We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful time at Rum Point!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Retreat complex viewed from Caribbean
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Retreat complex viewed from Caribbean
Map to the Retreat at Rum Point Aerial view of the Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
The Retreat complex viewed from Caribbean
Map to the Retreat at Rum Point
Aerial view of the Retreat
The Unit's Building
Rum and Kai's 3rd Floor Walk-up Entrance
Rum and Kai 3rd Floor Walk-up Entrance
Walkway Path to Unit Entrance
Front Entrance
Convenient Lock Box for Keys
Oceanside Exterior Location of Rum and Kai
Ocean View from Lanai Facing Due North
Westerly Lanai Ocean View
Lanai Easterly Ocean View
Beach Entrance with Rental Kayaks
Plenty of Sun or Shade on the Beach
Star in your own Corona Commercial
Typical Beach Crowd
Your Own Private Beach
Beach from the Point
Shady Casuarina Trees
Rum Point Pier
Spacious Master Bedroom
Plenty of storage in the Master Bedroom
Kitchen with Everything
Kitchen with Dishwasher, Oven Microwave, Refrigerator, Blender, Coffee Maker, Toaster and more
Living Area
Living Area
Living Area
Dining Area
Bathroom
Shower and Tub
Bathroom
Full-Size Washer and Dryer in Unit
Lanai with Dining and Lounging Area
Lanai at Night
The Pool, Gym and Management Office
Pool with Jacuzzi Jets
Pool Area
Pool Complex at Night
Pool at Night
Retreat's Game Room and Gym
Retreat's Gym and Game Room
Tennis Court
Snorkeling at the Rum Point Boulder Coral Garden just out the door
Snorkeling on the house reef
Snorkeling on the house reef
Snorkeling on the house reef
Snorkeling on the way to the house reef
Sting Ray City Sandbar trips leave from the Pier
Get up close and personal with a Ray!
North Wall Diving
Bio-luminescent Cove across the Street
Nearby Crystal Caves to Explore
Starfish Beach near Kaibo
Hammock at the Neighboring Rum Point Club
Water Sports Rentals at the Rum Point Club
The Wreck Beach Bar next door
The Wreck Beach Bar next door
Neighboring Rum Point Club Dinner Restaurant
Kaibo Restaurant and Bar (1 mile down the road)
On-Site Management Office
Floor Plan
Retreat Site Map
Evening Fireworks
Perfect End to the Day
View flying back home :-((
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rum Point, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

LouieR567
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful time at Rum Point!”
Reviewed 15 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I returned to Grand Cayman for our second visit in March 2013. During our first trip to Grand Cayman we stayed at 7-Mile Beach, however took 2 day trips to the North Side of the island. We enjoyed the quiet, crowd-less, low-key atmosphere and decided on our second trip to stay at Rum Point at Rum & Kai #13. What a great choice we made! Matt & Tracey have thought of every little detail and the condo is furnished perfectly. The Retreat management was great too and they definitely spend a lot of time and effort to keep the property beautiful. We were able to have breakfast and lunch at our leisure in the condo (Ioved the screened in porch) and go out for dinner/drinks. The beach was amazing - clean and not crowded with fantastic snorkeling, chaise lounges, grills nearby and the Rum Point beach club next door when we were ready for a mudslide! We had such a fantastic time that we are already planning our trip back to Rum Point in 2014! Thank you, Matt & Tracey, for sharing your amazing condo with us!!

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Screened-in porch, snorkeling, the furnishings, coffee grinder & fresh conch!
Liked least: Nothing!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shgr8esca...
Monument, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Location and Snorkeling Cannot be Beat at Rum and Kai”
Reviewed 10 April 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed 4 nights at the Rum and Kai (#13 at The Retreat) in January. First, I must comment about the amazing customer service from Matt and Tracey. We had originally booked to stay at Rum and Kai in January 2012. Two days before we were scheduled to leave for Grand Cayman, we had a family emergency and had to cancel our trip. Rather than losing the deposit, Matt let us use it for a stay anytime in the next year. On top of the great information documents the owners provide, this is some of the best service we have ever seen.

Some notes about the condo itself: very clean and well taken care of, wonderful view, comfortable bed. The kitchen is well stocked, as we made breakfast every morning and never wanted for anything. Yes, it is on the third floor and when running back and forth with beers/snacks to watch the sunset it can get a bit exhausting, but nothing too strenuous. It is back from the ocean a bit, but there is still an unencumbered view of the ocean from the screened porch. We noticed we didn’t get the cooling sea breezes through the condo at night like we did down at the Sea Lodges, but with AC this was not a problem at all.

This was our second time to the North Side and it is hands down our favorite part of the island. The condo is in a good location, with great snorkeling very close by. Testudo’s guides are obviously printed out in the condo and are invaluable for snorkeling enthusiasts. A car is essential, especially if you want to travel around to other snorkel spots. This trip it was very windy on the north side, so we ended up snorkeling Eden Rock, 7 Mile Beach, and Governor Russell Beach on different occasions. Smith Cove was too rough and the visibility was virtually zero, which was surprising. We did do the Rum Point float again this trip which is a great ride. This trip we enjoyed dining at the Italian Kitchen, Calypso Grill, Over the Edge, and the Kaibo Beach BBQ. All are great and unique in their own way.

For great snorkeling, away from the crowds, and close to good restaurants, the North Side and The Retreat can’t be beat.

Date of stay: January 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singawing...
Wilmington, DE
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rum and Kai was everything and more”
Reviewed 11 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We just returned from a week at a very quiet and relaxing retreat. The Rum and Kai condo was extremely well maintained. It was outfitted with so many items, enough to fill a regular home. The accommodations were very comfortable. Wifi was a great way to stay in touch with home. I especially liked the view from the lanai. There were other folks in our building, but we never heard a peep from them. The pool was a little too chilly for us, but it was always so clean. The weather was fairly windy during our visit, so we were limited on the shore snorkeling on the North Side. We did find quiet water on the South Shore in large part due to the extensive snorkeling guide provided in the condo. Huge thanks for that!. The local restaurants were fun to visit too. Renting a car is essential as this condo is ~45 min from the airport. It also provides a great excuse to tour the entire island. If you are looking for a quiet retreat far away from the hustle and bustle of 7Mile beach, then you have found your spot at Rum and Kai!

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the lanai
Liked least: excessive wind
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penny50
minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wish we could've Stayed longer”
Reviewed 3 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most enjoyable week at Rum and Kai #13. From the time we made the first inquiry to checking out after 7 days we felt everything was wonderful. Matt and Tracey answered all of our questions in a timely manner. The condo was perfect. It is well stocked with anything you would need. Plenty of towels and kitchen supplies and pretty much anything you didn't think you needed but were glad they thought of it.. It is located on the 3rd floor so it may be difficult for some to climb the steps but with that comes a gorgeous view overlooking the ocean. We enjoyed beers and wine on the screened in porch and being out after the sun goes down with the no-see-ems and mosquitos that came in very handy.
The shore is sandy/rocky. You will need to wear water shoes when walking on the beach. The sad part is all the garbage that has washed up on the shore. As we walked along the beach and checked out other beaches it is everywhere. The condo is on a more remote part of the island. We found wonderful places to eat and I highly recommend Kurt's Korner (save room for the key lime pie.).Kaibo Bar B Que on Tuesdays. The food wasn't that great on other days. Over the Edge and Italian Kitchen (order the garlic knots and sticky toffee pudding).were excellent also.
The snorkeling was good. Although their is a good current out there. My husband went diving with Red Sail and did Snorkeling/sting ray tour with them. They were an excellent company to work with and are right next door to the condo. We did drive a short distance from the condo to Star Fish Beach. We brought our snorkeling equipment (there is some in the condo too.). We packed a cooler from the condo and enjoyed a lunch under the palm trees. We did see a couple of star fish while snorkeling.
Thank you Matt and Tracey for an enjoyable week.
Thank you for knowing what anyone would want or need for a vacation in Paradise!

Date of stay: January 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The condo was clean and had everything you could possible need.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry H
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The perfect get away from it all.”
Reviewed 21 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I recently returned from a week stay at the Rum & Kai and EVERYTHING positive in the past reviews is true. Everything you need is provided. The view from the lanai (us midwestern US folks call that a screened porch) was fantastic. We enjoyed our breakfast and bed time beverages there throughout our stay.

For anyone that is new to snorkeling, this is the best place to give it a try. I waded in the water offshore about 20 to 40 feet in water about 4 feet deep and just floated with my face in the water. I saw at least 20 different fish in about 30 minutes. It was like swimming in an aquarium. Make sure that you wear something on your feet - there are some wicked rocks hiding in that sand.

If you want to get away from the crowds and enjoy the best of Grand Cayman, this is the place. Don't let the drive from Georgetown scare you. It's worth it.

Date of stay: November 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything you need is provided and the privacy of the beach.
Liked least: Leaving to go back home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.