We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
GibboCat
London UK

Wonderful Amakhosi - Loved it!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Nov 2008
We stayed at Amakhosi for two nights - 15 and 16 November 2008. What a wonderful experience. The Game Reserve is lovely and the staff are amazing. You get personal treatment from the start. We arrived late but they had kindly kept our high tea available for us - which we had on our private patio overlooking the river. The accommodation was amazing, thatch roofed private lodge with beautiful views and top class internal features. There is no TV in the room but then who wants to watch TV when you have the most amazing setting with birds and wild life within meters of your accommodation.
The game drives are out of this world - we had three drives our first being with Phillip who managed to get us close to two male lions, two lionesses who had cubs which were just amazing to see. We also had a very close encounter with a family of elephants with one coming so close to the vehicle that we all got very nervous but what an amazing experience to be that close to wild life. Shane was our ranger for the second game drive in the evening we watched one lioness with her cubs eating their dinner however the lionesses was not happy and ran at our vehicle when we were leaving all very exciting and a bit nerve racking. On our way back to the lodge we stopped off to see one of the male lions - who had woken up..... he stood up and roared which is something everyone should hear in their live time - it is amazing and so load!
The third drive was a morning drive on our last day where we saw 16 Rhino - what amazing creatures and so
huge. Loads of Giraffe even a new baby who was very interested in us which gave us an opportunity to get some lovely photos! We tried to find the elephants again but they travel such long distances that we were unable to find them which was a shame!
Breakfast, high teas, and dinner our excellent even the dinner menus are personalised and the setting is lovely - in the open with just candles for light. All the food, drinks, game drives are included in the price - all inclusive but so much more.
The drive to the lodge is another experience with viewings of animals from the minute you turn off the main road, we saw tortoises, a black mamba, monkeys, giraffe, springbok, warthogs and much more.
When we left again we received personal service - our car had been washed, we were given a packed lunch and a wonderful farewell from the staff.
We would like to thank all the staff again for a wonderful experience from the birthday cake, gift & Zulu dance by the ladies for my boyfriend who will never forget this birthday.
Date of stay: November 2008
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 200
  • Priceline
    R 3 200
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 200
14.0 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free Wifi
Free parking
Casa Mia
R 1 050
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 050
28.5 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
R 8 242
  • Priceline
    R 7 487
  • Agoda.com
    R 6 946
  • Expedia.com
    R 8 239
0.0 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free parking
Breakfast included
R 5 000
  • Priceline
    R 5 000
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 000
31.2 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free Wifi
Free parking
Fitted with a double bed and a single bed
R 1 100
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 100
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 081
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 100
31.7 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free parking
Pool
R 900
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 900
  • Agoda.com
    R 900
  • Vio.com
    R 900
31.7 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 914
  • Priceline
    R 914
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 914
32.0 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 400
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 400
35.1 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Photo taken by Marel Finn and Mark Ford
R 1 220
Easy and fast booking
  • Priceline
34.4 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free parking
Pool
R 2 009
R 1 920
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 920
  • StayForLong
    R 2 009
  • Trip.com
    R 1 901
39.4 km from Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Magudu
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
328
17
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
328
17
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea game drives honeymoon suite male lion herd of elephants big experience knowledgeable ranger the reserve out of this world three nights evening drive spent nights here overlooking the river animal sightings private pool bush experience dining area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2008

Amakhosi is a fantastic place to unwind and get a feel of the bush and the hospitality of South Africans. From the wet towel on arrival and the washed car with a lunch pack in it on departure we were looked after superbly for our complete stay.

The accomodation is private and luxurious with beautiful views of the river. Sitting and relaxing on our private deck and watching the passing traffic of giraffes, elephants and various other animals was hard to beat.

The food was delicious and the willingness of the staff to go the extra little bit for all of the guests is hard to believe.

Obviously the highlight is the game drives. Having been to other lodges in the region we did wonder at first if this lodge was a well stocked with animals as at others. However by day 3 we had seen so much we were no longer in doubt. Having seen the big 5 who can complain. We also enjoyed the approach of not having all the landies out for a drive rush to look at an animal.

Apart from seeing the animals we also had the joy of a complete bundu bashing driving experiences as Werner our ranger raced after the spoor of lions or leopards. His excitment at finding them matched ours.

Fantastic times and we hope to be back.

Date of stay: July 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NZ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2007

My husband and I just returned from our trip to Amakhosi in South Africa. We can honestly say that this trip was the most amazing experience of our lives. Allow me to start at the beginning:

We arrived to the lodge on a Saturday afternoon and were greeted at the beautiful entry way with warm hand towels and cool drinks. From this point on, our stay turned into a magical experience. We were give a tour of the main lodge and swimming pool and then whisked away to our private Executive River Suite (we received a complimentary upgrade) where we would spend the next 7 nights.

The suite was stunning. Complete with a plunge pool, deck, hammock, sitting area, king size bed, and a bath for two. The mini fridge was stocked with complimentary beverages (the lodge is all-inclusive of all drinks, meals, and game drives) and the candles were set out along the edge of the bath tub.

Shortly after our arrival, we received our first "high-tea" which is a wonderful array of snacks, sandwiches, and sweets (All meals were exceptional). We then went on our first game drive. For the entire week, we were appointed the same ranger (Shane) and tracker (Mandla) - a super team!!!

The drives, which you go on twice a day, were AMAZING! Every day was a new experience. The proximity to the animals is astounding and the adrenaline you get from a lion chase or an elephant smelling you with her trunk is a once in a lifetime experience. The open air vehicles allow you to feel the wind in your face and smell the intoxicating scent of Africa. We were never with more than 5 visitors to a vehicle.

The staff at the lodge was so wonderful, we truly felt like family when we left. One staff member, Phume, took us to her zulu village to meet her family and to see what the current zulu culture and way of life is like - an eye-opening experience.

This was our first time to Africa and while we have no other lodge to compare this establishment to, we can not imagine being treated better or staying in a more beautiful place. The management team arranged for some wonderful surprises during our stay (I will not ruin the surprises, you must go yourself!). We did not want to leave and we definitely recommend a stay of 5 nights or longer.

To put all our feelings into words is too difficult. You can not re-create the entire experience with pictures and stories alone, however we will never forget the beauty, smell, and sounds of the bush.

A special thanks to Shane, Mandla, Phume, Alwyn, Sonja, Rika, Catherine, Paul, and the entire Amakhosi family!

Date of stay: September 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reviewer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2024
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2023
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2023

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2022
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amakhosi Lodge, Agency / Consultant at Amakhosi Safari Lodge and SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2022

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews