We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Wendy W

WOW!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 weeks ago
We were a large family party enjoying a exclusive 6 night stay post wedding celebrations. We have always stayed in Madikwe so were a little nervous about going to another reserve - our wish list was long but everything was ticked off!
We had dietry needs that were fully taken care of.
We had mad requests that all the staff endulged us and joined in wholeheartedly. We ate so much food that we begged for no lunch on a couple of occasions!
The special meals were outstounding.
The lodge is a home from home and we enjoyed the whole run of the place.
The safari drives were always informative - and we saw great sightings with some exciting moments along the way.
The scenary was just stunning - much more lush that I had anticipated - we had morning coffees and afternoon sundowners in the most spectacular of places.
All the staff were fab - always welcoming, always smiling, nothing was too much trouble and we were not bothered by loadshedding!
I would absolutely have no hesitation in recommending this lodge & reserve, indeed the only safari trucks we saw all week were ours! There is talk of some of the fences coming down and I think the reserve could take a few more animals and of course when the wild dogs are introduced this will be another exciting viewing. All the animals looked in good health and were refreshingly skittish around the game vehicles, suggesting that they are not habitulised - this is only a good thing.
The game vehicles could do with some attention, but the rangers know their vehicles and handle them well -
Thank you for making our stay so memorable.
The Wards/Bakers/Doykis/Noon/Reynolds/Hughes (James, Grace & Emma) Cecilia & Larry and Ranger Dan!
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Mind the ticks!
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
WOW indeed, what a pleasure to receive this notification of a review.. The team thank you for the acknowledgements of all their hard work and the recognition, which they thrive on and they thoroughly enjoyed having your group! Thank you for the feedback on all departments and a copy has been sent to all including our owners! We are very proud of our team and we are very happy that you arrived as guests and left as friends with memorable moments. We hope that you return back to see the exciting changes yourselves. Regards from us all!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Fitted with a double bed and a single bed
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 084
  • Booking.com
31.7 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 927
  • eDreams
39.4 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 820
  • Hotels.com
39.2 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free Wifi
Free parking
44.4 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
63.1 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
23.6 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Magudu
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
328
17
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
328
17
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea game drives honeymoon suite male lion herd of elephants big experience knowledgeable ranger the reserve out of this world three nights evening drive spent nights here overlooking the river animal sightings private pool bush experience dining area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2024

Stunning place, friendly and service-minded staff and excellent rangers/tracers for the safari. The lodge provides a high-end experience. The game park has all you can dream of. "The big five" plus loads of other animals. Not crowded as you might experience other game parks.

We would love to come back to Amakhosi.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rune0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Good morning and what a lovely surprise on a Monday morning to have this amazing review for our team to read and enjoy. Thank you for taking the time to post as this make us really happy to know that you left with amazing memories of a great time with us... We DO HOPE that you return to visit us again.. Fond regards the AMA TEAM!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2024

Thank you for the 6 star experience! Zakhele and Kyle (Fridz) was awesome, they made sure we had wonderful sightings. The service from all the staff was excellent and the food out of this world! We had a wonderful stay in the stunning honeymoon suite. We will return agsin shortly!

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Snymqn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

good morning, not sure why we missed this amazing review! this is wonderful and thank you so much for taking the time to post it, the team are over the moon with this review. We love that you had a wonderful rime and we hope that this has left you wanting more!! hope we see you again. Fond regards the AMA TEAM!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2023 via mobile

Where do I begin, to tell the story of an amazing weekend ☺ Perhaps...with the food, which is outstanding and on a par with the very best tasting menus at Michelin Star restaurants. Then there is the diversity of the bush - from beautiful river settings (and exciting river crossings), to ravines with the chance of spotting a leopard, to ridges from which you can see forever. You will definitely see 4 of the Big Five, up close and personal, and if you're lucky you could be treated to a leopard - the animals are in extremely good condition and well spread across the Park, which makes for interesting game drives and conversations with knowledgeable Game Rangers and Trackers who clearly love what they do. Oh, almost forgot to mention our ‘5 Star’ chalet - totally private, beautiful interior design, loads of space and a deck with a view of the river, for when you're lounging in your hammock. Trust me...you want to go to Amakhosi Safari Lodge😄

Room tip: Go in Spring and you’ll see the animals with their young - we saw lion and cheetah cubs plus the usual elephant and zebra babies.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank BessWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2023

What a way to start a Monday!! Thank you so much for taking the time to post this really stunning review. It really is an honour for us to host guests such as you! the team love to make sure that our guests have the best experience and being acknowledged for it by these compliments makes it all worthwhile!! SO THANK you once again! we all hope you visit us soon fond regards the AMA TEAM!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2023

From the time we arrived until we left, all we experienced were genuine smiles from staff in all areas of Amakhosi.
It is SO tranquil in this special part of the world - from the hammock on your patio, you can see animals grazing by the river and hundreds of birds singing in the trees.
Our Ranger, Ralden, and tracker, Mandla were exceptional. Their knowledge of flora and fauna was brilliant, and they even got us into a position to see a mother cheetah chase and kill a Kudu in front of us and then called her 5 cubs to feast on the unfortunate Kudu (I managed to get the whole chase on camera). We saw 4 of the big 5, with only the elusive Leopard managing to keep away from our sites.

The food was out of this world - definitely 5 star. So many different tastes and textures.

We got to experience a very energetic Zulu dance in the onsite Kraal.

The rooms were very comfortable and clean with all requirements taken care of.

Thank you to the whole team at Amakhosi for an unforgettable stay.

We will see you all soon when we come back

Room tip: Just relax and allow nature to take over...
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sightseer21156880226
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2023

Wow so sorry we missed this review, Thank you for taking the time to post it , it really means a great deal to the team to know that they made your stay memorable. We have shared this review with the entire team and management. hope that you come back and visit soon Regards the Ama Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2023

We had the most outstanding experience at Amakhosi Safari Lodge.

Every single staff member went out of their way to personally make us feel welcome and comfortable.

The River Suite was a piece of paradise, I loved the attention to detail.

The food was outstanding.

We had the most life-changing experience on our game drives... Our Ranger, Ralden, and our Tracker, Mandla, were an exceptional team... our highlight was when they spotted a mother cheetah on the hunt! They predicted her behavior SO accurately that they managed to set us up to witness the most breath-taking event of the cheetah taking down an Kudu... and to top it off, she called her 5 cubs to feast.

An experience we will never forget!

We will DEFINITELY be back!

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Camper35040267302
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

Good morning ... what a wonderful way to start the week with this amazing review, thank you so much for taking the time to post this, it is much appreciated by all. It is getting reviews like this that make our work worthwhile. We loved hosting you and hope that you both return for a visit soon Fond regards the AMA team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews