We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
mndlov534587
Mbombela, South Africa

Very good

Review of Malaga Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 May 2022
A very cosy hotel with comfy rooms and also quite affordable. Staff was friendly and pleasant. Our room had both the show and bath option. Very clean bath I must add. Big bed, clean linen. Unfortunately there was no bar fridge in the rooms.
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ozwane Mahlangu, General Manager at Malaga Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 08 Jun 2022
Dear Valued GUEST
Thank you for most valuable comments after you visited our Hotel. We see you were satisfied with the level of service that we offer, except the bar fridge. We have not the bar fridge issue an in the mean time we have attached it to your profile for when you visit again that you prefer a bar fridge in your room.
Regards
Management and TEAM
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
1.4 km from Malaga Hotel
Free parking
Pool
view from the chalets
    7.9 km from Malaga Hotel
    Free parking
    Pool
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    12.1 km from Malaga Hotel
    Free parking
    Pool
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • eDreams
    • ZenHotels.com
    1.2 km from Malaga Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      R 1 639
    • Hotels.com
    12.9 km from Malaga Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    A set of rooms
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    11.6 km from Malaga Hotel
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Boven Villa
    Multiple ways to pay
      12.7 km from Malaga Hotel
      Free parking
      • Lol.travel
      • Vio.com
      12.3 km from Malaga Hotel
      Free parking
        Free parking
        Pool
        Fountain adding a tranquil ambiance
        • Priceline
        • Agoda.com
        8.6 km from Malaga Hotel
        View more hotels in Emgwenya
        Reviews (208)
        Filter reviews
        208 results
        Traveller rating
        94
        75
        30
        4
        5
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        Traveller rating
        94
        75
        30
        4
        5
        Show reviews that mention
        All reviews pool area reception staff kruger park bar fridge air conditioner set menu beautiful setting long journey nice stay game reserve malta wifi conference johannesburg stopover river
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        7 - 12 of 208 reviews
        Reviewed 3 April 2022

        S
        Excellent Service, Room Furniture is lovely and the bed, air conditioner working perfectly. Security for our car is excellent.

        Children play ground is excellent, pool area and water is spacious enough and grass level is perfect. Staff humility 8s beyond measure, and keep up the good work.

        Date of stay: March 2022
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Review collected in partnership with this hotel
        Thank thabo2022
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Ozwane Mahlangu, General Manager at Malaga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2022

        Dear Thabo
        Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at Fortis Hotel Malaga. The TEAM and my self are pleased to hear that we made your stay memorable and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
        Regards
        Management and TEAM

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 2 April 2022

        We only stayed one night in this hotel as we had a long journey. nevertheless you can recommend the hotel. it is in a very nice location. and calm. it's right on the way to the south of kruger park. there is no wifi in the room and the bathroom needs some renovation. otherwise there is not much to complain about. very nice staff. It is about 2.5 hours from Johannesburg Airport and another 2.5 hours to Marloth Park. all in one for the price highly recommended!

        Date of stay: March 2022
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Review collected in partnership with this hotel
        Thank dmaure480730
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Ozwane Mahlangu, General Manager at Malaga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2022

        Dear Valued GUESTS
        It gives us a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Fortis Hotel Malaga. We have no doubt that you will be staying again with friends and Family.
        Best regards
        Management and TEAM

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 29 March 2022

        Great location for a conference or stay over on the way to the game reserve. The larger suites are very comfortable and good value for money.
        The breakfast buffet is substantial and delicious
        Dinner menu is a ls carte and the set menu is quite a treat!

        Date of stay: March 2022
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Review collected in partnership with this hotel
        Thank william c
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Ozwane Mahlangu, General Manager at Malaga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2022

        Dear William
        Thank you for taking time to give us feedback after you visited Fortis Hotel Malaga. We value your comments a lot and are pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable.
        Looking forward to your next visit.
        Regards
        Management and TEAM

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 17 March 2022

        Stayed for 1 night on our trip from Johannesburg to Kruger. Location excellent and staff couldn’t have been more helpful. Hotel was very quiet and has been badly affected by pandemic hitting tourist industry. Hope it recovers quickly , we would stay here again.

        Date of stay: January 2022
        1  Thank Phillip D
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Ozwane Mahlangu, General Manager at Malaga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2022

        Dear Phillip
        Thank you for stopping by and spend one night with us. We confirm that the TEAM is congratulated in doing an excellent to always make sure that our valued GUESTS are taken care of.
        Thank you, once again and we look forward to your next visit
        Regards
        Management and TEAM

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 18 December 2021

        We spent a pleasant and relaxing weekend at Hotel Malaga. Times are tough, but we got value for our money. The service was efficient and the room pristine and spacious. We hope to book in future again.

        Date of stay: December 2021
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Review collected in partnership with this hotel
        Thank Sandra H
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Ozwane Mahlangu, General Manager at Malaga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2022

        Dear Sandra
        We as the Fortis Hotel Malaga TEAM we are as excited as you are about your stay and we assure that we'll keep the good service to all our GUESTS.
        Looking forward to welcome you back
        Regards
        Management and TEAM

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        View more reviews