service can be enjoyed in the hotel’s intimate restaurant, Que Sera, or at a high table in the private dining area, Mon Ami. Alternatively, the outside Iceberg terrace is the perfect place to relax whilst having a decadently large cup of coffee, a glass of wine or dining al-fresco overlooking the dam or under the stars. Luxury and Superior rooms and Family Cottages - evident of innovative design and stylish fittings – have their own private terrace overlooking a river - along which you will find a swimming pool, braai and lapa area, the French game of boules and hundreds of beautiful roses. In the evenings you can sit on your terrace and watch the sun set behind the surrounding mountains, leaving the vineyards and trees silhouetted by a brilliant pink and orange sky. Picnic on the banks of the river or enjoy a romantic walk through the vineyards and rose gardens. Explore the town with its quaint shops and restaurants, travel the surrounding wine routes, or – for the more adventurous – go hiking or horse-riding through the vineyards and up the mountains. An all-encompassing luxurious experience with a beautiful view out of every window, Rijk’s Country House is sure to leave you feeling rejuvenated, relaxed and like you have discovered a little piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Rijks Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing