We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
eDreams
Booking.com
Destinia.com
Trip.com
Agoda.com
View all 8 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (747)
Filter reviews
747 results
Traveller rating
632
87
16
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
632
87
16
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game reserve mark's camp lentaba lodge marks camp wonderful experience other guests south africa first class watering hole his knowledge attention to detail cape town food was amazing cake water hole garden route lovely staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 747 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2021 via mobile

For our first trip to Lalibela Game Reserve we only had enough time to spend one spontaneous night, but we had an incredible time! It was mid winter so the weather was a bit temperamental, we got caught in the rain on our evening game drive, got soaked (we were provided with cozy ponchos and hot water bottles) and loved every minute of it! The lions were rather close to camp as we could hear them roar from inside our rooms! The following morning we were treated to a lion hunt talk about an experience! In the short time there we were able to witness a very diverse and lush landscape rich in plant and animal life! Our first guide Ticha was very knowledgeable.
I can’t believe this gem is only 90km out of Gqeberha. We couldn’t resist returning to explore your beautiful reserve for a little longer!
When we returned for our second time we were blessed with fantastic weather (especially considering it was winter!) so I spent my mid mornings lounging by the pool gazing at the hippo lazing in the waterhole.
We were fortunate enough to go on a private night drive and happened to come across 2 pairs of brown hynena (they are one of my favorite animals so naturally I was over the moon)
The morning and evening games drives didn’t disappoint either we were lucky enough to catch the mum cheetah and her 2 cubs in 2 hunts as well as a sneaky pair of male lions stalking a family of warthogs. Our guide on our second trip,Ruan, went above and beyond to make this trip for my mum’s birthday memorable. His knowledge about bird life and his passion for his job is what truly stood out! Will highly recommend a trip to Lalibela!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalibela Game Reserve, Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Nicole

Wow! Thank you for your amazing review of Lalibela! We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed both your stays with us. We are so glad that you were able to visit us for a second time and stay a bit longer than your first visit. There is just so much to see and experience at Lalibela! It sounds like you were fortunate to see some very special wildlife sightings during your two visits. Brown hyenas are a rare sighting on their own, so to be able to see two pairs must have been incredibly exciting for you. We will pass on your kind words to both Ticha and Ruan. They will be so happy to hear that you enjoyed your game drives with them. We hope to welcome you back to Lalibela soon - We would love to have you stay with us again.

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2021

One of the best game reserve experiences I've had. Conservation efforts are heart warming. Facilities are perfect. Staff were happy and accommodating. Took grandkids and grandparents and all had a memorable time together.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardwT4851WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalibela Game Reserve, Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review Lalibela Game Reserve. We are so happy to hear that you and your family had a memorable stay with us! We hope to welcome you all back very soon!

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2021

This is my 4th time at Lalibela and I cannot rate it highly enough.
Every aspect of Lalibela is perfect. From the booking to every detail is highly efficient. Every single staff personal is helpful, competent, patient, friendly and kind. Lalibela gives you the feeling of a warm, happy, inviting family where they genuinely care about their guests and their passion in what they do is evident.
The rooms are immaculate large, an extremely heavenly huge comfortable bed and even a chocolate at night as a final touch of pampering.
The food was absolutely delicious and plentiful. Everything is home made, even the snacks on the game drive and they are scrumptious.
On your return from your drive you are greeted with a hot towel and a welcome drink. On cold nights there is a crackling fire to warm you up.
Fantastic activities for children as well. Everyone is treated like royalty.
The rangers are extremely knowledgeable, fun and friendly and so obliging. We saw everything and enjoyed every minute of it.
Can't wait to go back
Awesome that this is malaria free . South Africans you really need to visit. Lalibela is so kind to our pockets offering really amazing specials.
Thank you Lalibela , see you next year

Room tip: all the rooms are superb and very private
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Annette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalibela Game Reserve, Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2021

Dear Annette

Wow! Thank you for your amazing review of Lalibela Game Reserve! We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed your 4th stay with us. We are so happy to know that your expectations were once again met by our wonderful team. Thank you so much for your recommendation. We hope to welcome you back for your 5th stay in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2021

We recently stayed at Lentaba Camp in Lalibela for 2 days and although the weather did play along, we had a wonderful experience. From the well-appointed rooms to the exciting and informative game drives with Craig to the wonderful warming fires and good food after each game drive. The staff were attentive and the location is superb. I could have stayed much longer!

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IngaP366
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalibela Game Reserve, Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2021

Dear Inga

Thank you for taking the time to review Lalibela Game Reserve! We are so glad to hear that despite the weather you had a wonderful stay with us. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to Craig and the rest of the Lentaba Lodge team.

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2021

Over this passed weekend. Myself and my husband (Mr. And Mrs. van Vuuren) had the pleasure to have stayed at Marks camp in Lalibela Private Game Reserve for 4 days and 3 nights for my 60th birthday. The whole park was breathtakingly beautiful as well as Marks Camp. The entire staff is extremely friendly giving off a visit to your closets family and friends atmosphere. The hostess Anri is worth her weight in gold to Marks Camp. She takes intrest in wether you enjoyed your game drive and what animals you saw. At one point we even told Anri they serve too much food. Four big meals a day as much as you can eat. The rooms have breathtaking views and is spotlessly cleaned. The entire camp is safe and they follow strict Covid 19 protocols.If you want to see a ton of animals and birds, Lalibela is the place to go. We had the most amazing game ranger Woody. The young man is astonishingly good at his job and his love for the animals clearly shines through. His knowledge of all the animals from the biggest to the smallest is awe inspiring not to mention his knowledge on birds which is simply outstanding! Woody is definitely a great asset to his guests aswell as Lalibela Private Game reserve. It was the best 4 day vacation of my eintire life! Thank you to all the staff at Marks Camp, Lalibela, Anri and Woody! May you be blessed to continue nature preservation for many more years to come!!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Vocalist27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalibela Game Reserve, Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2021

Dear Mr & Mrs Van Vuuren

Wow! Thank you for your incredible review of Lalibela Game Reserve. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your special birthday celebration with us and we are glad to know that we could make it one to remember! One thing is for sure, our Chefs like to ensure that all our guests are well fed and that they have plenty of options to choose from. Woody is an excellent ranger and has so much knowledge on all the fauna and flora. We will pass on your compliments to Anri, the Mark's Camp team and Woody. We hope to welcome you back to Lalibela in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews