We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 8 242
Priceline
R 7 487
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
R 6 716
Breakfast included
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Simongeorgep
West Sussex, United Kingdom

Fantastic hospitality, food and wildlife

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Jan 2020
We stayed at Amakhosi for two nights in January. When we arrived we were welcomed, fed and watered and shown to our rooms before setting off on an afternoon game drive. We saw cheetahs, rhinos, buffalo and lions before stopping for sundowners. Later we had a lovely meal back at the lodge. We did two more early morning game drives and another evening one andf ended up seeing a leopard as well as getting up close and personal with a small herd of elephants.
In addition to the drives warthogs, monkeys, kudu and impala wandered freely around the well tended grounds.
Our accommodation was first class and we saw all of the animals we hoped to see and more besides. It was the highlight of our fortnights tour of KZN
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AmakhosiTeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA, responded to this review
Responded 03 Feb 2020
What a lovely way to start our Monday - thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review the team really do appreciate the acknowledgement to their hard work. We are so pleased that we satisfied all your needs and hope that next you are travelling to our area, you come back and visit us! fond Regards from the AMA TEAM!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
R 3 200
  • Priceline
    R 3 200
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 200
14.0 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 8 242
  • Priceline
    R 7 487
  • Agoda.com
    R 6 716
  • Expedia.com
    R 7 867
0.0 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free parking
Breakfast included
Booking.com
R 5 000
  • Priceline
    R 5 000
  • eDreams
    R 5 000
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 000
31.2 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free Wifi
Free parking
Fitted with a double bed and a single bed
Booking.com
R 1 100
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 100
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 091
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 091
31.7 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 900
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 900
  • Vio.com
    R 900
  • Agoda.com
    R 900
31.7 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 914
  • Priceline
    R 914
  • Vio.com
    R 910
  • Agoda.com
    R 914
32.0 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free Wifi
Free parking
Photo taken by Marel Finn and Mark Ford
Agoda.com
R 1 220
Easy and fast booking
  • Priceline
34.4 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 2 056
Fully refundable
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 879
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 924
39.4 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 1 894
R 1 840
  • Priceline
    R 1 840
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 875
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 875
39.2 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free Wifi
Free parking
Superior Bedroom
Booking.com
R 347
  • Agoda.com
    R 347
19.1 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free parking
Room service
View more hotels in Magudu
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
328
17
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
328
17
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea game drives honeymoon suite male lion herd of elephants big experience knowledgeable ranger the reserve out of this world three nights evening drive spent nights here overlooking the river animal sightings private pool bush experience dining area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2019 via mobile

We had an incredibly stay at the Amakhosi Safari Lodge for 3 nights - November 21st-24th. From the moment that you arrive until the very last minute you leave, the staff make you feel so welcomed, with attention to detail from the rooms, meals, spa, and finally to the game drives. Our ranger Jacques and tracker King were absolutely wonderful. King’s keen sense of tracking to find us all the big 5, took a great deal of skill; Jacques knowledge and details to all the wildlife at Amakhosi, from insects, amphibians, flora, birds, to the incredible animals, was the highlight of our trip! It was truly a privilege to be on safari with them. Finally, I want to also mention Lindo, at the front desk, who made our stay so enjoyable and relaxed. Amakhosi is truly a magical place, especially for us two Canadians!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AmakhosiTeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2019

What a lovely review to read on a rainy day. Thank you so much for taking the time to post this beautiful review and a copy of this review has been passed on to our entire team. We are elated that you left us with fond memories of your trip and hope that if you return to South Africa you visit us again. Fond regards the AMA TEAM!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2019

We revisited this wonderful lodge again, but now we stayed in the private house with the family. This is an amazing experience with all the luxury. The living room is a wonderful place to relax. From the veranda you have a nice and private view on the Mkuze River and the wild live. A Kingfisher was just below fishing.
The 'mini'-bar is well-stocked. The two bedrooms with en suite bathrooms are very nice, and it is a pity you have to close down your eyes to go to sleep, because you want to enjoy this place as long as possible.

We also enjoyed the game drives with Jeremy and Aiden. It was again a treat to see the lions, leopard, cheetahs, rhinos, elephants and buffels but also the kudus, nyalas, zebras, girafs, antilopes, porcupines and aardvarks, the beautiful birds and all the smaller creatures, well explained by our tracker and ranger. And although it rained sometimes, we certainly enjoyed it very much.

The food of the lodge was also good, comparable to very good restaurants. But the main reason to come was for the game.

Room tip: The private house is excellent for a family of four
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jmjwaals
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AmakhosiTeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2019

What a wonderful way to end our week with this amazing review and THANK you for taking the time to post it and a huge THANK you from the team for coming back again to visit us - happy you had a wonderful time and we hope to see you again - fond regards the AMA TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2019

Amakhosi is a really great place to stay. The entrance gate is about 16km from the lodge itself (down a gravel road). So once the ever so helpful attendant at the gate has let you in you get a bit of a game drive before you get there.

Once there the lodge is immaculate. Well presented, very well designed and maintained. The main lodge and all the rooms have wonderful views over the river.

Our room (Room 1) was lovely. Very spacious and a very good outdoor area complete with a hammock. We also had a couple of Warthogs that liked to graze on our bit of lawn and sleep behind the room! There was also a Nyala that also seemed to hang around. All making staying very interesting.

Food at the lodge is first class. If you have any special requirements they go out of their way to make sure you are well catered for. Service is excellent.

The game drives were first class Our guide was very knowledgable and we managed to see four of the 'big five', The Leopard being a bit shy. Although this is a private lodge with fences, the area covered is absolutely huge. You definitely don't get the captive animals, zoo feeling when you are there.

I mentioned the 'game drive' approach to the lodge via the 16km track. Well when we were making our way to the exit gate we were stopped by a five Rhino 'traffic jam'. They took ages to move off the road! It was wonderful sitting in out hire car watching them. Fifty metres down the road there was a further three just off the road! What a bonus!

Highly recommended.

Room tip: All look good
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AmakhosiTeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2019

Wow what a wonderful and concise review and we really appreciate that you took the time to post it. Many of our guests make their decision off TripAdvisor and that is because of reviews like yours. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us and have left with some great memories and certainly your farewell committee of rhino traffic jam - we have been late many a times with either elephant or giraffe jams and not so much rhino you were indeed very fortunate - as you mentioned we are private but our animals do roam free and many a time they can hide out in the hills for days, but in saying that they do not have many outside threats and are comfortable with our vehicles . We hope that you visit us again and the team send fond regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2019

Spent 2 nights with our family from Australia and could not fault a thing.
The accommodation was beautiful, the food outstanding, the Spa incredible and the staff excellent. Thoroughly enjoyed the game drives which were most informative - our ranger and tracker not only focused on the Big 5 but also on birds, trees, bugs......
Our only challenge was the email communication prior to our visit but this is no way detracted from a great bush getaway. Will certainly be back!

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank heilem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AmakhosiTeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2019

We are terribly sorry about the delay in responding to this AMAZING review as we have been travelling on sales trip but worth coming back to a lovely backlog of great reviews. We are so happy that you and a memorable time with your family and we have shared this review with all the departments. We do need to apologise with regards the email and communications - this is a huge challenge for us in the bush - we have had every expert possible to see what we can do but apparently our location in the valley is a challenge for all service providers - holding thumbs we have just invested in another provider who assures us we will have better internet/telephone and general communications access - Hope you visit us again one day best regards the Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2019 via mobile

Dale and I spent 2 nights at Amakhosi in absolute heaven. 8th and 9th October. I honestly can't fault a thing. Incredible attention to detail on all aspects from check in to goodbye. All staff were amazing.... standout was how Aiden and Pierre went out of their way to walk us to the elephant herd and along the way encounter 3 rhino. Very special. Our 21st anniversary celebration will be remembered forever! Well done everyone!!!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RobGait
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AmakhosiTeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2019

Wow what a wonderful way to start catching up with our backlog of work after a travelling sales trip. We are thrilled that you took the time to post this amazing review and that your very special occasion was made to be a memorable one - we have sent a copy of your review to all department heads to share with their team. We hope that you come back and visit us one day soon Fond regards the AMA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews