We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
US$994
View deal
eDreamsUS$994
Booking.comUS$994
Agoda.comUS$987
TripadvisorUS$987
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
View all 8 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (728)
Filter reviews
728 results
Traveller rating
614
86
16
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
614
86
16
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game reserve mark's camp lentaba lodge marks camp safari experience wonderful experience other guests south africa first class watering hole three nights wild animals his knowledge attention to detail two days food was amazing out of this world
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 728 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A wonderful experience all round! Lovely staff and facilities, good food, excellent game drives! Enjoyed every minute and totally impressed by Lalibela's extensive conservation projects! What a a memorable time!

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank kobusp422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2021

Most things about this game lodge are great, especially the rooms, food, friendly, efficient and staff. Game drives are great. Animal diversity is good, especially for this area. Safari guide Ticha is excellent. All staff go out of their way to ensure a luxurious stay. Tipping policy is confusing and a little off-putting. Clearer guidelines would be helpful. They all say tipping is optional but it isn't really - hence the request for guidelines. Mobile data signal is weak but good wi-fi in main lounge only.

Room tip: All rooms at Lentaba Lodge are great. Take 4 layers for game drives in summer, 5 layers in winter. Take something to do in case it rains.
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doug E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lalibela Game Reserve, Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2021

Dear Doug

Thank you for taking the time to review Lalibela Game Reserve. We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Ticha is a wonderful guide and an asset to our guiding team. He will be so happy to know that you enjoyed the game drives with him. Thank you for your feedback about the gratuity guideline, we will look into this. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2021

Our stay at Lentaba Lodge on Lalibela Game Reserve was everything we had hoped for and more. The service was the best we’ve received from any establishment in SA - we felt like everyone genuinely wanted us to be looked after and have the best possible experience.
The food was plentiful and delicious all the time, and the service in the dining room and bar area was quick and friendly. Drinks prices are really good here too!
Our cottage was spotlessly clean, well equipped and comfortable with lots of space to really relax and enjoy the views. Absolutely loved the spacious bathroom with sliding door that opens up giving you a view from your bathtub.
The game drives were each unique and informative. We managed to see most of the animals and experience these magnificent creatures fairly close up but still respecting their space.
Everyone at the reserve speaks about it with passion and pride and make you feel like they are really happy to have you there. There is so much good to say about Lalibela - what a gem!

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid_Minter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lalibela Game Reserve, Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2021

Dear Ingrid

Thank you for your wonderful review of Lalibela Game Reserve! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at Lentaba Lodge. From the food, to your room, to your game drive experience, we are happy to know that your entire stay was everything that you hoped for and more! Each one of our staff members are so passionate about our little piece of paradise. We would love to welcome you back for another visit soon.

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2020 via mobile

My wife and I visited Lalibela to celebrate our anniversary. We were treated as well as any top paying international guest. The lodge , guide and lodge staff were exceptional, nothing was too much trouble. Their attention to detail, from interesting warm drinks at the end of a cold game drive , to a complimentary bottle of bubbly to celebrate our anniversary, all made the Lalibela experience that much more special. The food was exceptional, great choice and impeccable quality and creativity (lucky we only stayed 2 days ). Our guide Ruan was outstanding from putting us onto Lion sighting, Cheetahs with Cubs , we even got to experience a Cheetah hunting and then feeding her Cubs. All in all an outstanding experience, we will be back.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nicholasg65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lalibela Game Reserve, Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2020

Dear Nicholas

Thank you for your wonderful review of Lalibela Game Reserve! We are so glad to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your recent stay with us. We absolutely love spoiling our guests on special occasions. Thank you for choosing Lalibela for your anniversary celebration. Our chefs will be so happy to hear that you enjoyed the food. They really do make sure you are well fed! It sounds like you had some great game viewing with Ruan with many memorable sightings. We look forward to your return in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2020

We had a wonderful weekend spent at Lentaba Lodge recently. The accommodation, service and catering were all world class. We also enjoyed very special game drives and were rewarded for getting up early by beautiful sightings of cheetah, lion, rhino, ellies and buffalo, as well as a fleeting glimpse of a brown hyena and a report of aardwolf which was sighted by another game car.

Room tip: We had a luxury suite which included a bath as well as a shower.
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lllaw2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lalibela Game Reserve, Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review of Lentaba Lodge on Lalibela Game Reserve. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. The early mornings can be a bit of a challenge however when you are rewarded with sightings like that, it is all worth the early start! You are very lucky to have seen the brown hyena, even though it was a quick glimpse as these animals are very rare to see. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews