We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor:Temporarily closed
Black Eagle Brewing Company
Open today: 12:00 - 18:00
Review Highlights
Beer Paradise

Great place to visit. Taste trays of 7... great way to get to know the beers. Board games... lovely... read more

Reviewed 25 December 2019
Johannesburg, South Africa
via mobile
Interesting little gem

I travel to Langebaan at least twice a year and always look for new places to visit - this little... read more

Reviewed 9 October 2019
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Read all 70 reviews
Recommended experiences in and around Langebaan
from US$209,71
More Info
from US$172,03
More Info
from US$224,69
More Info
from US$850,08
More Info
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2019 via mobile

Not very happy with this place! Visited at about 2.30 and were only visitors. First thing we were told was no food or nibbles available except crisps. Ordered one tasting and one 300 ml glass of lager for me. Neither of us liked most of the beers. Staff very pleasant but no tour of brewery offered. Waste of time. Wouldn't recommend a visit

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Geraldine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hugor317, Owner at Black Eagle Brewing Company, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2019

Hi Geraldine,
I am the co-owner of the establishment and was on duty on the day of your visit. To be clear - we are a beer tasting room and not a restaurant so we always only have a very limited food offering and most people are quite happy to nibble on a crisp while sipping their beer. Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the beers. May I ask: Did you tell us that you didn't enjoy the beers? If you did and the word didn't reach me then I apologize and I will have a word with my co-worker about this. Had I known that you didn't enjoy the beers, I would not have charged you for them as you didn't like most of them. We are a tiny nano-brewery with serious space constraints and cannot offer tours because our space is multi purpose and functional most of the time. I am sorry that you wasted your time but I am grateful that you describe our staff as pleasant. Thankfully for us most people love the experience and the beer and see us for what we are and for what we're trying to do. I hope you find many better breweries on your travels with food and tours.
Hugo Roux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2019 via mobile

Definitely worth visiting even if you are not a beer drinker!!

The beer selection on offer can cater for any preferences (tasting paddles are a great way to start). The nibbles and tapas were very tasty and extremely ‘morish’ (we had seconds of the guacamole and biltong chips).

The experience was always friendly and interactive - the owner showed genuine interest on our beer tasting thoughts and even indulged us when we asked for a blend of two beers (which actually balanced te hops and malt characters of the beers amazingly!!).

All in all, a must go.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Monstita
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 December 2018 via mobile

Awesome vibe, can stay and enjoy a wonderful afternoon with craft beer and card games. Snack options too.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank carla_wino
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

Thanx Hugo for the warm reception. Hugo is a great host, always willing to chat about his beers and advise on future tastings. I can advise any avid beer drinking to vist black eagle. Cheers to many more visits.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Curiosity06807135737
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Langebaan - small local brewed beer at the West Coast. Best in the West. "Moedersmelk" is my personal favourite. Craft beer at its best. Small but friendly and warm environment with attentive staff. Ideal visit for a hot summers day! Each beer has its own unique taste. Some light and almost fruity with others darker and heavier in taste.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Mier0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews