We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful desert experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dornogovi Province
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Rock Wilderness Camp
Reviewed 15 September 2016

You can choose the general Gobi tourist circuits with long daily drives and chatty companions, or you can choose to stay at this special little place in the East Gobi.

Red Rock Ger camp comprises 15 gers and a dining room ger, library ger and shower ger. The camp staff do not speak much English, but things manage to get done.

Your ger will have decent beds, chairs and a table, place for your luggage and a small wash stand. There is a stove in the middle which can be lit by request to the staff, for cold nights and/or mornings. The ger has a small solar powered light and a candle. You will need a torch light to see your way to the WC block at night.

The showers are lovely with water heated on a fire. It takes around 10-20 mins for them to get it set up, so you should let them know before hand.

The desert around here is mainly rocky with a little scrub vegetation. The camp manager organizes daily tours, such as a walking or driving tour to see wild life and historic sites. There are guided camel or horse tours which can be booked at a very reasonable price. If you are not used to camel riding, I would recommend the one hour or half day tour rather than the full day one.

The cook is very good and you will certainly enjoy and look forward to meal time! Breakfast features a range of items including cereal, bread, fruit, juice, cheese, fritters, yoghurt, blueberry jam, eggs and local sausages. Lunch and dinner starts with a lovely seasoned salad, followed by soup, mains and a little dessert - fruit or delicious home-made ice cream.

Car transfers are available from UB or you can take the train from UB and be picked up at the train station. The car transfers, which take around 4-5 hours, include a picnic lunch and a bottle of water.

The staff at the UB office are very good at organizing your visit and responding to email requests.

It is very quiet here, but the best place to unwind and just enjoy being in this special part of the Gobi. If you prefer an off the beaten track experience, then I would highly recommend Red Rock Wilderness camp.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 6 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2015

Delightful stay in a great camp where you live in a "luxury" Ger, eat delicious food and experience life in the desert. Camel Riding was a highlight. The toilet was clean and there was also a washbasin. The Camp has its own Ger where you can take a shower in warm water. The hosts were pleasant and helpful. I would recommend a stay here highly.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

Gorgeous sunset, picturesque landscapes and blue sky provide a good respite from city life!

The trek was excellent with the company of our guide, a team of dedicated trekking crew, comfortable royal ger and yummy meals.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Charl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015

Great place to stay and experience mongolian way of living, no tv, wifi, phone. Just nature and great company of the staff and livestocks of mongolia. The toilet is a hole in the ground covered by a shed. It is clean, but can be smelly to those used to city life. Not hot water supply, inform the staff that you like to hot water half an hour earlier so that they can boil it over camel dung :)



  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank joycel87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea P, Guest Relations Manager at Red Rock Wilderness Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

Dear guest and traveler,
Thank you very much for your comments.

Yes, our facilities are simple, but as you say clean and functional. For the benefit of other readers, we are a low impact camp, that means no running water, no generators, and no permanent structures. Toilets are a compost-style "hole in the ground” housed in a clean wooden cabin with comfortable seats and hand washing facilities. Our showers are housed in a traditional Mongolian ger and yes, water is heated by sun dried camel dung; the only locally available sustainable fuel in the Gobi.
This is all part of our approach to low impact, environmentally responsible tourism in Mongolia.

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay!

Best,
Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015

I got sick just before I arrived to Red Rock Ger camp, and I had to spend two days in bed. Well, after the circumstances, it could not have been better. The Ger was so nice and cosy, cool in the heat, and the staff looked after me with beverage and food, so friendly and caring. There were also a restaurant ger, a ger with shower, and a library ger. Luxurious!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank evau633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea P, Guest Relations Manager at Red Rock Wilderness Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2015

Dear guest and traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, it is highly appreciated.
I am very sorry that you were sick during your trip to Red Rock, but I am delighted to hear that the staff took good care of you and made your stay as nice as possible. I will share your kind comments with the team.
Again, thank you for your feedback!

Best,
Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Red Rock Wilderness Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rock Wilderness Camp

Address: Ikh Nart Nature Reserve, 44000, Mongolia
Region: Mongolia > Dornogovi Province
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Dornogovi Province
Price Range: R1 759 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 2009 Nomadic Journeys operates Red Rock Wilderness Camp at Ikh Nart, East Gobi - a unique blend of beauty and comfort. Stray away among the rock formations for the day or sit back in the gazebo and enjoy the beautiful evening sunsets over Gobi. The ger camp is seasonal in the summers, and is fully collapsible. It may be relocated leaving no more impact on the area than a herdsmen family would. It has 14 double occupancy gers and triples may be accommodated in these. There are also 2 family size gers, with one double bed and two singles. The gers have fire stoves, wooden floors and are beautifully decorated in traditional nomadic style with hand-crafted furnishings. Showers are provided in two separate gers. The shower ger has a fire stove, why it is warm and cozy. It is five-star camping at its best. Hiking is excellent and rewarding, with easy climbs on to the rocks, overlooking the amazing landscape. Mountain bikes, horses and camels are available for ride. The cool evening sunsets over Gobi are pleasant and rewarding. Your travel choice for Red Rock Wilderness Camp will assist the conservation efforts in the area, as it brings finances to the local economy and protection efforts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing