We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our Cayman vacation”
other travellers have booked this property
The Retreat complex viewed from Caribbean
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Retreat complex viewed from Caribbean
Map to the Retreat at Rum Point Aerial view of the Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
The Retreat complex viewed from Caribbean
Map to the Retreat at Rum Point
Aerial view of the Retreat
The Unit's Building
Rum and Kai's 3rd Floor Walk-up Entrance
Rum and Kai 3rd Floor Walk-up Entrance
Walkway Path to Unit Entrance
Front Entrance
Convenient Lock Box for Keys
Oceanside Exterior Location of Rum and Kai
Ocean View from Lanai Facing Due North
Westerly Lanai Ocean View
Lanai Easterly Ocean View
Beach Entrance with Rental Kayaks
Plenty of Sun or Shade on the Beach
Star in your own Corona Commercial
Typical Beach Crowd
Your Own Private Beach
Beach from the Point
Shady Casuarina Trees
Rum Point Pier
Spacious Master Bedroom
Plenty of storage in the Master Bedroom
Kitchen with Everything
Kitchen with Dishwasher, Oven Microwave, Refrigerator, Blender, Coffee Maker, Toaster and more
Living Area
Living Area
Living Area
Dining Area
Bathroom
Shower and Tub
Bathroom
Full-Size Washer and Dryer in Unit
Lanai with Dining and Lounging Area
Lanai at Night
The Pool, Gym and Management Office
Pool with Jacuzzi Jets
Pool Area
Pool Complex at Night
Pool at Night
Retreat's Game Room and Gym
Retreat's Gym and Game Room
Tennis Court
Snorkeling at the Rum Point Boulder Coral Garden just out the door
Snorkeling on the house reef
Snorkeling on the house reef
Snorkeling on the house reef
Snorkeling on the way to the house reef
Sting Ray City Sandbar trips leave from the Pier
Get up close and personal with a Ray!
North Wall Diving
Bio-luminescent Cove across the Street
Nearby Crystal Caves to Explore
Starfish Beach near Kaibo
Hammock at the Neighboring Rum Point Club
Water Sports Rentals at the Rum Point Club
The Wreck Beach Bar next door
The Wreck Beach Bar next door
Neighboring Rum Point Club Dinner Restaurant
Kaibo Restaurant and Bar (1 mile down the road)
On-Site Management Office
Floor Plan
Retreat Site Map
Evening Fireworks
Perfect End to the Day
View flying back home :-((
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rum Point, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Ohio
Reviewed 15 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GaryD6959
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Far from the maddening crowd.”
Reviewed 19 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a relaxing week at Rum & Kai. It was everything it was described as being in the previous TripAdvisor reviews--and more. The unit was immaculate and well stocked with everything you could ever need. The small beach at the Retreat was perfect for sunbathing and snorkeling. The grounds were well kept and the staff was friendly and helpful. My wife and I couldn't have been happier. Anyone looking for a relaxed, laid back getaway should definitely consider The Retreat, and Rum & Kai is the perfect one-bedroom unit. We heartily recommend Rum & Kai and will certainly book it again when we return to Grand Cayman.

Date of stay: February 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unit itself--clean and well provisioned.
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linus902
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“quiet spot with great view”
Reviewed 6 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second time we have stayed in this unit. We like the top floor end location-very quiet with great view. The unit is very well equipped and lacks nothing. We would not hesitate to recommend to anyone. The only downside was it was quite windy during our stay making it hard to enjoy the beach.

Date of stay: January 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: well equipped and quiet unit
Liked least: windy conditions
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crabita
Powell River, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 22 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

If you want to stay at Rum Point, this is the place to stay. The property is great and the owners are even better! Air Canada did a schedule change and didn't bother to let us know. (Surprise, surprise). We contacted the owners and we pushed our dates by 3 days..no problem. Thanks again! Management office was very polite and helpful.

The condo is really nice, but I am not going to just repeat what everyone has said....its all true. Great location, big kitchen and porch. We traveled with our 3 year old daughter, who loved the beach and the pool (we always had the pool to ourselves). She always found new friends to play with at Rum Point next door, and spent the day playing in the water and digging in the sand. No big waves or rip currents to worry about. Bugs were not a problem. There was a steady breeze 24 hours a day and the porch is fully screened in so we had most meals at home.

We ate out only a couple of times and would highly recommend Tukka's down at the East end of the island. Kaibo is okay for lunch as is the Rum Point burger shack. We also tried the restaurant next door and it was fine. Groceries can be purchased at East end (about a 25 minute drive) and there is a liquor store there too.

I am an avid snorkeler so this is for you folks. Visibility and current seem to be wind driven. We had a few days with light breezes and the visibility was great. It is a long swim out to the reef,but there are coral gardens closer in. There are marker bouys to use as reference points but they are still a good swim out. If you are not a confident swimmer, stay closer to shore. I was able to see many lobster, various types of rays, grouper, snapper, barracuda, a nurse shark, angelfish and puffers. I even spotted a flying Gunard (see photo). There was lots of corals and the reef seemed very healthy.

This was our first time to Grand Cayman and would do it all over again (and will). It is expensive (food, drinks, gas) but by eating in and bringing some things with you from home you can save a bundle.

Date of stay: November 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Condo is open and airy. Doesn't feel cramped.
Liked least: Still trying to find something to dislike!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An awesome location to a secluded beach and some of the best snorkeling I've experienced.”
Reviewed 14 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The condo had everything we wanted--Most importanlty was the views, beach access and the best snorkeling right around the property. Directly next door was Red Sail Sports that offered sun set cruises and a trip to Stingray City which we highly reccomend both trips. Also next store was the Rum Point Club that offered water sports and an excellent restaurant for dining outside which we ate at several times.

While on the beach we were often the only people around to enjoy the spectacular setting with palm trees and the most amazing crystal clear waters.

The condo also had everything you could want from great linens to everything you could want in a kitchen. There was a great TV which we actually never turned on as well as the wireless internet which we actually used alot to keep up with everything going on at work and home.

We can't wait to return next year!

Date of stay: August 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and access to beach and snorkeling!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.