We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 9 502
Hotels.com
R 8 883
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
R 8 095
Breakfast included
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
328
17
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
328
17
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea game drives honeymoon suite male lion herd of elephants big experience knowledgeable ranger the reserve out of this world three nights evening drive spent nights here overlooking the river animal sightings private pool bush experience dining area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2021

Everything was perfect and it is very good value for money. Great accommodation, location, food and lovely staff. The safari was truly wild, we saw at most one other car during the game drives. We also manage to see all of the big five! I highly recommend Amakhosi safari lodge!

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank oller2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2021

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review, it makes our work so much worthwhile knowing that you left with memorable moments, thank you for taking the time, the team really appreciate this - hope to see you back soon the AMA TEAM !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2021 via mobile

The most incredibly welcoming and accommodating staff. This coupled with exceptional luxury, sensational meals and superb animal sightings makes this the game reserve worth a visit! Definitely better than the majority of 5 star game reserves in KZN! Do not hesitate to book your stay at the amazing AMAkhosi!!!

Room tip: If you are seeking a game reserve who can offer you luxury and individualised attention this is the one to book!
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SweetPiment0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2021

Oh dear!! we did not receive a notification that you had posted a review so we apologise for the delay in replying but a great way to start a week. Thank you for the wonderful review and the team really appreciate you taking the time to post this, especially with the times we live in, a review on Tripadvisor can swing the decision for a guest to stay with us! hope you return soon regards the AMA team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2021

On the recommendation of friends we stayed at Amakhosi for four nights in August, to include my birthday.

What an amazing time we had. The staff excelled themselves and it is difficult to single out any one person they were all so friendly and professional. The food was excellent and my food sensitivities were catered for discreetly and with no problem. Our table was set out each time on the deck overlooking the river, in the evening by candlelight. So romantic... Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable with an adjacent sitting area which we learned could accommodate a third person/child. A fridge, crockery, kettle together with tea and coffee completed the spoil. The large bathroom had a walk-in shower, bath and double wash basins with plenty of towels and toiletries. Cooled drinking water was always available in the main dining area where we could fill our Amakhosi bottles on the way out to a game drive.

We treated ourselves to a full body massage and hot stone massage which were great. The whole spa set up was beautiful and spacious with its own pool and lounging area. We were kept company by the many resident nyala and warthog.

As we were the only guests due to Covid restrictions but were able to travel from the Durban area, we had a large Landrover to ourselves and were able to set the times for our twice-daily game drives. We have been to many game reserves over the years but have to say that Philip the ranger and Jeremy the tracker were in a class of their own. Their knowledge was phenomenal and their sense of humour much appreciated. They went out of their way to find the Big Five and the lesser seen birds, and we loved the young orphaned giraffe who came out of the bush to greet us. Unfortunately the leopard evaded us but made his unseen presence known over dinner and into the night with his coughing from the other side of the river.

All in all a wonderful stay and we can only hope to return in the not too distant future. Thank you.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter312595
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2021

What a wonderful and detailed review, we really appreciate you taking the time to write it and we are so happy that you left with great memories. Word of mouth is a powerful tool and we hope that you review will entice many more travellers to come and visit us. We hope to see you back again and fond regards from all the AMA team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2021

Our trip to Amakhosi was just wonderful from beginning to end.

Timing: We stayed four days and three nights. While I could have stayed longer, due to the remote location of the reserve, I would hesitate to book a shorter trip than that.

Cleanliness: I have never stayed in a cleaner, more well maintained property. Especially during COVID, we felt like our health - as well as the health of our staff - was of top priority to everyone at Amakhosi. The entire lodge is beautiful and spotless from top to bottom and staff seems happy - clearly management is doing something right.

Rooms: Outstanding. We were lucky enough to stay in a honeymoon suite and it was both large and tastefully decorated. The beds were very comfortable, linens were clean and top quality and our room even had a little hot tub/plunge pool! The blackout curtains were a nice touch since we were tired after waking up so early for morning game drives, and the rooms were made up twice a day by their housekeeping crew. There is plenty of space in between chalets so you won't be disturbed by your neighbors and the serene vibe of the nature reserve remains in focus. Every morning when I opened my eyes I felt so grateful to be there.

Game Drives: The absolute highlight of our trip was our game drives with King and Jacque. Both guides were outstanding in every way, and it was so fun to watch them interact while they worked. Kind, informative and knowledgeable they seemed genuinely excited to not only point out the animals in the bush, but to provide us with as much information about them as possible. While we were not able to find a leopard, we saw so much wildlife, including things we never expected. I really appreciated Jacques' knowledge in fields outside of just the ¨Big 5" - there is so much more to see in Africa than just 5 animals, and they made sure that we had holistic experience. From pointing out various bird and amphibian species to going as far as picking a few edible berries for us to try, they both genuinely cared not only about the animals but about our experience in South Africa as a whole. They even explained the interaction of each species and how the natural balance of the reserve was maintained through careful management. King has the most lovely smile and disposition, he is always scanning the field for game and quietly pointing out the plentiful animals.

King and Jacque are both highly curious people, and I could have talked with them for days. We miss them! South Africa is a particularly complex country, and it is difficult to learn the nuances of their history and political situation from the outside. We learned so much about the history of the country, the current various ethnic groups and their interactions and how those factors have shaped the current political climate in post-apartheid South Africa. Prior to visiting, we spent two full days at the Apartheid Museum in Soweto, but talking with Jacque and King helped us to further clarify questions that even the museum was not able to. To be clear, we were interested and asked for their honest assessments, certainly not something you have to discuss if you are not interested in it, but since we asked, we were grateful they were willing to share their experiences and perspectives with us.

Another consideration in booking a safari is size. We had considered booking a lodge in Kruger or Sabi Sabi, but we're so grateful to have found Amakhosi. Many lodges are huge, and due to their international notoriety, packed with cars. At Amakhosi there is just as much wildlife as in other more well known parks, but because it is on a private reserve, you’re almost always the only vehicle moving about the reserve. That means that the animals have more patience with your presence, as they haven't been inundated with visitors all day, and you get a chance to view them behaving as close to naturally as possible (kind of the whole point of a safari…).

Spa: A lovely facility tucked away from the main entrance, with a large infinity style swimming pool and comfortable lounge chairs as well as a small but well equipped gym. We indulged in a massage and while it was not as technically impressive from a technical physical therapy standpoint as I would have preferred, it was very relaxing and calming.

Dining: All the food we had was of the best quality and prepared on site. We appreciated the obvious attention to detail and time invested in preparing interesting and delicious meals. Quality is so important to me when it comes to meals, and after hearing about the enormous quantity of food often offered at safari lodges, I was concerned that it might be a situation of mediocre food prepared in large quantities. This was absolutely not the case ast Amakhosi, as every dish was prepared with quality ingredients and innovative methods.

Overall: I was genuinely sad to have to say goodbye, we had such a relaxing, wonderful experience at Amakhosi and we will think back with happy memories for the rest of our lives. Truly a first class, wonderful experience we will never forget. While the facilities and food were wonderful, the differentiating factor for us was how fantastic the staff at Amakhosi is. I hope the owners realize what a special group they have working for them at the lodge and do their best to retain and continue to take good care of their employees.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Msandmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2021

Wow - not sure what else we can say but a huge thank you, firstly for choosing to stay with us for your visit in South Africa , we have been so missing our international guests and it was so lovely to have you stay with us and secondly to take the time to post such an amazing and detailed review, this is most appreciated by the team and a copy has been sent to each department, we won't lie it has been a tough time for our team, our owners have been wonderful in trying to keep the team going during this pandemic and for us it is safety of our guests and our team that is vital at this time, so thank you for appreciating their hard work to keep everyone safe. As I read this I am totally bursting with pride to be part of this amazing team/family. It has always been our mission that our guests leave as friends and that they leave with memorable moments and this is so important for us especially now, we want our guests to unwind and for a short while feel safe and try and forget what is happening to the world. So I would say mission accomplished - a copy of this letter has gone to our owners and to all! We hope that one day you come back and stay with us again - Fond regards from the AMA TEAM !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2021

Cant say enough about this amazing place and the experience our family had this last weekend..the rooms are huge and beautifully decorated, the food and detail in all meals is unrivalled! The game drives and encounters with big five, plains game, small game and birds are certainly unrivalled!!! There is no doubt that the people make this whole experience a memory for a lifetime, they are exceptionally happy, friendly and professional . A stunning place and brilliantly managed...thank you Amakosi!!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jakanalogistics
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2021

What a lovely review and thank you so much for taking the time to post this it means a great deal to us all! Making our guest leave and friends and with memorable moments is what is is all about, so thank you We have forwarded this to our team and hope that you come back and visit us soon Fond Regards from the AMA TEAM!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews