We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (722)
Filter reviews
722 results
Traveller rating
608
86
16
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
608
86
16
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game reserve mark's camp marks camp lentaba lodge safari experience wonderful experience other guests south africa first class watering hole three nights wild animals his knowledge attention to detail two days food was amazing out of this world
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 722 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2020

We visited Marks Camp at the end of october and once again the experience was amazing. Our guide, Carrie Ann, made the experience so interesting for all of us, from showing us various animal tracks to tasting termites, even stopping to show us an African Land snail ,she kept all of us, and especially our children engaged. We saw the big 4 and enjoyed 4 spectacular game drives.
The highlight was definitely swimming in the pool while elephants drank at the watering hole below us.
Bongi and Wendy kept us entertained and so well looked after in the dining room
And hats off to the chef as the food was amazing
My son is still talking about the kudu steak!
Thank you Lalibela team for a fantastic 2 day stay. We will definitely be back.
Dylan and Tamaryn Cox

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank dylanandtami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lalibela Game Reserve , Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2020

Dear Cox Family

Thank you for your amazing review of Lalibela Game Reserve. We are so happy to hear that your family enjoyed their recent stay at Mark's Camp. It is lovely to hear that the elephants came for a drink while you were at the swimming pool. This is such a special memory. Thank you for your kind words. We will be sure to pass them on to Carrie-Ann, Bongi, Wendy, the chef and the rest of the Mark's Camp team. We look forward to welcoming your family back to Lalibela!

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2020

This was our second visit and was as outstanding as our first. The accommodation was first class as was the dinning. From the moment we arrived the staff were so friendly and hospital. Nothing was too much trouble and every one went that extra mile.
Our ranger for the four days was Darren who made sure that we saw all of the big five. Nothing was too much trouble and every day was a new adventure. I had damaged my hamstring before our visit and he made sure that I was really looked after. It is impossible to complain about anything as everything was perfect.

Room tip: All lodges are excellent.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lalibela Game Reserve , Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2020

Dear John

Thank you for your wonderful review of Lalibela Game Reserve. We are delighted to hear that you were well looked after during your stay. Our staff love to go the extra mile to ensure that all your expectations are met. We couldn't think of a better way to take some time out and recover than out in nature. We wish you a speedy recovery! We will pass on your kind words to the Mark's Camp team. We hope you will visit us again in the future!

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2020

We had a great experience at Mark's Camp. The room was very tastefully decorated and spacious with high quality linen. The meals were very tasteful and special requests were handled with pleasure. The staff was very friendly and most helpful making our stay at the lodge very memorable. A definite highlight was the game viewing where we were able to get very close to the animals. There is an abundance of animals, birds and beautiful scenes.
Our guide, Carrie-Ann, must receive a special mention with her vast knowledge making the viewing very informative. She went out of her way to accommodate our requests and we experienced great encounters with the animals thanks to her.
Lalibela is a sure recommendation.

Room tip: We had room 4 at Mark's Camp which was at the end and very private.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GideonHefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lalibela Game Reserve , Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2020

Dear Gideon

Thank you for taking the time to review Lalibela Game Reserve. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at Mark's Camp. It sounds like you had some great game viewing with Carrie-Ann. We will be sure to let her know. Thank you for your recommendation. We hope you will visit us again. We would love to welcome you back for another visit.

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2020

This is my third time at Lalibela Game Reserve. I can only sing high praises for this reserve. From the very helpful admin when making my booking to each staff member I cannot praise them highly enough. The rooms were large and the bed was the most comfortable bed ever. My daughter in law wanted to pack it up and take it home with her (LOL) Rooms were extremely well equipped with a real powerful hairdryer. Much attention to detail. Even a night treat on your bed.

Food was excellent, Pre breakfast, breakfast, lunch, dinner. snacks and drinks on the game dives. So much to eat!!

Two 3 hour Game drives everyday, nice warm blankets for the chilly mornings and evenings. A welcome warm drink on return from your evening game drive.

While it is a small private game reserve it nevertheless has the big five and a nice amount of Game to see. We saw everything even a freshly taken cheetah kill and the new born lion cub were the highlights of our trip.

Our experience of the wonderful game life, birds and nature was magical and memorable. Our Game ranger was such a star, going the extra mile in making sure we saw all we wanted to see and particularly accommodating and making the children's experience fun. They learned so much.

Very experienced and knowledgeable Game rangers. Staff are so friendly and so kind and playful with children. They have programmes for the young ones. Our children (8 and 5) had a most wonderful experience. So much fun.

The setting at Marks Camp is very peaceful, a lovely outside bar, a pool near a water hole and another children's pool by the main dinning area. We were treated with a visit from the buffalos at Mark's Camp water hole.

All in all cannot rate this highly enough from the comfort of the rooms, to the food and especially to the genuinely friendly staff, not one downside. Have been to several Game Reserves in the area, all of which were wonderful but in my experience Lalibela is tops. Lalibela offers Luxury accommodation at affordable prices

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Annette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lalibela Game Reserve , Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2020

Dear Annette

Thank you for your amazing review of Lalibela Game Reserve! Wow, we are so glad to hear that this was your 3rd stay with us! We are so happy that you got to see the newest edition to the reserve, the lion cub! It is adorable! It is not everyday that you get to see a herd of buffalo having a drink at the waterhole below the swimming pool. We are so glad to hear that your family had a wonderful time. This is what quality family time is all about, making life long memories. We hope that you and the family will be back for another visit. We would love to welcome you back for the 4th time!

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2020 via mobile

A wonderful 2 night stay spent at Lentaba, the attention to detail, the attentiveness of the staff, every meal of the highest quality and the brilliant wildlife sightings thanks to our guide Ruan Walker, made for an unforgettable experience, looking forward to the next visit soon.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank HelenS3354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lalibela Game Reserve , Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2020

Dear Helen

Thank you for taking the time to review Lalibela Game Reserve. We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful time during your recent stay with us. We will pass on your kind words to Ruan and the rest of the Lentaba team. We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit!

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews