We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Agoda.com
R 7 659
Breakfast included
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
326
17
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
326
17
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea game drives honeymoon suite male lion herd of elephants big experience knowledgeable ranger the reserve out of this world three nights evening drive spent nights here overlooking the river animal sightings private pool bush experience dining area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2023

From the time we arrived until we left, all we experienced were genuine smiles from staff in all areas of Amakhosi.
It is SO tranquil in this special part of the world - from the hammock on your patio, you can see animals grazing by the river and hundreds of birds singing in the trees.
Our Ranger, Ralden, and tracker, Mandla were exceptional. Their knowledge of flora and fauna was brilliant, and they even got us into a position to see a mother cheetah chase and kill a Kudu in front of us and then called her 5 cubs to feast on the unfortunate Kudu (I managed to get the whole chase on camera). We saw 4 of the big 5, with only the elusive Leopard managing to keep away from our sites.

The food was out of this world - definitely 5 star. So many different tastes and textures.

We got to experience a very energetic Zulu dance in the onsite Kraal.

The rooms were very comfortable and clean with all requirements taken care of.

Thank you to the whole team at Amakhosi for an unforgettable stay.

We will see you all soon when we come back

Room tip: Just relax and allow nature to take over...
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sightseer21156880226
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2023

Wow so sorry we missed this review, Thank you for taking the time to post it , it really means a great deal to the team to know that they made your stay memorable. We have shared this review with the entire team and management. hope that you come back and visit soon Regards the Ama Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2023

We had the most outstanding experience at Amakhosi Safari Lodge.

Every single staff member went out of their way to personally make us feel welcome and comfortable.

The River Suite was a piece of paradise, I loved the attention to detail.

The food was outstanding.

We had the most life-changing experience on our game drives... Our Ranger, Ralden, and our Tracker, Mandla, were an exceptional team... our highlight was when they spotted a mother cheetah on the hunt! They predicted her behavior SO accurately that they managed to set us up to witness the most breath-taking event of the cheetah taking down an Kudu... and to top it off, she called her 5 cubs to feast.

An experience we will never forget!

We will DEFINITELY be back!

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Camper35040267302
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

Good morning ... what a wonderful way to start the week with this amazing review, thank you so much for taking the time to post this, it is much appreciated by all. It is getting reviews like this that make our work worthwhile. We loved hosting you and hope that you both return for a visit soon Fond regards the AMA team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2023

Fantastic location by the river, beautiful lodge, fantastic personell, great food and cool local dance show. And this is just the sourroundings. The gamedrives itself was unbeliveable. We had Ranger Kyle and Tracker Zackhele and thwy where a great team. Despite his age Kyle has a tremendous knowledge and interest for all animals, birds, trees, plants and snakes. Can't recommend these guys enough. In short words. VISIT Amakhosi if you can.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sverre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2023

Wow what a great way to start the day! Thank you so much for taking the time to post this stunning review, it means a great deal to our team to know that they have done a great job at making sure you left with great memories and a wonderful stay with us. We certainly hope that one day you return for a visit. Fond regards from the AMA TEAM!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2023

This was our first experience with game drives and we were blown away by Amakhosi and its staff. We spent so much time reviewing our options and in all honesty we were dubious about how the Lodge could have so many amazing reviews. Well, believe them. We were also drawn to the fact that the Lodge is in a low risk malaria area. The reservations team were terrific to deal and always quick to respond.
Staying for 3 nights we enjoyed two game drives each day seeing lions, elephants, giraffes, white rhinos, wildebeest, warthogs, kudu, impala, a cheetah with her 5 cubs, jackal and buffalo. Our ranger, Zukhele, got us so close to the animals for photos. Most importantly we learnt so many things about the animals from him. By the end of our time we were dung experts too! For our first game drive we were lucky enough to see the lions eating a zebra carcass they had killed that morning. We were so close we could hear and see everything. During each drive we would stop for a drink and snack. Our 7 year old has proclaimed Zukhele is the best hot chocolate maker......ever. Zukhele and our tracker made each game drive so special for our daughter and we are so grateful for their kindness.
The food was fantastic. Breakfast was always after our morning game drive. The Amakhosi muesli is so good we bought some to bring home. Lunch, at 2pm, is light and trust me you don't need more. Dinner is served once the afternoon game drive is over. Its a 4 course extravaganza. Probably too much for us but it doesn't detract from how fine the food is. For our last night the staff had organised a special event. There was a wonderful show of local dancing by young Kwazulu Natal men followed by 3 course dinner with our particular Rangers. It would be remiss not to mention that the kitchen went above and beyond to cater for our 7 year old in terms of food and the timing of her meals.
We stayed in a River Suite. It was so much bigger than we had anticipated. A bed, for our daughter, had been set up in the sitting area. The beds were super cosy and reverse AC meant we could warm the rooms in the late afternoon. The hammock on the deck was well used after our morning game drives.
A big thank you to Ethan, the A/Manager, who firstly is a super nice guy but also was only too happy to entertain our daughter with nature walks, games and long chats. A very patient man!!
Amakhosi well and truly lived up to all the amazing reviews we had read before our visit. Thank you to everyone.

Room tip: Mornings and evenings are cool
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Donige
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2023

Oh wow back from a business trip to this amazing review, which has been shared with each department and is now proudly displayed in the various departments. It is reviews like this that motivate the team, as all their hard work is rewarded by ensuring that our guest leave as friends with memorable moments! thank you! We certainly look forward to seeing you all again Fond regards the AMA TEAM!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2023

This was our first Game Drive experiences and we'll never forget this!!! We stayed for 5 nights and it's was really an experience of a life time! My 3 children, age 13 / 15 and 17 years old were so impressed of what we've seen! Our ranger Philip and tracker Jeremy did their utmost best to find al the wild life! The atmosphere during each game drive was perfect. We've seen them all! The hospitality factor at Amakhosi is as their slogan; A King's Pride! The staff is very committed and are very friendly. The service level is really good. Every breakfast, lunch and diner was perfect! For a game drive resort Amakhosi is the place to be!!!!

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FamvandenBurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2023

Good day , what a lovely way to return back to work after a business trip to all these amazing reviews, thank you so much for taking the time to post them and the team are just so pleased that your family has great memories of their stay with us. We hope that you all return back soon! fond regards from the AMA TEAM !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews