We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rum & Kai -- A 'must-stay' place for quiet...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Retreat complex viewed from Caribbean
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Retreat complex viewed from Caribbean
Map to the Retreat at Rum Point Aerial view of the Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
The Retreat complex viewed from Caribbean
Map to the Retreat at Rum Point
Aerial view of the Retreat
The Unit's Building
Rum and Kai's 3rd Floor Walk-up Entrance
Rum and Kai 3rd Floor Walk-up Entrance
Walkway Path to Unit Entrance
Front Entrance
Convenient Lock Box for Keys
Oceanside Exterior Location of Rum and Kai
Ocean View from Lanai Facing Due North
Westerly Lanai Ocean View
Lanai Easterly Ocean View
Beach Entrance with Rental Kayaks
Plenty of Sun or Shade on the Beach
Star in your own Corona Commercial
Typical Beach Crowd
Your Own Private Beach
Beach from the Point
Shady Casuarina Trees
Rum Point Pier
Spacious Master Bedroom
Plenty of storage in the Master Bedroom
Kitchen with Everything
Kitchen with Dishwasher, Oven Microwave, Refrigerator, Blender, Coffee Maker, Toaster and more
Living Area
Living Area
Living Area
Dining Area
Bathroom
Shower and Tub
Bathroom
Full-Size Washer and Dryer in Unit
Lanai with Dining and Lounging Area
Lanai at Night
The Pool, Gym and Management Office
Pool with Jacuzzi Jets
Pool Area
Pool Complex at Night
Pool at Night
Retreat's Game Room and Gym
Retreat's Gym and Game Room
Tennis Court
Snorkeling at the Rum Point Boulder Coral Garden just out the door
Snorkeling on the house reef
Snorkeling on the house reef
Snorkeling on the house reef
Snorkeling on the way to the house reef
Sting Ray City Sandbar trips leave from the Pier
Get up close and personal with a Ray!
North Wall Diving
Bio-luminescent Cove across the Street
Nearby Crystal Caves to Explore
Starfish Beach near Kaibo
Hammock at the Neighboring Rum Point Club
Water Sports Rentals at the Rum Point Club
The Wreck Beach Bar next door
The Wreck Beach Bar next door
Neighboring Rum Point Club Dinner Restaurant
Kaibo Restaurant and Bar (1 mile down the road)
On-Site Management Office
Floor Plan
Retreat Site Map
Evening Fireworks
Perfect End to the Day
View flying back home :-((
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rum Point, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

CharChar2...
Newark, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rum & Kai -- A 'must-stay' place for quiet relaxation, beautiful condo!”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
7
people found this review helpful

We have been going to the Caribbean for 30 years now, but always stayed at hotels. First time staying in a person's condo....and we were a bit hesitant. As soon as we walked into the condo, we "broke" into a big smile and were so pleased with our choice. Matt and Tracey have thought of EVERYTHING one might need on vacation -- and then some! The unit was extremely clean, very spacious, very quiet (no noise from other units), beautiful view. We loved sitting on the screened-in porch. We do not like the crowds of 7-mile Beach (we did that before), and wanted a quieter area - perfect place to choose. Water was very calm, easy to snorkel. Having RUM POINT right next door (but separated from us) was ideal for going over to their Monday Night Barbeque (delicious)...and for a couple lunches. Walked to Kaibo Yacht Club (delicious brick-oven pizza and awesome milkshakes)....very tasty pastries from their breakfast Espresso Shop. Did the Bioluminescent Kayak Tour (from right next door at Rum Point). Toured the Botanical Gardens - delightful. Walked the Mastic Trail (both ways) - what an experience, and so glad I ventured out of my comfort zone to do this. Left my cell phone when we departed, but it was mailed back to us with no problems. If you want a place where you can truly relax, be extremely comfortable with the facilities (the condo, the grounds, the beach), then Unit #13, Rum + Kai, is the place! You will not be disappointed. One side-note: the people of Grand Cayman are very, very friendly. We got a rental car and were driving to The Retreat - my map-reading was poor!! - and the driving instructions from the Managment Company and Matt/Tracey were in the back-seat. Oh -- we can do this! Well - we were confused, but had a very friendly man on a motorcycle stop and escort us most of the way there! You don't get service like that in the United States....or many places! But we found the people of Grand Cayman to be among the friendliest of any island we have visited. Thanks again, Matt and Tracey -- we hope we are lucky enough to visit Grand Cayman again....and especially Rum + Kai.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The thoughtfulness of the owners in providing all the extras one might want
Liked least: The fact that I had to leave after our week's stay! ;)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colettes...
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed here for spring break this past week and lets just say, it was difficult to leave this condo, weather and island. We fell in love with the outstanding snorkeling right outside and the quiet and uncrowded beach right outside our doorstep.
The owners have a beautifully decorated space that was spotless. They have thought of all the comforts of home and then some. We typically stay at all inclusive resorts however, we loved this condo and would definitely come back to stay. The weather was perfect while we were there and couldn't have asked for more. So glad we chose to be away from 7 mile beach and have this place to call home for the week.
We used Red Sail Sports next door for dive trips and other excursions, Walter and Fozzy were exceptional men to deal with. We also did the bio luminescent Kayak tour next door and it was a little disappointing. We had lunch at Tukka, Kurts Corner and Over the Edge and all were good places to eat. The lighthouse Sunday brunch was spectacular and the Lobster Pot was a nice dinner.
The island was simple enough for us to get around and Matt and Tracys detailed instructions were much appreciated. We will definitely recommend to friends.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
345LuLu34...
Minden, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of staying at The Retreat early in January. I can not say enough good about The Retreat and Lucky Condo #13. We were looking for rest and relaxation and that is exactly what we got. The beach area is perfect for relaxing, lounging...and snorkeling! We did LoTS of snorkeling! Right off of the beach area around The Retreat was some of the best, easiest and most varied marine life! The condo lacked nothing! Clean, fresh, relaxing, excellent view....comfy bed, LOTs of towels...perfect. Thanks!

Date of stay: January 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne M
Davidson, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Beautiful”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This condo has it all! The screened in porch has a beautiful view with comfortable furniture to relax all day. The bed was very comfortable also and there was plenty of room in the condo to spread out. We enjoyed the beach and the snorkeling outside the door. They do a wonderful job of providing all the basics you may need so you can relax and enjoy yourself.
The Retreat is a quiet get away from 7 Mile Beach with beautiful sunrises and sunsets. The Wreck next door is a great place to have a drink or meal and the view can't be beat! We can't wait to go back again.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Matt and Tracey are very easy to work with.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
728bernar...
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great home away from home”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great location with lots to do close by. Put on your snorkel gear and just go right out. Go next door and book your visit to sting ray city. Local restaurants and secluded beaches with snorkel-tunities are nearby. The condo is a 3rd floor walk up, is modern and well-appointed, and is in a very well-maintained development. Wi-fi worked very well and the HBO connection allowed us to watch the season finale of Game of Thrones. Great way to relax after a day on the water. The kitchen is nice, well equipped, and conducive to cooking enjoyable meals. The outdoor charcoal grills proved useful too. The screened in porch was a nice place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine at night. One of the greatest features? The quality king-sized bed in the master bedroom. It was absolute bliss. Thank you so much. Yes, we want large comfortable beds when we travel.

Date of stay: June 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.