We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
59
17
4
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
59
17
4
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high ceilings spacious rooms readers restaurant home away from home made us feel at home swimming pool other guests enjoyed our stay carol pj host art fireplace valley vine wine lounge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2020 via mobile

We liked it a lot here! Nice and friendly people, great little cottage with a big nice bed, sofa and kitchen. The refrigerator was even filled with things to eat if we would need before breakfast.
Nice to sit and chat with other guests during breakfast. Good food.
On arrival we were treated with a glas of vine that was refilld later at the pool side. What more can you wish for?

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank B5405LNevar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CollinsCarolJ, General Manager at Wittedrift Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2020

Dear Eva Thank you for this review - hope you enjoyed your time in Tulbagh and traveled safely. All the best for 2020 = thanks and kind regards Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2020 via mobile

Stunning all year round !
Thank you Carol and PJ !
We always feel at home ❗
Would definitely recommend to anyone on their way to Tulbagh!

Braai -
Pool -
Garden -
Food -
Art-
Decor-
Fun -

What more can we ask for !?
Views -

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank L1427OOrobinr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CollinsCarolJ, General Manager at Wittedrift Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Thank you for taking time to write this review and for staying with us in Tulbagh. - hope you enjoyed yourself in our gorgeous valley tasting the award winning wines and exploring Church Street - safe travels and all the best for 2020 - kind regards Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2019

If you love Art and an olde world feel, Wittetdrift is for you. The entire house is filled with paintings and collectable items that have been sourced over years by the owner PJ. Our room had a classic four poster bed and en suite bathroom and we shared a communal kitchen where guests could exchange chats over a cup of tea. Carol, served us a hearty breakfast in the mornings and was a walking tour-guide. She owns the lovely "Readers" restaurant, which is within easy walking distance. Carol went out of her way to make our stay pleasant and nothing was too much trouble for her.The property also has a swimming pool and a cosy seating area adjacent to the kitchen. Again, in both areas guests could relax in private or chat to other guests. We loved that the house was extremely conveniently placed and that we didn't feel isolated. A cozy stay indeed :)

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AudreyH1637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CollinsCarolJ, General Manager at Wittedrift Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Dear Audrey = thank you for taking time to write this review and for staying with us in Tulbagh = - hope you enjoyed yourself in our gorgeous valley - safe travels and all the best for 2020 - kind regards Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2019

We enjoyed our stay at Wittedrift, especially our friendly hostess Carol who made us feel at home as soon as we stepped in and continued for the rest of our stay. It's now going to become an annual visit

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CindyJ1476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CollinsCarolJ, General Manager at Wittedrift Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Dear Cindy = thank you for taking time to write this review and for staying with us in Tulbagh = hope you both felt refreshed after your few days in our gorgeous valley - safe travels and all the best for 2020 - kind regards Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2019 via mobile

We stayed at Wittedrift for two nights at the end of November and it was utterly superb. Our room was enormous with everything in it required to be a lady of the manor.

Hosts Carol and PJ are wonderful and we spent happy times in the gorgeous kitchen and on the back stoep overlooking the lush garden and sparkling pool, chatting.

Wittedrift is also perfectly positioned, within walking distance of everything Tulbagh has to offer. And this little town has a lot to offer!

We loved our stay and will be back!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ShinyBriony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CollinsCarolJ, General Manager at Wittedrift Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Dear Briony = thank you for taking time to write this review and for staying with us in Tulbagh = hope you and your family had a awesome festive season - hope you enjoyed yourself in our gorgeous valley - centrally situated so great for walking around the town - safe travels and all the best for 2020 - kind regards Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews