We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 1 500
Fully refundable before Sat, 20 Apr
Expedia.com
R 1 292
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
R 1 292
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
97
22
5
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
97
22
5
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high ceilings glass of wine readers restaurant top class home away from home short stroll hearty breakfast went the extra mile other guests four poster bed church street lovely place cape town carol pj host beds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2023

We had a lovely overnight stay with Carol at Wittedrift. Carol made us feel especially welcome and it felt like a home away from home. Carol really went above and beyond, by sending us off with "padkos"! What a lovely gesture!

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tasia2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carol Collins, General Manager at Wittedrift Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Thank you for taking the time to write this review - and the kind words. Hope you enjoyed your time in our gorgeous valley. Safe travels and hope to see you next time you visit tulbagh. Thank you and kind regards Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2022

wow what a amazing welcome with a offer of a glass of wine - bed was awesome and the breakfast top class - the swimming pool clean and a little on the chilly side but the glass of wine was a winner - glean and comfortable

Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lanceq1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carol Collins, General Manager at Wittedrift Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Thank you for taking the time to write this review - and the kind words. Hope you enjoyed your time in our gorgeous valley. Safe travels and hope to see you next time you visit tulbagh. Thank you and kind regards Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2022

I can't rate Wittedrift Manor enough because they don't have enough stars. Carol and her team at the Manor went to great lengths to make my stay there a trip I will never forget. Everyone was amazing and the room was so large and spacious not to mention the four poster bed which was so hard to get out of every morning. But I did because Carol's breakfast just, got better and better as my 4 night stay went along. Carol made sure when I got back at 10:30pm that a home cooked meal was waiting for me and my fellow guests, I have never ever on any trip had that kind of home from home service. Carol myself and my other guests thank you and your team for treating us like the owners of the Maner. I will see you again but with my wife this time. You are all amazing and thank you for treating us like your family. Its also walking distance to central town and all it has to offer. Truly a memorable trip. See you soon.

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank PeterCochran
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carol Collins, General Manager at Wittedrift Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Thank you for taking the time to write this review - and the kind words. Hope you enjoyed your time in our gorgeous valley. Safe travels and hope to see you next time you visit Tulbagh with your wife. Special thanks for being a perfect guest thank you Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2022

friendly welcoming staff, clean comfortable room with high ceilings, delicious breakfast cooked by the host who shared stories about the town and house over breakfast - and a amazing art collection, the pool was refreshing and my first swim of the season,

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank axel111222
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carol Collins, General Manager at Wittedrift Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Thank you for taking the time to write this review - and the kind words. Hope you enjoyed your time in our gorgeous valley. Safe travels and hope to see you next time you visit tulbagh. Thank you and kind regards Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2022

Visited Wittedrift Manor House in February 2022, during a hard time of life. Carol had the human understanding and empathy which tells all about Carol and the Manor House. Having a travel business background, I have to say that Wittedrift is a jewel only 90 minutes from Cape Town! Is it fancy? Not is in a modern world. Does it have soul? YES Do you miss anything? NO. An Old classic Cape Dutch build with history, charm, and classic furniture with all you need. Imagine having your breakfast in the kitchen were Carol makes the breakfast in a setting that I never seen before as well as a nightcap after a great day in the area, of course also in the kitchen. “Down the road” Carol operates Readers Restaurant. Again, in a classic setting just a short stroll from Wittedrift Manor House. Honest, good food served in a relaxed way, no rush and fair priced. A great plus is that herbs are delivered from the local community garden, all fresh and organic. I know where I will be heading next time in SA.

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vikingsdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carol Collins, General Manager at Wittedrift Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2022

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and only a pleasure we could be part of your healing journey and create a atmosphere and space where you felt safe, relax and get ready to face the next challenges in your life - THANK YOU and hope your new job is the start of a new chapter in your life - be safe and travel safely and please keep in touch Kind regards Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews