We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in the West Coast!!”

Thali Thali game lodge
Ranked #8 of 49 Restaurants in Langebaan
Price range: R 180 - R 269
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Thali Thali is a 1,460 hectare Cape West Coast game and fynbos reserve situated just off the R27 near Langebaan, just over 1 hours drive from Cape Town, bordering the West Coast National Park. The Cape West Coast is intoxicating and the Langebaan area with its beautiful lagoon has a charm that keeps people coming back year after year. Come and enjoy West Coast hospitality at its best while drinking in the most beautiful sunsets and night skies from our deck. The restaurant and bar is situated next to a boma and splash-pool which makes it cosy and comfortable with great views. Enjoy a lazy lunch in our garden, while the kids play in the splash pool or monkey around on the jungle gyms. Our food is true to our region, true to the tradition of South African cooking. Meals are beautifully displayed, and generous portions always leave our guests satisfied and excited to come back again. We offer buffets on Sundays, and our bread displays and platters are legendary. We also cater for conferences, celebrations and weddings and enjoy planning that special menu with our guests. We can cater for up to 60 guests in our cozy restaurant, but our marquee can accommodate up to 100 guests for those larger functions or weddings. A visit to Thali Thali offers the ideal laid-back West Coast style break-away - complete with game drives, archery lessons and sundowners on the deck for the not so adventurous. We boast a wide range of game like kudu, oryx, giraffe, red hartebeest, eland, zebra, sable, springbok, black wildebeest, duiker, bontebok, steenbok, ostrich, dromedary camel and emu. The reserve is also home to many different bird species and guests are welcome to enjoy a walk in the fynbos to view these creatures.
Reviewed 2 January 2021

Another wonderful and memorable stay in the Farmhouse! Third visit with kids and have only received the warmest hospitality, nothing was too much trouble for Amalia and her team. Would highly recommend a visit and be surprised by the wonderful wildlife on display. Accommodation was equipped with everything one could possibly need. Thank you!

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank roblZ5930YB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2020 via mobile

Did the self drive game drive and saw most of the animals they have. Enjoyed a little 4x4 driving at the same time😉
Had lunch in the restaurant and it was really good. Prices are more than reasonable and quality and quantity, excellent.
Due to “lockdown” did not see their wine list etc but they have a small bar and cost sitting area, next to reception.
Well worth a turn there, when driving on the R27 - better than the Wimpy.

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank D3173CVsteveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2020 via mobile

We went for a birthday lunch and left feeling quite disappointed. The setting of the restaurant is really beautiful and when you’re sitting outside on the patio you can enjoy the tranquility of the bush. The staff is very friendly and the service excellent, but that is unfortunately where it stops.
To start off- the alcohol free drinks were quite horrible and we were charged for the price of an alcoholic drink. My mojito was a lemon wannabe drink.
I ordered a Chicken Cordon Bleu, but got 2 chicken schnitzels with a piece of ham and cheese slapped together. This dish had absolutely nothing in common with an actual Cordon Bleu! The mushroom sauce was bland too.
The Hunter’s Choice was a better meal and the ribs were good, but nothing exceptional. I can recommend that you try the chips though. I could have had a plate of those and nothing else.
However, for dessert, we ordered a delightful sticky toffee pudding which softened the blow of the mediocre and disappointing experience.

Date of visit: July 2020
1  Thank DaleneDup
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
amaliaandthysv, Owner at Thali Thali game lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2020

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed the setting and staff at Thali Thali. We are, however, sorry that you were disappointed with your meal. We have specifically redesigned our Chicken Cordon Bleu to ensure a fresh, juicy, crunchy, home-made version of this dish. I support our chef 100% in her design, and I have myself enjoyed the dish on more than one occasion. Luckily the meals of your dining partners were enjoyed - and you are right - our chips are phenomenal! Unfortunately, we have found that the non-alcoholic drinks are priced at exactly the same prices as their alcoholic versions. We therefore have to charge the same. Our virgin cocktails are cheaper than the standard versions though.

We hope to see you again - even if it is just for a plate of chips and a sticky toffee pudding.

Have a lovely day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2020 via mobile

The food is superior, the service is of a very high standard. Our host was knowledgeable and polite.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank HenryJamesS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 December 2019

Very Professional, well informed and Friendly, helpful and accommodating.. We were a group of 43 ladies for a year-end function, and not one Sigle complaint. Food was simply superb.

Date of visit: November 2019
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank elizeauret2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Thali Thali game lodge also viewed

Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality
Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality
 
Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality
Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality
 

Been to Thali Thali game lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.