We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rugged and Fabulous”
Review of Die Strandloper

Die Strandloper
Ranked #4 of 49 Restaurants in Langebaan
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 1 April 2024 via mobile

This beach restuarant is literally a breath of fresh air. The set-up on the beach and rocks is rugged , fabulous and clean. The way the 10 course meals are prepared and served is well planned and executed without a glitch. There were large groups of families and /or friends who were entertained at each table by o e of the staff playing the guitar and getting everyone singing to your favorite songs.
I will definitely go back but with a bigger group.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank Protea_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2024

good value for money. would suggest some changes: like cape malay koeksisters rather than the sickly sweet one they serve and kreef kerrie rather than the bland seafood curry that was mostly potato and tinned tuna - The braai Kreef was bland - a real waste of an expensive product. still worth the experience and support. Also the the enamel mugs were rusted inside and they expect you must drink your drink from this. Toilets were dirty - this can be managed better. the higlights were the bread and jams and snoek and potatoe and sweet potato...

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Maps19961666969
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2024

This is a place for an unforgettable lunch experience. 10 courses of braaied fish, lobster being the last one. Everything is done over charcoal, including the delicious bread. Eating utensil is a half shell. Couldn't try every bit cause I was to full, but what I had was fabulous. The only downside is the Dixies round the back, but somehow there's no other way. Excellent location and very (!) friendly staff. Even suggested I can pay the next day. 10/10

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Thank L4603HYmikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 February 2024

This is a great idea for lovers of seafood and different experience in restaurant dining and day at the beach with the family

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 749arranh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2024

Ah, where to begin!

I booked a table for our December holidays in June already, because I had been dreaming about Strandloper's 10 course seafood menu for more than a year. 😭😭The food is sooo good! The 2 pot mussels: one pot of mussels in garlic and the other pot of mussels fresh and still in the shell, were fantastic. The bread was also freshly made and the jams to pair made me cut another slice as I finished the last one.

Then came the harder, the Snoek, the meat and corn stew, the Crab, the koeksusters, and all the other courses.

Ah, I LOVE Die Strandloper. Worth the visit, more than worth the price. Food was so good that I didn't even take any pictures 😑

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank KimWindvogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Die Strandloper also viewed

Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality
Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality
 
Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality
Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality
 

Been to Die Strandloper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.