We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
225
87
24
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
87
24
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine tastingthe general managerwhite rosesfamily cottagefine diningsuperior rooman art gallerylovely groundsseparate toiletceiling fancourse dinnerunderfloor heatingwine estatewell worth a visitnext morningrooms are spaciouscape dutch style
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Second time I've stayed there - it is a lovely escape from the City and not even far...love the farm feeling and ambience.Food was fantastic and their service is beyond any exoectation. The staff is very friendly and goes out of their way to delight you.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms closer to the Hotel to the chalets.But purely because I can watch TV from my bed.
Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 629margueritew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear 629margueritew
It was wonderful to have had you stay with us again. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Since we discovered this amazing country house by the name of Rijks Country House we went back several times to consume more of this lovely place, friendly staff, great food!, excellent wine from their own adjacent wine farm and much more...

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank deonl848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear deonl848
Thank you for your lovely words. Hopefully we will see you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We loved the tranquil surroundings, great food in the restaurant and fantastic pinotage made on the farm. Comfortable rooms. Short distance from Cape Town makes this a great weekend getaway for city slickers

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tertius_van_dijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear tertius_van_dijk
Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed the property. Tulbagh is just a hop, skip and jump from Cape Town and is an excellent break away destination. Looking forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Great location - we could walk through vineyards -great mountain views-very peaceful-excellent room-
very good service-staff was very helpful-great position to visit other vineyards in the vicinity-will definitely visit again- the Rijk's Pinotage must rate amongst the best in the country

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank driesv546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear driesv546
Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you had the opportunity to wonder through the vineyards and enjoy the award winning pinotage. It truly is an excellent wine. Next time you come through, maybe try the Pinotage 888. It is a real treat! We are all looking forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

We came back to Rijks after an amazing stay two years earlier. It might have just been our bad luck, but we really didn't enjoy the experience.

The location and views are absolutely amazing and the photo's on the website truly reflect what a beautiful place this is.

However, thats where the positives end!

Staff in the restaurant for both breakfast and dinner were either overly attentive (asking if 'everything was OK'? five times during one course) or disinterested entirely (me having to get my own cutlery). On one occasion at breakfast after taking my husbands plate away the waiter asked if the food was okay, but then reacted with a laugh when my husband said that the pork sausage was raw.

We were hoping for a wine tasting, but this did not happen as the manager was out for the afternoon.

Finally, staying at Rijks at the same time as a corporate conference was a big mistake, as the reception staff (who we had approached with out concerns) where too busy with the corporate guests to make time to hear our feedback.

Sadly wiill never return.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear Nicky H
Tripadvisor is a wonderful platform to share one's experiences with others. However, your review is a combination of two other reviews from different people (to the word and small detail). It is rather strange that two guests would comment on pork sausages and cutlery??? This leads us to wonder if you really did write about your experience here or if it is made up? According to your review you stayed in November when there was a conference in the hotel. Firstly your review is 7 months after departure and secondly we did not have a conference in November at the hotel. As you have stayed with us before you are aware the hotel is a separate entity to the wine estate therefore should you have wanted to have taste the wines you could have gone across to the wine cellar. I am saddened though that you will not return, we are going through such exciting changes at the moment. Pity that you will deny yourself the opportunity to experience them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews