We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$1 034
View deal
Booking.com
US$1 034
View deal
eDreams
US$1 034
View deal
TripadvisorUS$1 034
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
View all 7 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (741)
Filter reviews
742 results
Traveller rating
627
87
16
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
627
87
16
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game reserve mark's camp lentaba lodge marks camp safari experience wonderful experience other guests south africa first class watering hole three nights wild animals his knowledge attention to detail two days food was amazing out of this world
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 742 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

We recently stayed at Lentaba Camp in Lalibela for 2 days and although the weather did play along, we had a wonderful experience. From the well-appointed rooms to the exciting and informative game drives with Craig to the wonderful warming fires and good food after each game drive. The staff were attentive and the location is superb. I could have stayed much longer!

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IngaP366
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalibela Game Reserve, Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Inga

Thank you for taking the time to review Lalibela Game Reserve! We are so glad to hear that despite the weather you had a wonderful stay with us. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to Craig and the rest of the Lentaba Lodge team.

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Over this passed weekend. Myself and my husband (Mr. And Mrs. van Vuuren) had the pleasure to have stayed at Marks camp in Lalibela Private Game Reserve for 4 days and 3 nights for my 60th birthday. The whole park was breathtakingly beautiful as well as Marks Camp. The entire staff is extremely friendly giving off a visit to your closets family and friends atmosphere. The hostess Anri is worth her weight in gold to Marks Camp. She takes intrest in wether you enjoyed your game drive and what animals you saw. At one point we even told Anri they serve too much food. Four big meals a day as much as you can eat. The rooms have breathtaking views and is spotlessly cleaned. The entire camp is safe and they follow strict Covid 19 protocols.If you want to see a ton of animals and birds, Lalibela is the place to go. We had the most amazing game ranger Woody. The young man is astonishingly good at his job and his love for the animals clearly shines through. His knowledge of all the animals from the biggest to the smallest is awe inspiring not to mention his knowledge on birds which is simply outstanding! Woody is definitely a great asset to his guests aswell as Lalibela Private Game reserve. It was the best 4 day vacation of my eintire life! Thank you to all the staff at Marks Camp, Lalibela, Anri and Woody! May you be blessed to continue nature preservation for many more years to come!!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Vocalist27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalibela Game Reserve, Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mr & Mrs Van Vuuren

Wow! Thank you for your incredible review of Lalibela Game Reserve. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your special birthday celebration with us and we are glad to know that we could make it one to remember! One thing is for sure, our Chefs like to ensure that all our guests are well fed and that they have plenty of options to choose from. Woody is an excellent ranger and has so much knowledge on all the fauna and flora. We will pass on your compliments to Anri, the Mark's Camp team and Woody. We hope to welcome you back to Lalibela in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2021

My wife and I decided to return to Lalibela and spend 3 nights at Lentaba Lodge to celebrate our anniversary. The room was extremely clean, spacious, and comfortable. Once again, the food was absolutely delicious, particularly the deserts including the lemon tart and the “eat a mess” pavlova. The staff were very efficient and friendly and the covid protocols were well managed. Our ranger Liezel was professional and knowledgeable, and we saw plenty of game including lion, elephant, rhino, buffalo, cheetah, giraffe, zebra, and lots of antelope. We were fortunate to witness the interaction between 2 lions feeding on a giraffe carcass and 2 lionesses close by, when suddenly one of the lions got extremely aggressive and ended up charging at us. We were also lucky to get up close to a cheetah feeding on a fresh antelope kill.
Overall, we had another enjoyable and memorable stay at Lalibela and definitely hope to be back.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank westonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalibela Game Reserve, Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review Lalibela Game Reserve. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary celebration with us. Thank you for sharing your exciting experience with us. It is not everyday that you get to witness these special events! We will pass on your kind words to the chefs, the Lentaba team and Liezel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lalibela soon.

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2021

Being in hospitality myself, I always have high expectations and Lalibela staff delivered way beyond my expectations.

From the check in to the check out was such a pleasure (not that we wanted to leave). It was truly an unforgettable experience. The service and effort of each staff member proved that they love what they do. We stayed at Lentaba lodge for 3 nights. Michelle & her team were very helpful, friendly and went above & beyond to make our stay memorable.

The chalets are immaculately clean & perfect for a relaxing time away.

Our ranger, Ruan, went out of his way to help us find the big 'four'! We had the most amazing sightings and can only thank Ruan for his knowledge and passion for his work.

We will surely be back in the near future.

Thank you to all at Lalibela!!

Room tip: All the chalets have beautiful private views - so any choice is a good one!
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Farm-Gril77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalibela Game Reserve, Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review of Lalibela Game Reserve. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We will pass on your kind words to Michelle and the Lentaba team. Ruan will be so happy to hear that you enjoyed your game drives with him. We hope to welcome you back to Lalibela in the future.

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2021

First time visit to this game reserve with my family. Unforgettable experience. Incredibly well priced for lovely rooms( no TV’s - thank you), wonderful food( the smell of freshly baked bread lingers) and life memory Game Drives( the guide Ashleigh turning every drive into much more than the ticking off the Big Five). A perfect location for a tourist doing Cape Town, the Winelands, Garden Route and just continue past Port Elizabeth. Brilliant.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smalliewine11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalibela Game Reserve, Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2021

Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review of Lalibela Game Reserve. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to Lalibela soon.

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews