We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (534)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
191
217
79
23
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
217
79
23
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach grillthe oriental restaurantsmall resortrooftop barair canadasteak sandwichmonarch restaurantst luciaa la carte restaurantsate at the italianland and seawater pressurebeautiful islandbath towelsegg stationpigeon islandlimbo dancers
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 533 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Following a long transfer from the airport (1 hour 40 minutes), we were warmly greeted by Crystal and handed a welcome rum punch! Check-in was smooth and we were soon shown to our spacious second floor air-conditioned room, which was cleaned daily and towels were changed as often as we wanted. The bathroom was a little snug but perfectly adequate with a good size shower and plenty of surface space for all the necessary creams and lotions! The balcony, which had room for two chairs and a table, overlooked the well-kept gardens, pool and sea beyond. A handy large safety-deposit box is located in the wardrobe (this was free although details of our credit card were taken at check-in but no actual payment taken).

Breakfast, lunch and dinner was buffet style in the main restaurant or lunch was also served at the pool side grill. There was always a good variety of food on offer – from a hot cooked selection, fresh fruit, cereals, or the egg station for breakfast, to steamed vegetables, fresh fish or local Caribbean produce for dinner. There were also four or five cakes/desserts to choose from as well. There are also two other restaurants, the Italian and Oriental (which need to be booked 24 hours in advance). We didn’t experience the Italian but the Oriental was very good, albeit with a limited menu. The sun sets about 6.30pm and you get the best view from the bar above the beach grill - the always smiling Elfrieda will be there to serve your favourite drinks whilst taking in the sunset and the view around the bay and across to Pigeon Island.

There was evening entertainment every night which ranged from steel pans to karaoke, country and western to soul music.

The hotel is located right on Reduit beach, the best beach on the island, which is cleaned early every morning and is also safe for swimming. Hobie cats and kayaks are available to hire, and there is also a masseur right on the beach (separate charge).

There are numerous bars and restaurants within a short walk of the hotel and on a Friday and Saturday you do get some noise late at night but this really didn’t bother us. There are two shopping malls just a five minute walk away and a taxi stop right outside the hotel for trips further afield. A tour office is also located just inside the hotel entrance.

The only negative point for us were the cats within the hotel. Whilst there are only two or three, and on the whole are not a problem (I am allergic to cats if I get too close!) they walk though the dining room looking for scraps of food. The waiters and waitresses do shoo the cats away but unfortunately some of the guests encourage them which is OK in the gardens but I don’t think cats should be allowed in the dining room.

When reading other reviews, and seeing lots of negative comments, I think I must have stayed at a different hotel. The Papillon is a lovely, middle of the road, traditional Caribbean hotel with very friendly, yet professional, staff at all levels. If you want a modern 5 star hotel with lots of bling but no soul look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PapGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Papillon by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Dear Jasert,

Your review and comments of the Papillon by Rex Resorts have been well received, as we do value and appreciate your review and comments. We do thank you for choosing the Papillon by Rex Resorts as your vacation get-away and we are delighted to have met your expectations. We will definitely strive to make your vacation with us even more exciting when next you visit the Papillon by Rex Resorts, as your concerns will not go unnoticed. In regards to the stray cats that visit every so often, we have solicited the assistance of animal welfare to relocate the cats, but new ones arrive shortly thereafter. Also, most pet loving guests feed the cats so they're in no hurry to leave.

We do appreciate your acknowledgment of various members of staff, who impacted your vacation in a wonderful way. Again, we thank you for choosing the Papillon by Rex Resorts, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

We had a great time everything was as we expected. We'll definitely return. Great place to stay just a short walk away from Scuba Steve. Great crew and great diving. I highly recommend to divers and people who just want a great resort to stay at!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carolinedodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PapGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Papillon by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Dear Carolinedodee,

Your review and comments of the Papillon by Rex Resorts have been well received, as we do value and appreciate all guests reviews and comments. We do thank you for choosing the Papillon by Rex Resorts as your vacation home away from home and for taking the time to review and comment on your stay at the Papillon by Rex Resorts. We are delighted to have met your expectations, and will definitely strive to make your next vacation with us even more exciting. Again, we thank you for choosing the Papillon by Rex Resorts, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.


Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

We went for peace, quiet and relaxation and we found it. Most of the staff were very friendly, especially Leslie at the pool bar and Jerry the entertainments guy. Hotel located on the best beach in St Lucia but next door to its sister hotel, Rex St Lucian, which is now closed and awaiting redevelopment. It is an eye-sore.

Biggest problem was the alternative dining arrangements for the main dining room which was being re-tiled (we were not previously informed about this). Breakfast was in the Italian restaurant which was so very dark. Lunch and evening meals were outside but the warming trays were inefficient and the food was often cold - unacceptable. Dining in the Italian and Oriental speciality restaurants was a delight with superb food on offer.

Swimming pool and jacuzzi in desperate need of a deep clean as the diamond bright was dreadfully discoloured.

Rooms were always clean and the bed was very comfortable (and quiet!).

Would we go back - probably as the dining problems will be in the past.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are more expensive but worth it.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dennisaw2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PapGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Papillon by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Dennis,

It truly is our pleasure, to have welcomed you to the Papillon by Rex Resorts, as your tranquil vacation get-away.
We do value and appreciate your review and comments of your stay at the Papillon by Rex Resorts. We are disappointed however, that you were not completely satisfied with our products and services, as many of our returning guests have come to rely on and enjoy, and will look into your concerns as we do take all guest concerns and complaints very serious. We go above and beyond to meet and exceed our guests' needs and expectations, to ensure an incredible vacation experience in a comfortable, friendly and welcoming atmosphere.

We do thank you for your mention of various staff members, who impacted your stay at the Papillon by Rex Resorts in a significant way.

We would like to thank you once again, for vacationing with us at the Papillon by Rex Resorts, and look forward to making your next stay with us, a more exciting and memorable one.


Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

This was an awesome vacation. We had no complaints, we received spectacular service, the food was great, the a la carte restuarants were awesome. The place was very clean and we were on the beach.

The malls and bars were walking distance away. As compared to other reviews, we did not have any complaints about noise or bar music.

We will definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank asjagirl4a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PapGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Papillon by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Asjagirl,

We would like to thank you for your vacation choice of the Papillon By Rex Resorts, and for you review and comments on your stay with us, as we do value and appreciate your review and comments. It was our pleasure in welcoming you with the intention of providing you, our guest, with an enjoyable vacation experience, in a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. We at the Papillon by Rex Resorts, are gratified that you enjoyed your vacation with us, and look forward to having you with us again on your next vacation.
Again, we thank you for choosing the Papillon by Rex Resorts.


Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

This was out 5 th trip to the island but, first time at this resort. Love how the property is layed out. It felt like there was enough space and not to feel like others “on top of you”. The view from our room was amazing. Would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: I would recommend the hotel to do away with the big key fob and maybe use cards. Just bulky to carry around.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank tara502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PapGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Papillon by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear Tara,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Papillon by Rex Resorts. We do value and appreciate your review and comments of your stay with us, and we are glad to have met your expectations. We at the Papillon by Rex Resorts are committed to providing a product that exceeds our guests' needs and expectations in every way possible, making your vacation one of comfort, relaxation and incredible memories. Again, we thank you for choosing the Papillon by Rex Resorts, and look forward to your anticipated visit in the near future.


Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews