We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 9 211
Expedia.com
R 8 945
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
R 7 659
Breakfast included
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
326
17
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
326
17
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea game drives honeymoon suite male lion herd of elephants big experience knowledgeable ranger the reserve out of this world three nights evening drive spent nights here overlooking the river animal sightings private pool bush experience dining area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2022

From arrival just in time for lunch, to our departure after a three night stay, we were made to feel like part of the family and were looked after like royalty. All staff members were always smiling and were friendly, "genuine" and accommodating which is not always easy to find.
In particular we would like to thank King our ranger and Arrows our spotter who made our 6 game drives the best we have ever experienced, we have previously been on game drives in Kenya and South Africa but these were simply outstanding! King and Arrows were funny, relaxed and chatty and King was very knowledgeable and able to answer all of our questions. On our first drive we were lucky enough to see 4 out of the big 5 (including a leopard!) By the end of our 6 game drives we had even seen another leopard, this time right outside the lodge on a rock by the river. We also saw a huge alligator down by the river whilst eating breakfast one morning.
Other staff members that stood out for us and we would like to personally thank were Zinhle, the assistant manager (wicked sense of humour!), and Sya and Nhlanda who made our meal times even more enjoyable with their fantastic service and friendliness. I would also like to thank Nhlanda who made my close encounter with the friendly giraffe who visited one evening before dinner, an experience that I will never forget and will treasure forever.
Our lodge overlooking the river was fantastic, very luxurious with a very comfy bed and fantastic views. It was an easy minute's walk to the main bar/dining area which was lovely and had a nice homely feel to it. All food during our stay was of an exceptional quality and was always plentiful and beautifully presented.
We didn't have any treatments at the spa but did make use of the swimming pool there which overlooks the river and was very relaxing.
A massive thank you to you all at Amakhosi for making our stay/experience the best we have ever experienced, it was truly magical, please don't change a thing!

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2022

Wow What a wonderful and comprehensive review, we really appreciate the time it took to post this, it is reviews like this that make it all worthwhile for our awesome team, knowing that you arrived as guests and left as friends with memorable experiences. A copy of this has already been send to all departments for them to enjoy. Thank you again and the team sends their fond regards and hope that one day you return for a second visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2022

Amakhosi is a hidden gem! The food, rooms, service, game drives and all the staff are just amazing! You will not find a better Big 5 experience anywhere else. Big thank you to our ranger Ralden and tracker Mandla for making our drives the best I have ever experienced, they made sure that we saw as much as possible and their knowledge is impeccable! I cannot wait to go back! Thank you all at Amakhosi for the best getaway!

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dee3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2022

Wow what a wonderful review and thank you for taking the time to post it, we loved hosting you and your lovely family and we hope that you all come back soon one day- fondest regards the AMA team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2022 via mobile

Quite brilliant in every respect whatsoever. We stayed three nights in a honeymoon suite ( a 4 minute walk from the main lodge) and it was faultless: very spacious, stylish, private, beautifully furnished, very well equipped and quiet. The lodge itself was marvellously positioned overlooking a river, the food was quite amazing in content, variety and presentation (totally five-star), the staff ~ without exception ~ were cheerful, efficient, fun an very well trained. This place oozed good management, attention to detail, thorough training that instilled confidence and relaxed charm in everybody.

Our guide, King , and his spotter, Zac, were perfect: knowledgeable, patient, considerate, lucid, humorous and so keen to tell us about not just the big five, but the birds, the flora and all animals of all sorts. We indeed saw all the big five in our three day stay, even the elusive leopard.

We have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this lodge: you will be treated like royalty with grace and efficiently, you will eat and sleep very well, you will love the game drives and you will get very good value for every penny you spend. It is an exemplar to all other lodges on how to get it right in every single detail..

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JohnWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2022

Good morning from a wet Zululand. what a delight to get an alert to say that there was a review for our team. Thank you so much for taking the time to post this detailed review. A copy has been sent to all departments and we are all thrilled that you had a wonderful time with us. This is what we strive for, that our guest leave as friends with wonderful memories. We hope that you return and visit us one day again. Fond regards the Ama team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2022

Amazing, Incredible, Wonderful! We spent 3 nights here and it was not enough- we wanted to stay longer. We were so sad to leave. The lodge and our river suites were beautiful. We enjoyed sitting on the porch and enjoying the natural beauty. The suite is spacious and the beds heated,

The food was incredible. We had coffee, juice and cookies before the morning game drive. Then we stopped during the drive for coffee and mini muffins at an incredible location. After the game drive we had part continental breakfast buffet with a hot breakfast choice. A 2 pm high tea was followed by the afternoon game drive. Also with a cocktail stop if desired. Dinner after the game drive at 715. We had lamb chops, filet of beef and Kingklip fish entrees that were all so delicious. Cocktails were so reasonable but we were greeted on return from safari with a special cocktail. The tables for dinner were so romantic. We ate most meals alfresco.

What we came for- the game drives, incredible. The reserve is green, lush and beautiful. We saw the big 5 on our 6 game drives. Our guide Pierre and tracker Mandel were so good. Pierre knew so much about the animals and the plants and trees. He could identify birds by their shapes and calls my friend and I were with another couple on the drives and they were so nice that they added to our experience. We saw so many animals including zebras, giraffes, lions, rhinos, buffalos, nyala, warthogs, kudo, leopard, impala, wildebeest and more and were surrounded by elephants. Our fellow guests also loved the lodge and compared it above other safari experiences. We saw amazing sunrises, sunsets and stars.

On leaving the staff came out and waved goodbye. Everyone was so friendly, you felt like you were part of family. I would come back here in a heartbeat and could not recommend it enough.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PittsburghBambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2022

Oh wow what an amazing review, sorry for the delay in responding as we have been on two back to back travel shows, so lovely to be back to seeing our trade face to face, we also mentioned while presenting to please look at the reviews on Trip Advisor as our wonderful guests literally describe each experience in detail, well I was not wrong as hopefully all did read your detailed review! Thank you so much and your review will be read in the morning meeting WE really hope that you do return soon, fond regards from all at Amakhosi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2022 via mobile

Delightful lodge with kind and helpful staff. The safaris were second to none with our ranger Philip and tracker Jeremy being able to find all the big five. The food was delicious and our honeymoon suite even had a hot tub which one could use whilst having a glass of wine and seeing impalas and water hogs in the bush

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Francis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this wonderful review, we are grateful to have such amazing guests which makes our work all that more worthwhile - we have send a copy of your review to all our departments hope you visit us again regards the AMA TEAM!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews