We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
FamvandenBurg
Willemstad, Curaçao

Amakhosi; a King's Pride!!!!!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Jul 2023
This was our first Game Drive experiences and we'll never forget this!!! We stayed for 5 nights and it's was really an experience of a life time! My 3 children, age 13 / 15 and 17 years old were so impressed of what we've seen! Our ranger Philip and tracker Jeremy did their utmost best to find al the wild life! The atmosphere during each game drive was perfect. We've seen them all! The hospitality factor at Amakhosi is as their slogan; A King's Pride! The staff is very committed and are very friendly. The service level is really good. Every breakfast, lunch and diner was perfect! For a game drive resort Amakhosi is the place to be!!!!
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA, responded to this review
Responded 11 Aug 2023
Good day , what a lovely way to return back to work after a business trip to all these amazing reviews, thank you so much for taking the time to post them and the team are just so pleased that your family has great memories of their stay with us. We hope that you all return back soon! fond regards from the AMA TEAM !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 941
  • eDreams
39.4 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free parking
Pool
44.4 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
63.1 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.0 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
31.2 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Magudu
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
328
17
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
328
17
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea game drives honeymoon suite male lion herd of elephants big experience knowledgeable ranger the reserve out of this world three nights evening drive spent nights here overlooking the river animal sightings private pool bush experience dining area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2023

Just returned from our second visit at Amakhosi Safari Lodge - this time eight people for four days. This place is truly a little piece of heaven om Earth. Everything from booking to our departure has been smooth, professional and friendly. The Lodge is beautiful and tranquil with service and quisine being out of this world. Game drives are exciting Big five experiences with extremely skilled Rangers and Trackers. Always felt safe, even though we’ve had some very close encounters. Had the same ranger and tracker for all eight game drives which made the experience quite familiar. We will definitely be back for a third visit!

Date of stay: February 2023
Thank Dorte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2023

Oh my word, we have no idea what went wrong but it seems that we did not get notifications on these amazing reviews. We do apologize for the late response Thank you so much for the review and we are looking forward to your 3rd visit!! fond regards from the AMA team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2023

The people, the lodge, the food, the game drive- it’s just fantastic and they never stop spoling you on every matter. We have vern visiting ten times, and it’s unthinkable to not visit this lodge when in South Africa

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ansvarligturist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2023

Goodness we are so shocked that we did not get notifications of these reviews, seems there has been a problem. So sorry for the late reply and WE LOVE having you as many times as you come and visit. lots of fond regards from the entire AMA TEAM!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2023

Incredible weekend spent at Amakhosi. The staff were extremely professional, friendly and accommodating and our ranger Pierre and spotter Mandla were fantastic in finding us game and spotting over 50 new birds for us and being so passionate to take us out, even in the drizzle. The food was out of this world and the beds were dangerously comfortable. The reserve is very well looked after and the animals look healthy.
Thank you Amakhosi - 11/10 stars. See you soon!

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Carey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2023

What a way to end our week with this amazing review, thank you for being such awesome guests, we all loved hosting you and we appreciate all your kind words, copy of this has been circulated to all! We hope that you visit us again and hope the weather is better for you, have a great weekend from the AMA TEAM!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2022

From arrival just in time for lunch, to our departure after a three night stay, we were made to feel like part of the family and were looked after like royalty. All staff members were always smiling and were friendly, "genuine" and accommodating which is not always easy to find.
In particular we would like to thank King our ranger and Arrows our spotter who made our 6 game drives the best we have ever experienced, we have previously been on game drives in Kenya and South Africa but these were simply outstanding! King and Arrows were funny, relaxed and chatty and King was very knowledgeable and able to answer all of our questions. On our first drive we were lucky enough to see 4 out of the big 5 (including a leopard!) By the end of our 6 game drives we had even seen another leopard, this time right outside the lodge on a rock by the river. We also saw a huge alligator down by the river whilst eating breakfast one morning.
Other staff members that stood out for us and we would like to personally thank were Zinhle, the assistant manager (wicked sense of humour!), and Sya and Nhlanda who made our meal times even more enjoyable with their fantastic service and friendliness. I would also like to thank Nhlanda who made my close encounter with the friendly giraffe who visited one evening before dinner, an experience that I will never forget and will treasure forever.
Our lodge overlooking the river was fantastic, very luxurious with a very comfy bed and fantastic views. It was an easy minute's walk to the main bar/dining area which was lovely and had a nice homely feel to it. All food during our stay was of an exceptional quality and was always plentiful and beautifully presented.
We didn't have any treatments at the spa but did make use of the swimming pool there which overlooks the river and was very relaxing.
A massive thank you to you all at Amakhosi for making our stay/experience the best we have ever experienced, it was truly magical, please don't change a thing!

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2022

Wow What a wonderful and comprehensive review, we really appreciate the time it took to post this, it is reviews like this that make it all worthwhile for our awesome team, knowing that you arrived as guests and left as friends with memorable experiences. A copy of this has already been send to all departments for them to enjoy. Thank you again and the team sends their fond regards and hope that one day you return for a second visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2022

Amakhosi is a hidden gem! The food, rooms, service, game drives and all the staff are just amazing! You will not find a better Big 5 experience anywhere else. Big thank you to our ranger Ralden and tracker Mandla for making our drives the best I have ever experienced, they made sure that we saw as much as possible and their knowledge is impeccable! I cannot wait to go back! Thank you all at Amakhosi for the best getaway!

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dee3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2022

Wow what a wonderful review and thank you for taking the time to post it, we loved hosting you and your lovely family and we hope that you all come back soon one day- fondest regards the AMA team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews