We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“my little paradise”

Review of Casa Fantone

the villa from the private pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the villa from the private pool
cypress entering the property the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
the villa from the private pool
cypress entering the property
the kitchen
the ground level bedroom
the wide private garden and park around the villa
Private pool
ground level bathroom
an outside dining table
the living room
the private garden with grape trees and olive trees
children football field and swings in the winter
private entry road
half bigbedroom
a bathroom
another corner of the kitchen
the villa from the entry side
the green bedroom
the hammocks under a big old oak
The entry gate to the villa.
a part of the wide and private garden and park around the villa
loggia
ideal place to watch the sunrise
a corner of the private pool in May
big bedroom
the villa from the organic vegetable garden
a new BBQ
the new stone stairs to the pool
children football field
stairs to the pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Poppi, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Orlando01
Hannut, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“my little paradise”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

"My little paradise" is the way Gianfranco calls the property and he is right and he is the "guardian angel".
First of all, what a welcome! Gianfranco is a perfect host and gives a lot of information about the region, the property and the excellent bio vegetables from his garden, and he offered us to eat some of them. On top of, he offered some olive oil (very sweet! we bought some to take home) and home made honey (also waw) and a bottle of wine.

The house itself is very comfortable, very authentic and lots of space, very healthy house as well. And with an exceptional view!
From a practical side some remarks (I hesitated in giving 4 or 5, but decided to give a 5 finally, because there are some many wonderful aspects): we cooked often at home, but we were only 5 and I am not sure it is still comfortable to cook yourself when you are much more people. We didn't find how to make the oven work and the light above the cooking plate did only work from time to time. The wifi doesn't work very well, but that obliges you to be in vacation!

The nice and well kept garden invites you to spend some time over the place. Clean swimming pool. Pets are allowed and my dog was in heaven in this garden! The house is situated outside the center of Poppi, which makes it a little bit further from everything, but assures you very good nights, as it is perfectly calm.

The region is not as touristic as the region around Sienna and San Gimignano, but we enjoyed visiting Poppi, the abbey where Franciscus from Assisi lived, Sansepulchro but also Arezzo. Compared to Sienna and certainly Firenze, which you can also visit from there (we did), this is still a place where you can breath as it is not as touristic. Nice walks to make also, for those who appreciate nature.

We were not lucky with the weather, we had quite cold weather for September I believe, but maybe this place is also always a little bit colder then Firenze or Sienna, as it is more situated between the mountains.

To summarize: we would absolutely recommend the place, but maybe a little bit more in summer to be sure of the weather. Despite the not so good weather, we had a wonderful time, also our dog, who didn't want to leave... We hope to go back some time...Thanks Gianfranco for your kindness!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, which is wonderful and the calm
Liked least: the kitchen utensils
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalinMark...
Skane County, Sweden
1 review
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Casa Fantone had everything we wanted and more. We were a large group of 11 people (with two small children) and we spent 1 week at the villa. Wonderful hospitality, great surroundings, beautiful interiors and all the commodities you need. We spent alot of time looking for the right holiday home for our group and I am sure that we found the best place in Tuscany. I acctually think that it is even more beautiful than in the pictures.

Easy to get to from Florence by car. Close to places to buy groceries. We loved the little restaurant in Quota (Osteria dela Sasso) just 2 km from the villa. We actually took the bikes there (the bikes you can borrow at Cassa Fantone... Did I say it had evetything we needed?!).

The small nearby town of Poppi is worth a visit!

We are going to come here again as soon as possible!

/Malin

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki W
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Italian holiday!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Casfantone and Gianfranco and his wife gave us the most wonderful experience of life in Tuscany. The house and it's surrounded garden and views are spectacular,perfectly presented and authentic. We stayed together with our adult children, their spouses and some good friends for one week and loved it. Especially being able to prepare all our meals in the wonderful big farm house kitchen and even more to be able to cook our own pizzas, pork, lamb,chicken,vegetables in the 200 year old pizza oven on the balcony out from the kitchen, all over looking the fabulous view of the valley and villages below. Just idealistic Italian experience for us New Zealanders who love to cook our own good food, but every dish this week was Italian...with pizza dough made by our son who perfected it by the end of the week, and never has pizza tasted so good, an eaten outside in Casfantone garden.
Gianfranco was so hospitable, giving us figs, honey,home grown vegetables and even delivered delicious home prepared tomato bruschetta for breakfast one morning.
We also loved to walk to the village of Gianfranco, San Martino, in the valley below, absolutely stunning...don't miss it! Enjoy a cappuccino made in the wee shop and then walk back through the olive terraces.
We will remember this time together in such a lovely place for ever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pizza oven
Liked least: Not enough tea towels
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wereldrei...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Paradise.......”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Thirteen years ago we stayed in Casa Fantone as one of the very first guests and ever since we wanted to go back. In April 2012, we were able to book a two week holiday for the summer of 2013.
We arrived after a long drive and when we saw Gianfranco Dei and Casa Fantone we knew we did the right thing to go back.
The house, which is literally in the middle of nowhere, is excellently maintained with olive trees, lawns, fruit trees and a vegetable garden around it.
The house has a nice big kitchen with a long table which can easily seat ten people, dish washer, stove and oven.
There is a small living room with tv and WiFi, three double bedrooms, one four bed room and two bathrooms with a wash basin, shower, toilet and bidet. There is a laundry room with a washing machine, ironing board and iron and a sports room in which there are two work out options, four bikes and pillows for the lounge chairs. All windows of the house have mosquito nets.
In front of the house is an outdoor shower, there is a play field for basket ball, a little swing and slide for the little ones, and under the roof of the house is a soccer game and a ping pong table and then there is the swimming pool...
It almost is an infinity pool with a beautiful view over the valley, and you can see eagles circling in the sky and swallows come to drink..
Gianfranco is a great host and he invited us for a very niceTuscan breakfast which we enjoyed a lot! He brought us fresh fruit from the trees and we were encouraged to take vegetables from the garden..yummy! When we were one week in the house there were two baskets in front of the house with clean sheets and towels as well as a basket of peaches...great isn't it?
The house is very spacious -- it has many areas to sit so you can be there with a group of people and there is always a place to sit in private..like laying for example in the hammocks below the pool.

This review can unfortunately not describe enough how much we enjoyed the holiday....it was great and I look forward to a next time.
Thank you Gianfranco!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from Casa Fantone and the silence
Liked least: To leave Casa Fantone was hard....but until a next time..
Travelling group: Tieners
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fran T
Otley, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful house - wonderful views - wonderful host!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We arrived at Casa Fantone around 9pm and the lovely Gianfranco was waiting for us patiently (we were about an hour and a half later than we'd originally hoped!), and after showing us the basics, made sure we got to a restaurant in Bibienna for an evening meal which was much appreciated. We were a large group of 6 adults and 5 children and the house catered for all our needs and more, with a pool and views to die for, and fruit and veg in abundance. Our host was 'on hand', but in a non-obtrusive way if we had any queries, and welcomed us to his home for a delicious breakfast one morning. We wanted a peaceful and relaxing retreat and we surely got this at Casa Fantone! We were quite happy to explore locally, but also got to Arezzo, Siena, Florence, San Gimogiano and Monterigionni - make sure that you leave plenty of time for travelling though!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning views from the house, the lovely pool and fresh produce from the gardens.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing